Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

ColorBlocks

by kiiro94 - Compo Entry

A little puzzle game about colored blocks.

Align three blocks of the same color to destroy them.
Survive as much as you can!

--Sound is a little buggy in web version--

Controls:
Left mouse button to rotate / advance text
Right mouse button to skip tutorial

Software used:

-Programming, graphics: Game Maker Studio
-Music, effects: Reaper

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#51Audio3.84
#81Mood3.66
#187Fun3.54
#254Overall3.52
#392Innovation3.35
#563Graphics3.09
#780Humor2.17
#950Theme3.24

Comments

rzfmzn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:54am

Liked it. But for gameplay you could use both buttons (rotate right/left)

Catwheel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:57am

Was pretty cool! I really liked the mood of the game and the idea. I have noticed that spinning while collecting blocks, sometimes causes you to lose. Anyways, cool game!

kiiro94 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:01am

@Catwheel yep, that was why I said in the tutorial that you have to be accurate :D

olligobber says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:10am

Fun, challenging and simple. Love it.

adrianulima says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:11am

nice music and very fun game.. I also tried to rotate left xD
great job

donan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:12am

Simple yet fun. Nice game :D
You should make it a mobile game ^^

Lolwned says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:18am

Very soothing game I love it. Could make a great mobile game.

eruditespirit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:28am

Quite nice game, I think I'd have liked it a bit more if it was a lot faster, for both the tutorial and the actual game.

unnamed1334 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:50pm

A short but well put together game. My only complaint is that there are a few bugs when rotating such as squares not showing up if they are grabbed.

Zettelkasten says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Very nice and relaxing game after a hard day playing LD games! Good job!

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Cool game! The collision detection is so unforgiving haha.

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Great audio. Nice little game.

Liam :D says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:49pm

A very good entry! I enjoyed it a lot. Has a... super hexagon + audiosurf vibe to it, which I like. Anyway, I just thought I'd say that I am not completely convinced by the game over condition, which is triggered if you are hit while mid rotation. I understand the thinking behind it, I just think the game would be even better with more squares to attach to you, and without that game over condition. Just my 2 cents.

mutuware says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Good work on the audio!
Pacing could use some work, a bit slow.

SirJavaGaming says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Awesome music, nice graphics, greate idea

Belvar says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Fun game, like Hextris but with a square :D Could be great on mobile.

eckcz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:53pm

I love games that requires hand-eye coordination.

skeeto says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Wonderful use of audio to create mood. This has the best mood of any game I've seen so far. Relaxing game.

As others have noted, not being able to turn counter-clockwise feels like an odd omission from the controls. It's part of what makes the game feel incomplete.

bigbazwa says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:28am

Very fitting music, game was relaxing.

Me4502 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:40am

This game is great, I like how simple yet fun it is.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Nice innovation, very nice audio. Unfortunately the game sometimes resets if you collect a block while spinning.

kalugny says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Very nice variation on the match-3 genre. Also, the tutorial was spot-on!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Very cool game, could probably use a difficulty increase over time, or more cubes to rotate with more colors?

SoulGame says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Cool game, with nice mood (I love the audio :)). Maybe you could add a 5th color to make a little harder. But I've seen the concept on many other places so I can't put a good score on innovation :/

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Nifty game, quite fun! I really like the minimalist aesthetics with the backgrounds and box-particles, really complements the elegant mechanic. Great work!

blzkz says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 10:39am

I like it! Very fun :)

01rafael says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 11:04am

So great minimalistic concept! Fantastic game!

anael says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 11:25am

i like it, nice sound and simple effective idea, congrats !

eusekerci says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 12:03pm

really good idea. But its a lit easy. And I dont get how the game end?

pht59x says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Superb gameplay idea and lovely sound atmosphere. Great time waster. How do you win?

Dec 28, 2014 @ 6:50am

Nice casual game with a relaxing audio.

kiiro94 says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 1:34pm

@eusekerci
@pht59x

There's not an ending, it'a score attack game :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]