Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Ludum Dare Pinball

by iShadow - Jam Entry

A simple pinball game made with Unity3D and build in Box2D physics. I've tried to achieve a classic DOS Pinball lookalike with Adlib/SoundBlaster music.
Like most pinball games this one has a theme: Ludum Dare.

- Player goal is to complete a game within 48 hours.
- each time ball falls of the screen, 8 hours are removed from timer.
- when "coffee" is collected, time slows down,
- bumpers represents gfx, audio, and code, filling "Game-o-meter",
- "FOOD" gives strength and increases multiplayer,

Control:
LShift/RShift - flippers
SPACE - spring,

X360 controller don't work yet, it will be added in post LD version.

There's no intro/menu/gameover screen, game just restarts when time runs out or player wins it.

Game automatically scales to various resolutions. You can play windows version on 9:16 rotated screen to fit whole table on the screen at once.
To quit Fullscreen use ALT+ENTER,
To quit Game use ALT+F4.

Everything in this game was made by myself. No asset Store content were used. Only iTween to do a blinking effect of a 3 Text sprites.

Hope you'll enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#223Audio(Jam)3.38
#308Humor(Jam)2.97
#326Fun(Jam)3.28
#420Overall(Jam)3.30
#421Graphics(Jam)3.44
#424Theme(Jam)3.63
#437Mood(Jam)3.13
#723Innovation(Jam)2.70

Comments

Boehrsi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Like it, with much attention to details.

arzi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:56pm

I think pinball is quite ingenious interpretation of the theme :) And a Ludum Dare themed pinball! I also like the idea how losing balls causes time to run down by sleeping. Excellent :)

Biliogadafr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Nice pinball game! graphics is good. I like music also. Probably I would like to see more elements on the table that would add more dynamic and speed to the game.

davesoft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Awesome entry, very addictive!

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:19am

Very detailed graphics, I loved them. Nice use of Unity Engine.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Pinball games are quite fun when done well. Nice job.

lekochen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Hey I made my game on time, hooray! And I see lots of ludum dare love in it, very well done.

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Haven't played one of those in a while! :) Lovely graphics (love the snowman!). Neat audio & physics!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:10pm

I like pinball games, I've seen a couple this time around, I guess it fits the theme quite well. I like the cute presentation, and its a good execution of a pinball concept. The ball physics are a bit floaty and slow, but other than that, good stuff.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:17pm

A cool pinball game with lovely music. The goals are cool!

Got some little issue with collision on the flippers.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:06am

Really loved the Ludum Dare theme and touches, and the audio. Well done. :)

lemmily says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Like it! I feel sometimes the ball doesn't bounce quite like I'd expect (off the ... bats?..), however it kinda reminds me of when I played pokemon pinball, nice times!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:19am

Good pinball game with attractive graphic and audio setting. Laugh out loudly when I see the snowman (I really rated a lot of snowman game these days...hahaha)

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:25am

the gap between the flippers is stupidly big. otherwise its a nice looking game with good sound, and a great theme

Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Overall, well done. My favorite idea is the way you combine a timer and lives, which is not something that happens often in pinball games. The theme is obviously relatable. My only complaint is that the ball never gets going at a good speed, so it feels a bit slow and you never really feel frantic/stressed, but that's mainly just a tuning issue (and a 'feel' issue, you may have wanted it that way).

Benjamin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:39pm

This is a great game. The LD theme is thematic is really well done. Some comments :
- The bumpers dont seems bumpy enough. Dont really know if they need more force, more animation or another sfx but they dont looks like bumper right now
- If you hold shift and the ball fall on a bat, the bat moves end send back your ball even if you keep holding the key.
- Maybe I miss it but there's no light to show you when coffee is active.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:45pm

I enjoyed this! I loved that time slows down when you get coffee, and the graphics bumper is slowly drawing a little house! Nice little game, and just as frustrating as any other digital pinball game I've played! Nice work.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:16pm

You've captured the classic pinball feel here so well, especially with the graphics and sound! Fantastic job on that.

That said, I think the table design could use some work. The angles where things are placed seem to make the ball drop straight between the flippers quite often, there really isn't much to hit in the middle, it lacks some kind of loop to hit the ball around (not essential but a lot of tables have them) and it's hard to loft the ball in any meaningful direction using the bottom flippers.
Most importantly, everything needs a little more snap and weight to it. The ball is a little too slow and light, and the bumpers should probably push back more aggressively when they're hit.
Don't take those criticisms as a sign that you did a bad job, though. This is really wonderful for 72 hours and I played it for a long time.

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:12am

Very good entry!I love pinballs!Great job!

Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:02pm

I have been wanting to make game like this. As a child into boards with wood, nails, gums and tweezers. Good start. I hope you continue.

wavertron says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:56am

Not too innovative, but a really solid game. I quite liked the audio.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Pretty solid Pinball game, probably not the best idea to use the shift keys for paddles as you get sticky keys.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]