Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

FatCat

by DevoNoel - Compo Entry

Sneak up behind birds, eat them, get fatter the more you eat.

Birds are like dinosaurs, they can't see you when you're not moving.

Arrow Keys to Move, Shift to Run.

Used bfxr for sound effects, and Montserrat font from Google Fonts.

EDIT: If you're running 32-bit Windows, you can download a binary here:
https://github.com/DevoNoel/fatcat/blob/master/releases/0.9.1/fatcat-win32.zip?raw=true

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#244Humor3.03
#505Fun3.13
#663Graphics2.93
#679Innovation2.96
#723Overall3.04
#726Theme3.47
#777Mood2.67
#888Audio1.88

Comments

iMer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:50am

Other than the really annoying sound effect its a pretty fun game, I'm way too impatient though

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:20am

Very nice game! A little frustrating when a bird pops right under your nose and all of them are alerted :S

Gwilym says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:39am

Nice, although the sound effects are really annoying. Try making your own (rather then generating them) by hitting things in front of a microphone. It takes about 10 minutes and you get some amazing sounds from it :)

The graphics are amazing and its fun when you have a MASSIVE cat slowly making its way around the board.

Great entry

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:51pm

looks fun, but you should make a web port :D

rsergiu2003 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:06pm

the sound scared my the first time I heard it :))

furriKira says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Aww... I love cats and then I can't play this because my computer is a 32x system. D:

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:18pm

The sound is grating;/ Other parts are fine

JNyknn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:24pm

That sound effect is annoying, otherwise an entertaining game.

nofxboy1234 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:45pm

I enjoyed it! I jumped out of my seat when I first heard the sound lol :)! I like the cat. I also wanted to have a cat main character but never got round to designing him.

Conflei says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:34am

Very cool idea but a little simple, still liking it cos it's complete, well done :)

trykondev says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:52am

Sweet visuals!

srakowski says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:15am

The sfx were kinda harsh. I am not patient enough to stalk those darn birds. I would fail as a cat! :) Thanks for this!

slarrimer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:19am

Very cute game! I kinda wish the cat avatar was fatter though.

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:25am

Pretty fun to play, but the sounds hurt my ears, so I just turned them off. The graphics where very minimalistic but thats not necessarily a bad thing.

Gins says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:40am

That's quite addicting and suspenseful :)
Suggestion for the future: have the environment affect your stealth.

tcarter says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:27am

They all seemed alerted to me instantly. Maybe I'm not very good at hiding.

jpmit says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Nice game!

AMS says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Cute game ^^
the sound effects are sometimes annoying, but its addicting and fun
good job overall :D

Teesquared says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:34am

I enjoyed this game I thought it was very funny and more challenging when the cat got bigger.

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:55am

You had me at "Birds are like dinosaurs" The eating SFX literally scared me the first time it happened. I like the colors used. Would love to have seen a bird not paying attention while pecking a worm from the ground animation, and a big/different colored bird worth 2 snacks.

Dec 23, 2014 @ 10:45am

good job! but arent the birds a bit too obvious to fool?
anyways, good game, but not so good music.

StackAttack says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Fun little game. It is hard to know the detection area of the birds which made it a bit frustrating when I didn't know if they could see me or not.

Dec 27, 2014 @ 5:44pm

I like stealth games ;)
And cat getting so fat is funny!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:26am

perfect really good

lxd1 says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 2:03am

Fun

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]