Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

a TV Show or a One Screen Game

by Si1ver - Jam Entry

The game is a graphics and audio story about several generations of the same family.

You are a RUBIN 401 TV-set. You can change channels and show the family members their favourite or unloved programmes.

Your goal is to bring the whole family together on the sofa and make them watch you.

Update: Made ports for win, mac & nix.
Can't test mac & nix builds though. Please comment if something not works!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#7Theme(Jam)4.52
#16Innovation(Jam)4.20
#27Mood(Jam)4.09
#63Overall(Jam)3.91
#196Graphics(Jam)3.89
#384Fun(Jam)3.21

Comments

bitserum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:29am

That's a really clever puzzle game, I liked it. Very innovative and fitting the theme perfectly.

Si1ver says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:52am

@bitserum
Thanks! =)

DMinsky says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:43am

Congrats with victory on GamesJam! Really good metaphor about "passing of time". The only pity is that not all western people can understand this aesthetics.

Si1ver says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:17am

@DMinsky
Thanks!

Yeah, I agree about aesthetics. At the last day we had to make a choise: to finish "Act 3: 2014" or to remake the game for Europe or North American aestetics. And we decided to finish 2014.

Though, we are thinking about making source code for this project available so anyone can make the story of his own.
I'll make a post about this (on LD) if we decide to.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Sweet! Really cool idea. And it looks great too, nice work!

mauris says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:55pm

In Soviet Russia TV watches you. That's pretty much the idea of this game. Loved it!

Snuux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Cool game from Microsoft Game Jam hackaton! 5 stars!)

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:15pm

I've tried to find any reason to give mark less than 5 stars, but I didn't. Perfect work! Nice girl on the last screen =)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:34pm

loved it

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Great job, guys. I'm glad you decided to finish the third act rather than try to cater to Western sensibilities: there's a lot of charm to the Russian aesthetic!

AMS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:49am

Really interesting game, I love the art style, well done!

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:58am

Beautiful, this is one of the more thought provoking things I've seen up here. Unity player takes FOREVER to load.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:04am

Very clever. Great holiday game. Sends a nice message. Great job.

Si1ver says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Hey all!
Thanks for warm comments!

@goodbadokay
Yeah, she is cute =) We've added her literally in last minutes and I'm not sure that I've placed her where she intended to be. Though, maybe this is not a bad place for her ;-)

@Code Medicine
The file for unity Web Player is 51 Mb, but sometimes it stucks when loading. Don't know why =(
I'll try to make downloadable version to solve this problem =)

Hellequin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:36pm

really cool concept! Love art style well done!

zhookevil says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Привет, ребята! Я ваш сосед Макс, с первого дня хакатона.
К сожалению, здоровье не позволило приехать в воскресение. Очень рад, что вы выиграли в номинации лучшая игра! Пытался найти ваши контакты, потому пишу сюда. Вв отличные ребята, был бы рад поддерживать с вами связь. Может даже смогу быть чем-то полезен.

Si1ver says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:16am

@Hellequin
I'm glad you liked it! =)

@zhookevil
Привет, Макс! Мы живем тут: terranivium.ru Будет скучно - пиши =)
Выздоравливай!

camlang says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:42am

Gorgeous concept !! This I have not seen, so 5! Good work, guys.

OldMonstr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Неплохо ;) Даже - очень хорошо. Сразу вспомнил, с чего начиналась моя семья... Автор меня поймет ;)

Si1ver says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:28pm

@camlang
Thanks!

@OldMonstr
=D

Ithildin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Brilliant take on the theme.

As for aesthetics, I think they're perfectly fine the way they are: even though some of us may fail to fully grasp or appreciate them, the exposure always has the ability to pike our interest enough to start looking to learn more. To me that's more valuable than trying to cater to everyone.

Nice job :D

Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:46am

Fantastic game, very unique with an interesting style. The mood you created was perfect.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:23am

Muy buen juego. Idea original. Fantástica resolución.

Si1ver says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:59pm

@Bonobo Games & Mechanic Moon
Gracias!

Esjaji says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:48am

Oh wow, what a beautiful concept. Took me a little while to get the idea, but once I did, I realised how fantastic this game was. Great aesthetic, great idea, and kinda fun, in its own way.

istlemin says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Amazing. Just amazing.

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Really interesting idea, very nice art and sound direction!
It's nice to see something so diffetent - both in game mechanics and in spirit to most of the games here. Great job!

hbocao says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Great atmosphere! Wow! I felt like I was missing a lot from the audio. :( Incredible job!

wavertron says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:10pm

I'm giving quite a few 5 stars for this one. Really liked it - although I could only see two family members? Are there more?

I'm an English speaker and the Russian(?) voices added to the mood for me and I think works better than if I could understand it, and detect the looping in the audio easily.

Great use of Theme. You should run with this further, go for other ideas, objectives etc: eg making kids leave the room to play outside by changing from cartoons to news, or switching to a medical story when a family member starts choking on food, all sorts of crazy stuff like that. And I'd probably go with objectives that are not spelled out - keep it unsaid, so that the player has to observe and work it out themselves. Just some random thoughts.

Great job.

Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Not a particularly "fun" game, but very innovative and one of the best interpretations of the theme for sure. Very good work, and I don't think there's anything wrong with the artistic style whatsoever. It's nice to see something different once in a while. :)

kipelovets says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Awesome!

Это гениально. Сделать объединение семьи перед телевизором игрой, причем интересным пазлом, — просто гениально. Атмосфера трех десятилетий прекрасно передана в звуке передач и обстановке. Отличная работа!

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Really sweet little game! I like how you get to explore how it works by playing, making you feel better when you actually get it. Would have been interesting to see other elements in the game but maybe that would make it too complex. Beautifully made!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Really great take on the theme with some rather clever puzzles plus I actually love how the levels are defined by eras of time.

Eggplant says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Pretty good! I loved the sound and art. It's very intriguing. Good job.

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Really Really nice game. Loved the art, sound and concept.

okkolobr says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Smart games, a bit cynical but realistic.

Good game in many ways !

hoqjed says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Excellent job on this, and a very creative approach to the theme. I really liked the overall concept of needing to balance out the channels with family interests so that you can bring them together. It's pretty well executed for the time limit also.

The transitions that characters showed went a long way to help determine what programs would work for the different members. I also liked the turn-based aspect, and how it became more of a puzzle than a real-time juggling act.

Great job on the visuals also. Though I tend to dislike extra screen clutter that isn't completely relevant to the game's mechanics, I appreciate how much work went into this visually in such little time. The sound was also handled very well, coming up with audio for each channel I can imagine was... difficult.

This whole project just has a really nice charm to it. Excellent job on nearly all aspects of this entry.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 10:14am

lovely! I think I was playing this for way too long, will play this again later today. lovely graphics and audio.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]