Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Alchemist

by oscalbal - Jam Entry

Create as many potions as you can in the time given, following the instructions of the clients.

If you need to get rid of something, just dropt it down the screen

If you feel overwhelmed by fairies, consider letting a reagent explode, it will kill all of them at the cost of losing a customer.

The font can be found here: http://www.1001fonts.com/nickelodeon-font.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#292Humor(Jam)3.00
#328Innovation(Jam)3.31
#383Graphics(Jam)3.52
#464Theme(Jam)3.59
#593Mood(Jam)2.92
#624Overall(Jam)3.07
#637Audio(Jam)2.16
#651Fun(Jam)2.86

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:42am

That was really nice :) toke me a little to figure out, you shouldn't hold down LMB to move things about.

once i had that down it was very intuitive :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:21am

Nice to make a game on linux !

Natura-Time says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Fun game but fairies are so hard to kill.

Raxsus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:37pm

It was fun, but it would be nice if the faeries either moved slower, or were easier to kill.

gquibao says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:41am

Good game, a bit confusing at first but very interesting. I really liked the graphics!!

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:18pm

./Alchemist_linux_32.bin: error while loading shared libraries: libssl.so.1.0.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Scientific Linux, will try on home PC later

SushiDestroy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:06pm

The game crash at launch on Window 7 (32bit).

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Nice entry :)

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Worked well for me on OS/X. I love the art style! The fairies were unnecessary in my opinion, and introduced an element to the game that just ended up being a frustration. Still a cool little game though. =)

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:11pm

This was a very interesting entry, but unfortunately has some flaws that make it difficult to play.

In terms of balance, the fairies are kind of overpowered. It would be nice if I was given some time to figure things out before one arrived, and if the pace of them arriving was a little slower. Second: I really don't see any reason to try to fight them -- the worst thing that happens is they eventually explode and I lose a customer, but the only way to fight them is to make something explode so I lose a customer. Maybe if I could just swat them that would be an acceptable mechanic.

There are some bugs and issues with lack of feedback. Grabbing things felt finicky, possibly due to the small size of the reagents. I ran into an issue where customers sometimes didn't take the bottle. I think I was setting the bottle directly on the counter instead of "dropping" it on the counter, and make that's the difference. When I was able to get a customer to take a bottle, I noticed the "score" screen in the back, but that really should be visible all the time. How much gold am I making/did I make?

Finally: this game is almost impossible for the color blind. The colors you've used for the reagents are too similar and the boxes of color too small for me to tell between them a lot of the time. I know time is short, but this feels like the perfect opportunity to use shape in addition to color (better-contrasting colors) to differentiate the reagents.

Leaving detailed feedback because I really do think this is a neat concept. Best of luck!

ljdp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Can confirm it works on OSX 64bit.

I think you've got something promising here and you should continue to iterate on it, I'd love play some kind of alchemy game on my tablet. The first thing I would get rid of though is those fairies, they add nothing to the game other than frustrate the player, you could still leave them in as ambiance. Also I had to wait a very long time for the customer to pick up the potion, I should know if I'm right or wrong as soon as I place it on the counter.

In summary though you've made a great looking game, with promising mechanics in less than 72 hours! I'm impressed and I hope you continue to improve it.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Nice Idea, I love this kind of games. But It wasn't really responsive in the commands.. I found difficult click&dragging items around 3/4 times click didn't work.
But in overall a good game, well done! :D

Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:19pm

The game is nice. Definitely works on OS/X 64 bits. I kinda liked it, but unfortunately the controls are a bit clunky. It sometimes i hard to select the items. Also it took me a while to figure out how the game works. As some already said it is easiest to just let the fairies have their way and ignore them entirely, as their hit boxes seem to be quite weird, which makes them hard to catch.

Shivur says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Original game! The bugs are annoying ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]