Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Tangled Maze

by jachepe - Compo Entry

Hi!

It's the first time that I participate in Ludum Dare and I finished my first game :D.

Tangled Maze have a only screen that is a maze and you must find the exit with levers and keys. But there is a problem... the maze changes when you move the levers!.

The game is made with Unity and the graphics with Paint.net.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#738Audio2.37
#760Mood2.69
#852Graphics2.64
#896Humor1.80
#920Innovation2.56
#1055Overall2.63
#1123Fun2.23
#1195Theme2.10

Comments

wer2chosen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Graphics were great, mood was good, but the game didn't make me want to continue beyond a few moments.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Controls feel really weird, if I held them down the guy would continue on for about 5 or so squares before stopping. In the end I had to just tap to move.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:28pm

The music was a bit too short, so while the loop was clean, it kind of grated on me. The gameplay didn't help, since it meant I had some issues focusing on wanting to find the keys; that said, it was still really solid and progressed smoothly for me.

Baknik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Decent graphics and cool limited-sight concept. The changing maze makes this very challenging, maybe overly so. Movement controls are a bit clunky.

jarry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Good concept.

rabbeni says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:30pm

I only found 5 keys :/
Good job

Eponesh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:36pm

I'm got out! Greate game!:)

rantt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Interesting concept, I liked the changing maze idea. The controls felt kind of awkward, the guy seamed to just keeps walking after you let go of the button. Nice job.

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Great work! Admittedly the controls are a little frustrating, but the idea of the maze that changes is great and it was a challenge getting out of it!
Considering the key are not always accessible even if you can see them, maybe having a larger field of vision wouldn't have been such a bad idea :p
First jam and first game made for me too :)

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:05am

It's a nice little game, but if you want to further develop it, I have a few comments for you:

1. The controls feel a little sluggish, you might want to remake them
2. Keys can spawn over you if when you press a lever
3. You might want to consider some kind of a minimap, or some way to know if a key is near.

Cool game though, I'll look forward to your next entry!

oh_cripes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Sort of confusing, but really interesting too I thought. I like the really small field of view and the feeling of being lost. I was quite confused by what happened when I flipped a switch, I started to understand that the maze was being altered, but things were still in the same place.

I think it would be really interesting to see where you could take this concept. I think beginning with smaller levels and having more variety of things to encounter, enemies and treasure, would be really cool.

Overall I really liked it, mainly mood and innovation. The music was alright but the loop was way too short and the graphics were a bit meh if I'm honest. Great game though!

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Not too shabby for the first game finished, in my opinion. Yeah, controls are something that needs to be fixed, but everything else will come with experience.

indie4fun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:07pm

The concept and the mood are ok, but the gameplay seems a little confusing. It's a good work for just a person!

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Nice game. Controls are a little weird.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:49pm

I actually managed to get out! :-) - The idea for a changing maze was great- Especially because there's actually a pattern to the change. The controls were.. weird because of the "tile based" movement. The music was good, but too short, so the loop became more of an annoyance in the long run. I liked the graphics, especially your menu screen was very well done! For a first game I'd say this was well done!

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Good Idea. I could not get confortable with the moevement. It feels really weird.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:31am

The control is a bit weird and the repetitive music make people feel a bit uncomfortable, but the concept is good. I don't quite get what happened when I press E, though.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:41am

Good job for your first LD entry! Keep working on your tech/art skills and you'll surely achieve to make good games in the future :)

Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:58am

Great game for your first Ludum Dare, visuals were good but the music loop needs to be a bit longer.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:03pm

I only found 3 keys but I stuck with it for awhile! Cool concept - very hard. I liked it. I thought the music loop was a bit short though, and it didn't loop properly (beat has a hiccup) I think a longer, less repetitive music loop would have been a bit easier on the ears. I really liked the level change buzz though.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Ominous mood--it's nice to see some games capitalizing on the tension of darknesss.

hbocao says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:16pm

First of all, congratulation on your first game! You should be proud. It's a solid entry! The walking feels a little odd and the bg music could be a little longer, but that's totally fixable. Be proud!
The concept can be used on mobile, think about it. ;)

rjhelms says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Really cool concept. The field of view felt a touch too limited - even one tile further would have made things a lot less challenging.

Kimau says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:32pm

So glad you finished, congrats.
Music was a bit strange and I kept getting lost which I guess is the point.
No real use of the theme though with both a menu and scrolling gameplay.

01rafael says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Wow! Great concept! The music is wonderfull as well!

Zayron says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Good job for your first game and you did it in 48 hours! I agree with a lot of the other comments here about the controls and maybe a longer music loop but for your first game this is a great start!

calavera says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:24pm

doesn't completely fit the theme but its a solid entry. I felt like I was just searching blindly so after 2 keys I lost interest. Mood and music were good but the song was too short.

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Crashed..

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 4:39am

The changing maze idea was interesting. Combined with the limited feel of vision, though, it was a bit frustrating. While I recognized certain areas and switches, I really felt like I only solved it through trial and error.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]