Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Houston, We've Got a Problem

by MrBadIvan - Jam Entry

This is a space exploration manager.
And we are Houston, hi :)
What do astronauts usually find when they arrive on a different planet? Hardships.
Yes, in our game astronauts die: often. In different ways. Gracefully.

However, in process they collect precious scientific data, which we will then use to prepare for new expeditions.

Every expedition is a unique story about surviving in a deadly environment.
Now after each mission you can follow the expedition diary with every event about astronauts' lifetime recorded. All the results are a real match by game's mechanics of your expedition set up and dangers they face day after day.
You need to figure out what led them to death, and make a better set up for the following expedition.

This is a Ludum Dare theme game - you follow the gameplay on the Houston centre screen as the expedition operator.

---------------
How much scientific data will you acquire?

First, you should choose up to 8 modules for your ship.
- Use drag and drop to set them up
- You can zoom the planet screen using the mouse wheel.
- Scroll log by mouse drag (sometimes the wheel doesn't works properly)

In this version the top achievable lifetime is 730 days.
And the key metric is the amount of scientific data collected (more scientists means more data per day)

---------

This is all we have created so far in just 3 days of jam.

What we are planning to achieve:
- everything you read in the expedition diary will be respresented visially on the planet screen using animation
- "Houston, We've got a problem" events - you should tell astronauts which scenario they should follow to solve such issues as: 1) figuring out who is the cannibal-psycho; 2) defeating the monster that turns your astronauts into zombies. And like this - additional quest, detective, managerial elements
- a variety of planets
- more events and dangers
- research system and technological development
and much more, you know

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#128Innovation(Jam)3.71
#199Audio(Jam)3.42
#207Graphics(Jam)3.87
#252Mood(Jam)3.40
#326Overall(Jam)3.41
#336Humor(Jam)2.92
#496Fun(Jam)3.05
#822Theme(Jam)3.14

Comments

camlang says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:49am

Excellent project. Good luck guys! Complete the project and I am happy to buy it!

gmaker says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:35am

awesome graphics! Good job!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:29am

Cool entry! Ship building reminds me Colossatron. Art-style is great, but I was expecting a bit more gameplay.

cardanai says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:57am

Really nice, was not able to scroll all the way down in the web build, but overall a great game, well done!

Emkani says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:02am

A little hard to figure out how to better survive but fun idea, I like the use of the mission log.

Manou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:06am

very cool, 411 days for me.

allurious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:22am

Nice concept, would be nice to see it worked out with more gameplay!

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:38am

Thank you very much guys! We are so excited and grateful for your encouraging words =)

In this version top achievable lifetime is 730 days.
And key metric is amount of scientific data collected (more scientist more data per day).

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:41am

Pretty nice. But please, please, actually host your webplayer somewhere, don't make me download the web game!

Also, seeing results on a separate screen is kinda... absolutely unnnecessary. It would've been funnier AND more true to the theme to see text immediately.

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:43pm

"please, actually host your webplayer somewhere"
Done!=)

"more true to the theme to see text immediately."
We wanted so hard to show entire log Visually, animated, but we failed to do it in time =/

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:48pm

An interesting experience, but there really wasn't very many game mechanics, but I suppose you could say the whole game occurs on one screen, since after that theres no player interaction with the game. I enjoyed reading the log though. I'm assuming loss is inevitable? Or was there a win state I couldn't find?

folmerkelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Very cool, digging the art and how you tackled the theme!

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Very interesting game! I reached 700 days, but basically everybody starved to death :D I wish you could add more events so I don't have to read 30 times that sandstorm comes or a predator creaped up to the base. But for 3 days, this is an excellent work guys! Congratz :)

LimeniusTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Very nice concept, and nice graphics. I like that you are limited to see what will happen remotely from one screen. I couldn't scroll to the last lines of the log, though, so I don't know the ultimate fate of my settlers.

RadStar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:16pm

nice game ! pretty innovative and interesting concept !

Gungnir says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:22pm

This looks very nice and the ship building feels very smooth.
Too bad there isn't much to do beyond that though.

Nice effort.
Thanks.

Rothens says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:24pm

638 day is my record... but I don't know how I achieved this :D Anyway, I loved the design.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Nice game. W

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Nice game.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:32pm

I love the concept and it should be developed further. Right now it doesn't have much gameplay, but it's still fun to experiment with various starting combinations.

Graphics and sound are awesome, good job!

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:05pm

p1x3lruckus - "I'm assuming loss is inevitable? Or was there a win state I couldn't find?"
Yes, further we will make that your colony may survive and prospere and this will be like you completed one planet.

LimeniusTeam - "I couldn't scroll to the last lines of the log, though, so I don't know the ultimate fate of my settlers."
Aaaaand they died =))) Try to drag logs by mouse - this will help you to scroll up to the end (yeah, we will fix this further)

Gungir - "Too bad there isn't much to do beyond that though. "
Yes, we just missed to make anything else in time of jam =/ But we looking up to make it later =)

Thank you very much!=)

Snuux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Really sweet game from Microsoft Game Jam hackaton! 5 Stars! It's cool!

Forge says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Very nice entry.
Great graphics, music and story.
A few bugs here and there but a solid entry, Good Job!

JNyknn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Wonderful game!

bogdan.tana says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Got 703 days! I like the idea that the "entire game on one screen" theme is actually explained by objects IN the game, and not just a functional specification. The graphics are nice, music creates a good space mood. Texts are sometimes pretty funny. Fun to watch the outcome in the logs. :D

Dokthar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:58pm

A really good project. I love it ^^

Tommyno222 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Great idea, stunning visual. I love layered background and connection to the theme. Player interaction is little limited though. Could be an awesome game if it was extended.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Very nice graphics

Tuism says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Erm, I really wanted to like this, it LOOKS well polished, and it has a cool premise, but it doesn't "play" very well... It's like clicking a few things together without a clue of how they work, send them off without a clue of how they work, and then get a wall of (well written and sometimes humorous) text back without knowing how they work.

There's no learning or meaningful decisions... I hope that you guys can figure out a way for a player to understand and learn from the experience to see how to improve future expeditions. Then it'll be a game!

Again, great premise and amazing graphics. But needs improvement as a game!

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Tuism, thank you!=)

Yeah, we worked on such feedback systems, but failed to do it in time.
So I hope to help with this by text description at the topic.
And after your comment I added little bit more details:

"- red label - soldiers, they defend your base from local lifeforms (other people are most likely will be eaten without them)
- blue label - engineers, they installing your base systems and tools (each building take 10 engineer days to be installed; without it - farms will not produce food, armory will not provide ammo to soldiers (bare hands is not our friends in face of local guy named OhMyHeckinBud!), labs will not increase speed of research.
- green label - workers, they produce food (each colonist consume 1 ration per day, each farm produce 8 rations per day, if there are still workers alive).
- white label - scientists, they explore planet and get a scientific data for you - the ultimate goal of the expedition.
- yellow label - silo with food supply (initial and newproduced). Without it first days your people will starve and further you will not be able to store food."

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:03am

Awesome game! I love it :D

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:23pm

cool game, very original, great humor, it was very entertaining

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:28pm

The graphics is awesome. I wish you good luck!

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Cool graphics, I hope you finish the project because I liked it. Well done!

rabbit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Nailed the theme.

I like the idea behind it, but I'm not sure what the end goal is? Maybe there isnt one given the amount of time you had to work on it.

Pretty polished though and funny.

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Great, rated high on graphics and theme ... good work

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Nice graphics! It looks that you can do a amazing game based in that concept, congratulations!

panda says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Good idea, cool game!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Houston, awesome game! Keep up the good work.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Clever idea, but player interaction is somewhat limited here. Amazing graphics!

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Very unique game play idea. cute animation and graphics.
Well made!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:41am

wish there was more than just picking the ship pieces - nice game

Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Nice looking game, good job! :) I like, how it matches the theme. :D

allanolivei says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Do not have to win, always die of starvation or attack. The idea is very good, you guys could continue.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Awesome concept! Beautiful graphics... I wanna see a definitive version of this project! Well done^^

Robber says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:02pm

stellar idea, and beautifully executed. I tried but could not get my rating above 8000, I also tried changing the order, i thought the soldiers would be on the outside of camp, but i don't think it made a difference, some nitpicking:I could not find the info in game what each color does, scrolling the report is a little bit buggy for me

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Thank you!=)

"but i don't think it made a difference"
Yeah, it will make difference in future version soon - predators will appear from different sides. But we cannot change it in build for LD of course =/

"I could not find the info in game what each color does"
We failed to include interface info in game in time of Jam =(((
So we made description in second game screenshot.

Yarek says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:10pm

A really nice game :) I enjoyed playing it for a while. I would suggest to make a timer to send more people to the same planet, that would give it a strategy point to the game and would help to make a much bigger game :)

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:46am

Excellent!Great graphics!Love the man behind the screen.

2Bit says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:35am

Really cool game, would love to see a further developed version!

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:36pm

I liked this idea a lot. I would have wanted more modules/space parts... and would have liked more control over things. This is a good start for expanding something more. Once colony has been set up then it would be great if you could decide how to approach those dangers: whether to sacrifice defences or concentrate on farming or whatever...

cabezotta says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:47pm

I like it very much! lot of potential! you should continue working on it!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Great idea and love the way you assemble the spaceship, but it's still missing a lot. A little bit more interaction would be great.
Also the planet view is kinda pointless, because everything happens in the log anyway?

Stending says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Super concept, looks really complexe and interesting!

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Awesome stuff. I was chatting with you on the stream. Please work more on this project. Make it mode advanced. You'll have guys theorycrafting all day

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Я не сошел с ума! Я увидел текст на русском языке, и тому я порадовался, но к сожалению (я могу понять это решение) всё написанно на английском. Это интересный проект. Вас поздравляю ++
A little hard to figure out how to better survive but it's a fun idea. I like mood. Well done ++

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:20pm

"Geckoo1337 says ..."
Спасибо!=)) Да, на ГеймсДжаме делали изначально на русском, а потом специально для LD перевели.
Thank you!=)

Madball says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:41pm

This is an interesting game with good graphics, but I have a feeling my role is little in this game. Everything happens on its own. Also, I think you should make the log more interesting to read. Well, you already have it planned.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:46pm

I liked the drag and drop mechanics and it was pretty fun working out which combination of modules would produce the most scientific data.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Interesting project :) but it's quite confusing the fact that I don't seem to have a limit of how many dudes I can put, so I just put like 10 boxes and easily won the game.

Anyways this is something I'd like to see further developed!

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Pretty neat! I like the whole gameplay idea. It was actually fun to play! The graphics are cute...The one thing that bothered me is that sandstorms seem to permanently destroy your food production? I guess that's in there to make sure you can't survive indefinitely? ;P

Domicuc says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:10pm

NICE JOB! :) good work guys! If you have some time check my project too! x)

OctoTeam says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Very cool game, I'd love to see it improved, and see the tripulation doing the stuff that's being narrated on the log, and maybe even being able to help the expedition once they've landed.
The idea is awesome, keep going! :)

farwyler says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Hey, I made it 645 Days with 3760 Scientific data!
Great game! I love it!

edve98 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Very nice game! I've reached 713 days and 11395 scientific data on my 3rd time(so I'm pretty sure I get 2nd place, don't I? :D). Anyway, you should really add more events and fix the scrolling bug. I can't really think what you should do more for now(or as you said, add some more planets, winning conditions, being able to interaction, etc).
By the way, why wouldn't you make port for Linux? Remember that you are using Unity...

el-pepi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:25pm

I wish it had more gameplay elements. Seeing the animations of what is in the diary would of been so cool.
The graphics are really great, and the game looks very polished.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Managed to make it work with wine under Linux but, yeah, a Linux port would have been nice.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:13pm

What plugin does it require? I appear to be missing it.

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:31pm

For web version please use firefox. It seems, unity plugin have issues with chrome =\

Chaoseed - in fact there are limit in 8 modules max=)
Edve98 - yeah, definitely you overtakes second place=)

I'll make linux build soon, sorry=)

Thank you guys for a very warm feedback! We love you)

Kitch says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Really fun thinking about combinations and watching the results. Love this sort of gameplay. Thanks for the entry! Good work!

alfadur says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:41am

Impressive start, I feel this could become really great if taken in the right direction! Looking forward to see how the interaction with colonists develops. Also, when you mention how predators will attack from different sides, does it include attacking from above as well? :)

sorlok says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:42am

Very solid entry! Loved the visual feel of the game, and enjoyed the clever take on the theme. Wished there was a bit more to do, but nevertheless great job!

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:36am

Cool game. Dang those sandstorms! They seemingly just pounded my farms until they produced nothing. I think the highest I got was day 500. Oh well. Otherwise, the game was nice.

A couple of points:
-I'm not sure what the scrolling did on the planet, except for allowing to scroll out and see the broken landscape

-The tutorial is only somewhat confusing

It's pretty cool to see the different outcomes based on the combinations of tubes! The soviet tubes are kinda funny.

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:59am

For web version please use firefox. It seems, unity plugin have issues with chrome =\

Chaoseed - in fact there are limit in 8 modules max=)
Edve98 - yeah, definitely you overtakes second place=)

I'll make linux build soon, sorry=)

Thank you guys for a very warm feedback! We love you)

Kabukky says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:37am

Very nice and innovative idea!
I made it to 713/8085 :)
If you'd make the gameplay on the planet interactive, you'd have a great post LD game I think.
I've encountered two bug you might already be aware of: On the planet, I could zoom out as far as I wanted using the mouse wheel. Scrolling through the result log using the touch pad of a mac book is hard. It almost always snaps back to the top.
But within the short time frame you had to work with, bugs are to be expected :)

brainstorm says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:53am

Innovation 5/5: It's pretty innovative!

Fun 4/5: It's fun, but a bit repetitive.

Theme 5/5; Great use of the theme!!!

Graphics 5/5: Great graphics!!!

Audio 4/5: So relaxing music!

Humor 3/5: The title is so funny, and for sadists it's fun how people dies.

Mood 5/5: I felt fatastic while playing!

Overall 5/5: Great game! I've survived 713 days!

sapermysz says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:02am

Very nice game

sapermysz says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:04am

Very nice game. 713 days and 10610 Scientific data for my on
expedition No.10

Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:52am

Had a blast playing this. My best was 713 days, although the scientist got eaten up pretty early so not much work was done. haha fun.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:34am

You've got a great basic idea here. Your future plans will definitely add to the experience. I loved the graphics- I had a hard time figuring out if I did a good job though.
Looking forward to seeing this developed further!

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:05pm

I could only get to around 4k data. A good concept, would love to see it developed further.

Strandypants says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Fun consept, really enjoyed the experience. You might be pushing the line quite a bit on the whole game on one screen though:P

Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:50pm

good game loved the overall mood

JJEvil says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Cool game. Excellent graphics & sound. Nice work.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Great idea!!!
I really like the graphic style and the deep mood that the log leaves! I reached day 713 a few times, it's the last day isn't it? :D
The music is perfect!
Well done!

ljdp says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:59pm

There is just one annoying bug in this, the message log doesn't auto-scroll to the bottom. Also you can zoom out far enough to see the outside of the map.

Apart from that though this is a great looking game, audio is great too. Like you say in your description, it would be much better if events played out on the planet not in a message log (but keep the message log for reference).

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Cool! A lot of sandstorms... but other than that it is perfectly fun!

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Fun! a lot of sandstorms, which are difficult, but otherwise it is very fun!

okkolobr says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Couldn't scroll in the diary (web version) so didn't really understood what goes wrong or right.
But there is a nice start of something good :)

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Nice idea, graphics, audio and mood. Could do with some more gameplay. As it is now the gameplay consists of choosing a setup and then reading quite a lot of text? I would really like to keep playing when I reach the planet, maybe choose the order to build thing etc. I also think that the log could be more brief. I also couldn't scroll all the way down in the log to read what happened to my colonists.

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Thank you, guys!=)

And with scroll - sorry for this=/ You may scroll to the end of log by draggin text with mouse, though.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Fun to try different combinations, but it's a bit disappointing to see every expedition fall to starvation due to sandstorms happening so frequently.

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:34pm

11145 data, wohoo! I would definitely play a full version of this, so addicting.

Mechamew says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Very interesting game. Highly original concept wonderfully executed!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:33am

A good game, but I needed few tries to understand the concept. reached over 700 days, I guess it's good ?

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:57am

This is an incredibly innovative game. I love the logs at the end. If there were an expanded version of this where you could make more choices in-between the days (like maybe sending more supplies or backup) I would definitely play it.

Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:08am

Very unique game. Ambitious gameplay that seems to show homage to Sim-based and sci-fi games.

asobitech says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:40am

Not sure I understand what's going on, even after reading the instructions on the first screen. Lasted 145 days and got 680 data.
But I like the art style and presentation.
Satisfying feedback when adding the modules.

kipelovets says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:05am

Another space-themed game which is already cool. This one great for being strategic game with random events. The concept is great and the implementation is good enough for a game jam. The only thing that disturbed me is scrolling acting weird on log screen

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:38am

I expected to build a new space colony... well, good graphics though.

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:51am

- tmpxyz
In future versions, soon, my friend=)

Pfilzweg says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:52am

Nice graphics and sounds but missed a walking Animation. To bad the results don't scroll automatically, quite annoyed me

Trite Games says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:04pm

It's fun and looks good. Too bad, I can't really evaluate the output log because when I scroll down, it automatically scrolls up again :/ But all in all a cool concept :)

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:46pm

great looking game and amazing polish, but its hard to determine any strategy. and since it was a "pick the ship and go", there wasn't much engagement to the game. would love to see this expanded upon

dunin says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Really cool mood and design. But the gameplay is just stats calculs or I missed something?
Actions in the second phase would be cool (even simple text-box with choices - see hexadecima's game "1492" from the last LD, for example...)

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:38pm

The idea is interesting, but it ends being more about luck than actual strategy. The same configuration can lead to a terrible or a fantastic result. So it doesn't feel like you have any control actually.
The graphics are nice, the music is a bit annoying but fits the game. The gameplay needs some work. More configuration options perhaps, like defining a colony structure or plan of some sort, or some way to control the crew.
Nice game. Has potential, but needs some work there. Btw, my score was 713 days, 15365 data ;) http://i.imgur.com/CPokPGV.png

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Great graphics and interesting game concept. I would like to see some in game help, but you have the image which is good enough.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:57am

Really neat concept, well done!

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:30am

Ignored tutorial warning and then came back and tutorialed up ;-) good game!

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:45am

I really liked this game, so much so that I didn't even realize I had been playing it for kind of a long time. The music does a lot for setting up the mood of sending dudes into space. It's intuitive to build and ship and send it off, and it's a lot of fun to look at the mission log and see how people died or if they miraculously survived the entire mission. I think I found the winning combination though (maybe?) but it didn't seem to have any scientists in it. I did not understand the goal of the game other than to have people survive. There was an indication of how much science I got from a mission but there was no indicator for how much science I needed to get from a mission. The mechanics for if a colonist gets eaten or dies or really does anything was not apparent, but I think that is okay since it adds to the more realistic aspect of unpredictability in space travel. I really wanted there to be more to this, so I am really glad that you guys are planning on extending this game to be more than just was it is in the jam. It's a pretty interesting idea and I hope you go far with it. I think you guys are on the right track.

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:56am

I like this idea a lot. I love games like this and The Yawhg where you experiment with certain configurations to try and find the best one. I got to around 713 days by my 3rd try :)

Overall the main issue is that there's such a lack of agency since you're just reading what happens and it appears to be quite random (whereas most of these games tend to have fixed outcomes). For example, one time I had 3 Defender guys.. I posted one on each end of the ship and one in the middle (in case positioning matters) and the first event to happen was a predator eating a worker. What can I do except roll the dice again?

The theming, graphics and sound are great and it's very dark in theme, which is great :) I made a similar game last year called Outdoor. Right up my alley. Can't wait to play the updated version!

01rafael says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:42pm

why download(((( screenshots, graphics looks cool!

Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Good game. It is an idea to be developed that can have many possibilities.

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Complex, but a great game.
Very solid!

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:53pm

What an interesting mechanics! Definitely an awesome game, even thought it doesn't have gameplay!

The hardest part is figuring out how stuff works, then to come up with a spacecraft.
Because testing is mostly a hit in your face. You have to put in a lot of effort in order to become good, and that's not for everyone because for some is reading text not enough satisfication(don't know how to spell that).

The theme & mood feels really dark, mostly because of the text and music.
"{name} died of hunger."

Implementation of theme is unique, but it feels like it's not build around the theme. Very innovative thought.

Great work.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:29pm

The game has a really cool mood to it, the visuals and audio are excellent. Gameplay-wise its a cool concept, I just kind of wish there was more agency involved in how everything plays out, but you can only do so much in the time limit I guess. Nice work, anyway.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Certainly a game I did not expect. Can't seem to beat that 713 days score, though.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Awesome game, impressive amount of content and fantastic art. Great job guys!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:07am

Really cool concept! It's cool to try different combinations and see the results.

yodamaster says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Interesting. Tried a few times and the results got better. But the log-scrolling is not working properly, so I can't read the results fully.
Would be nice to see what's actually happening on the screen.

snipercommand says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Cool concept,
I like the "search for the best combination" part of the game, especially since you posted a leaderboard in one of your posts, it'd be awesome if that was integrated in the game.
also instructions could've been put in the game, instead of a separate screenshot =).


Good job!

Aglavra says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Too much promotion of the game, not so much gameplay. I liked the concept in the beginning, but the game in its current form gets repetitive soon. I would like to get more feedback about how my decisions influence the expedition. I liked the option to move and scroll camera, to watch the entire planet. The game needs more diversity.

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 12:01am

definitely an interesting idea, but I think its one of those games which are really fun to program but kinda dull to play.

I dont think there is a real game play elements to this game, it let you experiment a little and thats it, and while the log was pretty cool; you dont actually get to know the people or see the results.

if you can make something around the idea with more meaningful choices and longer time playing; I can see how endless the possibilities are for this game, it could be really fun, or really big.

as I said it is really an interesting idea. I liked how the elements interacted with each other.

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 12:46am

Cool art, interesting idea but I'm not sure what the point of my choices were. The instructions are a little obtuse. Good entry! :)

Terrabalt says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:03am

Great game! it's a bit repetitive, tho.

ynots says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:23pm

nice..

Sandcrawler says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:13pm

A lot of fun to play, I found myself trying to beat my score. Like other have mentioned I would like to see a way to further interact, maybe by being able to launch follow up missions.

Tonasz says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:28am

15780 - http://i.snag.gy/1dlDJ.jpg :)
Really nice game. Cool graphics and background sounds. Gameplay wasn't what I expected from screenshots but I enjoyed it a lot. It's good concept but need... something. I don't know what exactly. Maybe it's a matter of randomness - when I found cool combination I was only rolling dices looking for better outcome (which didn't come). Maybe it's a matter of mechanics which could be more "open" - maybe less log observing and more observing of these landing animations? I don't know, but you did good job :)

Si1ver says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Love this game. Nice job!
Can't wait to see how engineers are buding stuff and predators are creeping to base (in future versions) =)
Some more controll over mission would also be cool. Maybe sone indirect control or something. The interface (like oone on the screenshot) is also a must-do thing!

jukimv1986 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 9:21pm

I was so engaged I was looking for a way to get back home. Great work guys, I would love to see a full version. Keep it up!

pht59x says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Nice space art and music. Not quite on one screen though.

Wingy Mammoth says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Not one screen at all. And almost no gameplay. But original game. And interesting idea. And I was playing for 10 minutes. Best result is over 600 days and over 4400 scientific points

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Let me to differ=)
There are one Houston wall screen, which shows us broadcasting from another planet =)

Dec 27, 2014 @ 8:56am

555555555555

Vaclav says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:42pm

The text reports are really funny :)

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 1:31pm

I have a feeling you knew the game you wanted before the theme was announced, and kind of pushed-the-theme-in-there... Which is totally fine since the game is really cool to play. I spent a great deal of time on it.

While I didn't really understand the point of the planet-screen (it is just a bunch of people running left and right...) the story that is generated is pretty nice. Some color codes highliting the usefull information would have been nice though, since it quickly becomes repetitive to read...

The screenshot however is NOT a nice a quick tutorial: even if it's indeed nicely structured and contains everything you need to know ... It just overwhelms the new players with a lot informations. The goal is clearly stated but statements like "but it requires [...] to work" are legion, and until I actually play the game I have no idea what you are talking about.
A better approach would be to take the player by the hand during his first playthrough and slowly introduce each component... or to just display those informations in the ship-building stage

overall, really good job with that one: it's one of the few games that I could see extended in a full release.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Fun game with some really nice touches. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]