Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Squadron Commander

by Raxsus - Compo Entry

Control three ships (one with a shield, one with fast light firepower, and one with slow heavy firepower) as you fight your way through bunches of difficult enemies.

Select, drag, and drop the ships to move them. Try and keep your ships inside the shield whenever possible (you have to move them around if you hope to destroy any enemies though).

I'm pressed for time, so no sounds or music were added.[Update] Added some sounds!

F4 to toggle fullscreen

I used GameMaker 8.1 to program the game and draw all the sprites, http://converticon.com/ to make an icon, and sfxr to generate some sound effects.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#581Fun3.06
#582Audio2.66
#637Innovation3.03
#674Mood2.81
#746Graphics2.78
#749Overall3.00
#965Theme3.22

Comments

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Pretty good concept :) Sound would be nice though

Broivula says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Yeah, concept isn't nothing new but it's well made! Some sound would've been pretty nice, though.

Raxsus says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:40pm

I added sounds. The Compo is still going on, so I think it was legal for me to do that.

wandersenus says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:30pm

this one is very fun. hahaha. I think it is much better if the graphic is improved.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:58am

Incredibly hard to manage 3 ships at once. Next to impossible really. If that's part of the design to just grab the shield ship and play with that alone, why not.

Also, I can put the ship at the far left of the screen and become invulnerable and also not be able to shoot.

Wilson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:26am

Nice concept, but agreed justinooncx that it's very tricky to manage your three ships all together - maybe if the enemies were a bit slower or you got more warning what was coming, you could plan and position a bit better. I had some fun though :)

Halleflux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:57pm

I really like the concept, could work well if it was multiplayer, or something along those lines.
I found it difficult to do too much, what with each ship (apart from the shielder) having only one life point. I'm not too sure what you could do for that, but it's something to think about.

Spacemyname says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Very fun, also nice 8-bit feel

tyty5949 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Good looking game. It runs nicely but is just really hard. I ended up sacrificing two ships, lol, and then it became more manageable just moving one around the screen. Either way, good game.

ponk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Cool !

Raxsus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:00pm

I'm very sorry about the difficulty; I should have given each ship at least three hit points. After the jam is over I'm probably going to improve this a bit; lower difficulty, better graphics, multiple levels, and a shop to buy different kinds of ships.

someone says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Nice game, Hard though.

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:43am

I have to agree with a lot of the comments about difficulty. I'm not sure if I missed something but felt like I could stand more of a chance if I could aim the ships fire in different directions. With a bit more work this could really turn into a great game. Keep it up!

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:16am

Pretty neat. Interesting drag n drop idea for a space shooter. I liked the enemy spawning and timing and the retro audio boops and beeps was cool. Was hard to deal with 3 ships but I had fun slamming shields into ships as well.

CrefossusJam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Never seen a shooter that allows you to position ships like this. Unfortunately I couldn't keep my ships alive for too long. I love the graphics consistency throughout.

Alendro says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:04pm

neat little game, enjoyed the controls

Zolkren says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Cool game.

Raxsus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:04pm

I've started working on the new version that addresses all of the problems this one had. So far I've added warnings that note when a ship is a approaching, and multiple hit points for each ship. Here's a GIF I whipped up to show you what I'm talking about. https://33.media.tumblr.com/89d6b184ed93b820975ee37d380f6812/tumblr_ngdu40gZiD1rjzjuno1_400.gif

gene-z says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Very good, Congratulations

Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:43am

Interesting concept (normally in this kind of game player only controls one ship). The pixel art works fine! Like it.

Raxsus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Demo of the post-LD version is up. http://gamejolt.com/games/arcade/squadron-commander-2/41580/

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Like the idea, but clicking and dragging as a control input can be a bit cumbersome at times. Not too bad though. Runs at a really low resolution so it was tiny on my screen.

But aside from that, great method of timing sequences and different AI strategies - good sounds that make it clear what's happening and fun to play. You opted not to be rated on humour - but your ending was the first one that made me laugh, so I gave you a good mood score.

Raxsus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:21pm

@monkeedude1212 Ugh, I wish I had checked that sooner. I added humor now; thanks for rating it.

I agree with you; clicking and dragging is cumbersome, but I'm trying to find ways to make it less so. Hopefully the post-LD game won't feel as cumbersome as this one.

Odefus says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:40am

I found trying to micro manage the three ships next to impossible. I felt my best bet was to grab one and play the game with that. It was rather fun though.

rzfmzn says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:01am

liked it. But I think its a bit too fast. You could improve it to become something like the battleheart :D

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:45am

Very neat idea with moving the ships around. I wish I could see something like this with multiple players (each with their own cursor) scrambling to move around a dozen ships. Either way, this is something I haven't seen before and it's a very cool idea!

Other than that, I liked your method of giving stats to the player. It was fun to see how many of each type of ship I destroyed, rather than some arbitrary score value. Good work!

cxsquared says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Really neat idea and I really like the graphics. Good work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]