Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Snowman and the Cannons

by thecord - Jam Entry

Try to avoid the snowballs to save your Snowman!
The score is the number of snowball you've avoided.

How to Play:
a/d/left/right - movement
space - jump


System Requirements:
Windows 7/8(DX11) 64-bit
DirectX End-User Runtimes (June 2010)
.NET 4.0

Update Log:
-Included a lower-end version (less antialiasing,...)
-Lower size(Stripped out redist and crash reporter)

Used Tools:
Unreal Engine 4
Blender
Photoshop CC
Substance Designer
Visual Studio
REAPER
Inkscape

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#366Humor(Jam)2.85
#411Graphics(Jam)3.46
#446Audio(Jam)2.86
#582Overall(Jam)3.12
#588Fun(Jam)2.94
#637Mood(Jam)2.86
#676Theme(Jam)3.36
#815Innovation(Jam)2.50

Comments

hwinwuzhere says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:53pm

It's pretty hard, but fun to play.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:55pm

I like the amount of detail that went into the models and the snow.
Unfortunately, I don't like the rest as much, and as I approached 60 snowballs, I started to wonder "Why am I doing this?"
(don't worry by the way, my game probably has less gameplay than yours do ;))
So next time, maybe try to focus a little less on the graphics, and a little more on how to make the game fun :)

Eponesh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Nice music, greate gameplay!

Iak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Saving snowmen?! Snowmen are meant to be burned down (not melted, melting is for wimps), not saved!!!

Seriously though. You may have gone just a little bit overkill on the graphics and stuff just to dodge a few snowballs =P
Other than that, not a bad concept. Dodging is fun as long as it doesn't lag (I'm on my laptop, so I don't have too high end specs ^^')

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:47pm

I love this game. The graphics were great, and the blandness of the game was mainly just limitation of the theme. But i love the simplicity, and the music makes me happy :D. I might keep this :D

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:47pm

The snowman will raise! Great game, everything that uses snowman theme is fantastic!

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:57pm

on a mac, can't play :/

OneMuppet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Graphics are good, but I'm missing the revenge of the snowmen. I wanna fight back, do somersaults, pick up a bat and hit the balls etc. Good start!

Catwheel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:09pm

pretty fun! High end version got blocked by chrome (chrome said it was malicious???) low end one worked great though!

Maurogik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Who are thos bastards cannons and why are they shooting at me ?!!! No seriously, nice, i enjoyed playing.

Myyyvothrr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Love the art style!

Kuupu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Nice job!

bobombe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:44pm

The graphics are pretty cool, but I'm sorry to say that's the only thing I like :/

lionroot says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:51pm

You used the snowman and kept it on one screen!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Pretty hard but I liked it! Snowman!!!! ^^

Wezley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:09pm

I don't know why, but every snowman game has made me laugh xD You get humor points for this my friend! Very nice game! :D

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Good graphics and quite fun to play, the music is good to.

Spacemyname says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:48pm

love the art style!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Very nice graphics and a nice simple solid game (High score after 5 plays was 98). The only issue I have is that the file size is huge for what the game is, 150 MB uncompressed. My guess is that there is a lot of default items placed in the application (I noticed a tutorial folder and an issue tracker among other things). It you continue to use UE4 for future entries, take a look at publishing settings and see if you can turn all these extra items off as it would help a lot.

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Haaaaard!!!! But I had fun playing!!!! File size too big, because of UE4...

cxsquared says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:34am

This reminds me of a doge the falling objects game but in a 3D space which I've never really seen. The graphics are really good as well. Nice work.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:34am

Really sick! Enjoyed the graphics, but a little hard.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:03am

Awesome game! I love it :D

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:18pm

I like how you combined two themes ;)

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 10:02am

simple but nicely detailed graphics, gameplay is too simple in my opinion.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]