Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Fight, Because.

by Tortoise - Jam Entry

Fight, Because.

Controls:
Movement: WASD
Attack: J
Dash: Spacebar
Pause: Esc

Game by @Riv_Roy and @Trurkowski

Music: https://soundcloud.com/trurkowski/sets/fight-because-ld31

Fight terribly horrifying monsters in the arena.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#77Audio(Jam)3.80
#79Fun(Jam)3.77
#129Theme(Jam)4.02
#207Overall(Jam)3.60
#338Humor(Jam)2.91
#449Innovation(Jam)3.12
#463Graphics(Jam)3.35

Comments

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:24am

Good concept. The combination of learning the attack patterns and figuring out to best upgrade path made me want to keep replaying.

hd_ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:32am

This is a really fun game ! Combat feels fair, there is a sense of individual style from the choices, and also the feeling that you can get better.

Also, turtle (tortoise?) dashing is awesome.

hoqjed says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:51am

HOLY...CRAP!!! you guys did this in 72 hours?!?! alright alright, must compose myself.

it's polished UP THE WAHZOO. the graphics are superb, and the AUDIO!! wow! i could listen to that music outside of the game too. the sound effects are fantastic.

the controls are absolutely perfect, reminiscent of a link to the past. it has a great feel to it. dashing feels amazing, and thanks to limited health it doesn't feel overpowered either.

the pacing is FANTASTIC. starts off slow, introducing new enemies and such, and gets harder over a good period of time.

my one nitpick is that the player doesn't have enough invincibility frames after getting hit. i got hit by 3 tornadoes around the same time and lost a chunk of health. some more knockback on the player when they're hit would be nice too.

this game, jesus...this is like 2-inches from being ready to sell. actually no, just sell this is as, it's DAMN GOOD.

RadStar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:54pm

good game, but hard to handle though. nice concept !

fullmontis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:57pm

This game is really fun and has an interesting mechanic going on for it. I really like the fact that you can choose an upgrade after each scheme, and the choice adds depth and variety to the gameplay. I also like the fact that the enemies have varied attack patterns.

Only complaint I have is that arena should have some obstacles and more variety to make the gameplay more interesting.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:58pm

The concept is really great !
There's multiple way to play it, love that kind of stuff :)

Best replay value I've seen so far for LD31

Victor RENE says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:59pm

I am completely in love with this game. 5 stars. The controls are simple, the rules intuitive. The music fits the theme, etc... Perfect execution of an action-rpg. Some of the mechanics need explantion though. What are the exact effects of the power-ups ?

Nardom says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:11pm

"Fight fight fight!" *tum tum tum!*
I loved the audio / music. I fit the game perfectly. The combat feels solid.

A tiny downside to the upgrades, the health pickup is nice, but ultimately makes you fall behind in upgrades. (It's still manageable, but if the game were longer it could be a downside.)

The character designs were nice, and I loved seeing my smiling little turtle dashing about, killing slimes and the likes.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Very nice! I like the wave-by-wave upgrade progression. Seconding that the dashing is excellent. Music is pretty fun too : ]

trykondev says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:52am

The art is so awesome in this game. I love the characters, it's so visually well put together. Challenging as well, and a very great way to strategically power up between rounds. Fantastic entry, one of the best games I've played so far!

Acuity says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:54am

The music is pretty fitting, and the sfx went pretty well with the game! I liked that you get three different attacks!

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:02am

Good concept! quite difficult as well! nice job!

Trixton says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:38am

Addictive gameplay, very fun and makes me want to come back for more!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:18pm

WONDERFUL MUSIC, fun game play, amazing soundtrack, high re-playability, great song, unified style, 10/10 sounds!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Controls feel great, which is super important in a combat game like this. The replayability is high because of the upgrade system and enemy move-set learning curve. Overall just a ton of fun to play, very very well done :)

Pete_H says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Awesome game! Will come back for more, very slick and well executed! Controls on the screen at the start would be a nice touch.

Louisload says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:08am

excellent mechanics, the gameplay is terrific, great graphics and music... there are a lot of arena games in this ludum but this one stands out by far!

ruerob says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:51am

I like that game, it reminds me of an mix of the nes, snes and handheld zeldas and hoplite for android. Very nice.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:59am

The audio nails this! Simple upgrades and good fun! :) well done

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:40am

Everything ties together very neatly. Great game, I had a lot of fun playing it.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:52am

This is great! Love having to choose between powerups between bouts, adds a tactical angle that really elevates it above the standard 'random powerup' mechanic. Nice art, great audio too.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Very cool! Love the audio, well done!

pkenney says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:59am

Cool use of the only-get-1 upgrade mechanic! Also a nice feeling to the combat, which isn't so easy to do.

Solid entry from your team!

Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:52am

Only a quick comment because of time, But the turtle is so cute :D love the entry :D

xhunterko says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:59am

Not my favorite control scheme by a long shot. Great sound though. Would've been nice to be able to block arrows and the spinning guys were a pain. Not bad though. Not bad.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:59am

Neat little battle game, really epic music choice. Straightforward and very fun, great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]