Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Beams!

by DiegoMustache - Jam Entry

Lasers and mirrors puzzle game built in Unreal Engine 4! Move with WASD, and press F or Space to rotate mirrors and lasers. Also works with a game pad.

This was a solo 48 hour project I wanted to submit for compo, but the website was not working for me.

Update: Fixed issue with Avast flagging the file.

Note: There is a bug with the arrow keys. Please use WASD instead. Thanks to HunterX for pointing this out!

You may need to install the following runtime: http://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/download/details.aspx?id=40784

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#356Fun(Jam)3.25
#411Graphics(Jam)3.46
#458Overall(Jam)3.25
#497Theme(Jam)3.56
#693Innovation(Jam)2.75

Comments

Hunter X says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:47pm

I'm interested in trying this game, but Avast is throwing a warning about Win64:Evo-gen when I try to extract it (though scanning the .zip itself gives no errors). Can anyone cross-reference this on their machine and confirm whether or not this is a false-positive?

DiegoMustache says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:57pm

That's weird and unfortunate. It's just Unreal Engine 4 packaged up straight from the editor. It is a development build though. The release build would crash on start for some reason. I wonder what I can do about that.

DiegoMustache says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:14am

I fixed the issue with the release builds (turns out 64bit is required). This seems to have solved the problem with Avast.

Manderxan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:56am

Very good! Would have been nice with more levels, I finished it pretty fast. And it was a bit easy.
Some sound and music would have been great.
Were the controls supposed to be diagonal? That was a bit weird, but doesn't really affect my rating.

DiegoMustache says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Thanks! I ran out of time which is why it is so short. I intended to have the levels keep wrapping around the visible area.

As for the controls, I'm really not sure what causes the diagonal controls. I have not been able to consistently reproduce that issue.

rzfmzn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:56pm

unable to run :(
32/64bits issue i guess. tried the 64b exe inside the folders, same problem. :/

kingpirux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:06pm

i couldn't play because it ask me for C++ 2013 libraries :I

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Couldn't run, sorry! I'm on windows server 2012, the game hangs after initial bootup and only shows some stuff in the bottom-right corner.

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Really good little puzzle with nice graphics. Like for using Unreal Engine

Erhune says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:14pm

I also has some problem with the arrows, but WASD worked fine for me. Very nicely done and easy to understand. Nice progression too. Of course a bit too short for my taste, but who *did* have enough time to make their games, right? ^^

TeamClubMate says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:17pm

makes fun!

Hunter X says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:16pm

I can confirm that my copy of Avast is no longer giving errors after this update (Windows does notify me that it's an unknown publisher, but that's no issue), so I can now proceed with playing the game!

While it's not the first laser/mirrors puzzle game I've played, it's nonetheless very well executed. The graphics are very nice - I especially enjoyed the animation for the new levels being revealed. It did feel a bit short but that's understandable given the time constraints, and I'm interested to see how this framework could be taken further given additional time.

Also, I can contribute somewhat towards diagnosing the control issue; from my end it seems that WASD and the up/down arrow keys are fine, but the left and right arrow keys seem to be rotating the player rather than moving it - if you tap either key and then try to move around the player moves relative to that rotation, resulting in the diagonal movement. Hope this helps!

DiegoMustache says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:25pm

That totally sounds like it could be the issue. Thanks! Hopefully I can sort that out now.

ijwu says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:03am

I love the level transitions. It fits the theme very nicely. The graphics and animations were not what I expected. I usually see this genre as 2D pixel art. I really like how you used the existing laser emitters in newer levels. I think it would be awesome to have a level which forces you to point the laser into a past level in order to pass.

Awesome job!

DiegoMustache says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Thanks! And I do like that idea. I was considering doing that, and if there are future versions, I likely will!

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:44pm

The levels were quite easy, but I like how you go back and use mirrors from the first level. The laser beams look great as well.

paperweight says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Fun game only issue was controls are wonky even with WASD!

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Visually gorgeous while still keeping it simple and clean, really nice! The last rooms where actually quite challenging, though I would have liked it if there where more elements to the mechanics. I had the same control problems as some others which of course made the gameplay quite tedious.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Nice game! Couldn't figure out the last puzzle, though.
I also had trouble moving about. It seems that the arrow keys spin the player, so the WASD keys stop working as they should.

DiegoMustache says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Yes, unfortunately they do. I switched the player controller out at the last minute and overlooked that issue.

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:21pm

I like this kind of games and this one is very good implementation of concept
Visuals are great!

rnlf says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Cool game. A bit easy to beat and sound would have been a big plus. I really liked how the level unfolded section after section. Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]