Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Hot place

by edve98 - Compo Entry

"Hot place" - My first game for Ludum Dare :o

WARNING: this game could be dangerous for people that are prone to epilepsy!

A game about survival in a hot place. Destroy the bad faces by touching them or with explosions, and survive as much as you can! (those sad faces drain your health)

Pro tips:
*For best experience, play the game a few times, to understand how to control your character ball.
*Remember that there is UI on the left that has anything you could possibly need for survival!
*Note that platforms are different

Controls:
w, a, s d to move
space(hold) to slow down time
left shift to buy stuff(open shop)
escape to pause the game
q to use health kit
e to use an explosion

Keep in mind that this place is very hot! (not really)

Things I used:
engine - Unity3d (source is Unity's project folder)
art - Microsoft Paint (yes)
Audio - Abundant music to generate music, then I used solmire.com to convert .midi files to .mp3. After that I used Virtual DJ 8 and Audacity to edit the music a bit.

And that is all I used. :)
P.s. I wrote my code in C#
P.s.s. You can follow this game on Game Jolt, as I am planning on developing this for a bit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#690Theme3.50
#710Audio2.42
#800Innovation2.77
#816Humor2.07
#970Fun2.57
#970Mood2.40
#1068Overall2.61
#1098Graphics2.15

Comments

Jqmfg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:53am

Fun game. I would recommend working on some art for the background and the sidebar as I didn't even know there was a score counter or a timer the first couple times I played it. The music was done ok, but some sound effects for getting points and the game finishing would be nice. Good idea overall, but the controls felt a little bit clunky. Good job sticking with the theme!

Lynx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:28am

Interesting motion mechanic for the player (I could wrap my head around how to mild up moment to get moving again when I stopped, but it was awesome when I started getting it)

Kudos on the C# in Unity my friend, I come from the same scenario (also my first LD too!)

Dohxis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:30pm

It was fun to play! I really like player's trail effect and sounds! Great work.

LittleThor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Good job for your first LD! Try to make things more understandable next time, I was not sur what was the goal of this game (I know what I'm talking about, I do the same mistake ^^)

edve98 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Well, I am pretty happy about this game, as this is my 1st try.
But I guess that any game could be improved at least a bit. Just like @Jqmfg says, it needs FX's, a bit better player controller, and a bit better UI/explanation (mentioned also by @LittleThor).
Anyway, I think I will update this game a bit after the voting period ends, to make it a bit better.

Thank you all for the feedback!

chadheim says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Oh those menus! My eyes! :-) Nifty idea. Took a bit to realize the different surface properties of the platforms. Occasionally found my self waiting for more bad guys to spawn.

maddogawl says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Good Job, the art style is kinda hard on the yes though!

Insality says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Hard get used this ball control at start
Love the slo-mo effects and trails;]
but my eyes get tired

rob1221 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:44pm

The way the ball moves doesn't seem consistent. Also, it would have been helpful to use the items by clicking on them in addition to the control keys.

lvoursl says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:52pm

ho-ho!
Good work!
Interesting idea about physics of character!
But only 1 thing is so unhappy: sometimes colors disturb eyes ;[

edve98 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Well, from all of your feedback, it looks like that I will have to change the color pallet a bit when updating this game :D

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Neat idea to vary the bounce height to different platform surface, made movement quite interesting. But oh god, the music, why? Why?!

edve98 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:26pm

@Cake_Catastrophe well, it was 1st time when I was making music myself, so don't judge too much :D. Anyway, I think that main menu and game over screen's songs are quite good :P

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:30pm

I love the idea and the controls felt great after a couple of plays! Art and sound were a bit on the NIBBLES side but good job on your first entry! :)

edve98 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:43pm

@karlipoppins thanks mate! I know, art and sounds aren't really the best, but I didn't had much time left for them, so I guess it's ok-ish for 1st try... I guess..

Zwergesel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:30pm

I couldn't really get used to the controls. Kept getting stuck on platforms somehow.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Cool game! Using a shortcut-key for the items is not a good idea unless you write the key together with the item; when you play you will forget the key :/

Although I know the fact that platforms are different in the game, I don't quite get why sometime my HP start to lose and sometime it doesn't.

The control of the ball is sometime a bit weird, probably due to the algorithm for combined key input?

Anyway, good job!

edve98 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:28pm

@TeamFlashlight Thanks for great feedback! I will try to develop this game a bit after a month or so, I will try to ipmrove it using your(and everybodies else ofc :D)feedback

floorman says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Took a little while to get used to, but it was quite fun when I got the hang of it.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:22am

Jumped right in without reading the how-to, so it was quite confusing when the buttons on the side didn't work. Might want to make the key-commands more easily understood in-game. Movement was confusing, but I slowly started to understand that different platforms did different things to the player. Recommend some kind of juicy feedback to let the player know something's changed. What does the slow motion gain for you? Great first effort!

edve98 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:24pm

@Brian Mayberry I know, I should have put in in-game instructions -_-. slow motion just lets you react faster, because you might have noticed that sometimes you move very fast

Domicuc says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Very hot mate... interesting mechanics x) good work! Also check my project mate!:)

Hellequin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Fun game with an interesting mechanic! I really liked to play it! Well done

OctoTeam says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Watched your game on @TimTipGames stream and came here to play it :) Nice compo entry and cool to know you want to continue improving it, keep going!

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:54pm

It is fun and hardcore =)) My best so far - 15

allurious says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Congrats on your first effort! (: Good idea for the mechanic too, well done.

Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:08am

This is a really decent start for a young game developer still going to school. The concept is good, you have a lot of different things implemented, and it shows a lot of good programming skill. Especially for your first LD -- your first game project as well?

I'm definitely in agreement with people about the audio. Audio is something that's very delicate, in terms of games -- it needs just as much consideration as art and design. It's much better to have no audio at all than have audio that might repel people from playing your game, or make them spend very little time with it.

The graphics need sprucing up, but if your main focus is programming, this is pretty standard fare in terms of "programmer art". :D

I felt it was rather strange to move the little ball around. The controls weren't sticky or anything, they were just ... strange? I don't think you'd necessarily HAVE to slow time in order to maneuver the ball, unless the slow time mechanic was implemented to compensate for hurried controls?

Either way, this game shows some real impeccable talent. :) Especially for a compo entry! :D Keep working like this and you're going to be programming like a boss by the time you get into college. :)

nassi says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:23pm

The controls felt a bit inconsistant even after a few tries, but otherwise it wasn't too bad, albeit a bit simple.

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:27am

Hey, good work! I kinda jumped right in first time, but the game made a little more sense when I came back and read the description. Controlling the ball never made much sense to me after multiple playthroughs I'm afraid, but jumping super high from time to time was always a nice surprise. My only real complaint is that the audio was a little too exciting for me - it's usually very hard to get right! Anyhow great work, keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]