Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Zroom

by c2v4 - Compo Entry

A fancy platformer with incredible animation. If you can see well enough you can actually see entire game on one screen.

Made with LibGDX in JAVA so as you can imagine it requires it to play.

Graphics-pyxel edit
Maps-tiled
Audio-bfxr
Music-gxscc

Movement-arrow keys

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#444Theme3.68
#500Humor2.56
#506Audio2.81
#666Fun2.97
#735Innovation2.89
#754Mood2.70
#781Overall2.98
#1012Graphics2.36

Comments

c2v4 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:05am

I forgot to write :) This was actually my 1st gamejam, and I think I will be here more often :D It was a pleasure to take part in it, thou I am so tired right now. See you soon :D

Sim00n says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:46am

Great use of the theme and nice game mechanics. Some of the levels seem tough but it only strengthens the game. I like the door animations.
I found one bug here: http://i.imgur.com/mJinyKZ.png

Kamehas says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:23am

Watched his stream for long hours, great job tho. Frustration level seems to a feature instead of bug! :D

See ya in next LD @c2v4 ^_^

c2v4 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Bug is fixed!

ianb96 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:15pm

had some issues with speed and acceleration, but not bad overall

efux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:24pm

The music is great! A little bit frustrating sometimes, but I enjoyed playing it.

jellyislovely says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:25pm

I love how the floaty physics play into the whole trippy nature of the game. Highly frustrating and difficult! Well done :D

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:28pm

I really like the way the rooms zoom out, really good mechanic idea!
The movements are a bit slow maybe and the inertia is a bit too exagerated, it makes it tricky to master the jumps and can be straighforward frustrating when you end up getting out of the screen

Good job for a first submission though!

mauris says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Amazingly addicting! Finished the game, it wasn't too hard once you understand acceleration:) Jumping sound is a little annoying, but music is awesome! ...and timer is twitching around too much.

Zayron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Frustration level was hard but I beat the game. Good job!

Asado says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Great idea dude! Loved it. Played until frustration level, where I gave up. Overall, quite fun. The acceleration of the character is just crazy though. You could have made it more arcady as in it stops moving when you let go of the keys. A great feature to add would be the ability to save the level you were on and continue from there. I love how you worked around the theme and I will probably keep this game.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Nice work, especially for your first jam! I enjoyed this, especially the mind bending zooming. Very nice!

talecrafter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:54pm

"Be patient".
I try to, but those jumping mechanics and I always land right on the spikes..
Strangeley enough, I kept on.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Interesting "recursion". Nice game! :D

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Don't bloody tell me to be patient! Insufferable game!

Seriously though, Nice game, although I really didn't like how the character moved. I know it's by design, so maybe it's just me, but I didn't like it :P
Other than that, I can't really add to the comments already committed. Well done!

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Great job! I like the take on the theme! The controls makes everything a little harder than in should in my opinion, but it was fun nonetheless!
First jam here too :)

Mokosha says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Good job! I really liked the idea of the "single screen" going with you between levels. I couldn't get past the level with the spikes, though. Falling off the level was a real problem!

Odefus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:50pm

The frustration is real. Having to watch the zoom out animation every time you die became pretty jarring after a couple of times. Would have liked just a quick restart of the level instead. Nice take on the theme though and overall a nice game. I did beat it eventually.

error031 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Loved way that scenes switch, all in all fun game.

Aglavra says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:44pm

I liked how you used the theme... But played the game for a while, and can say, that there are two problems, that make the gameplay too difficult: 1) You can fall off screen bounds 2) Jumping is weird (like the gravity is too small)

stray says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:42pm

It's really addictive/ goodjob buddy :D

floorman says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Nice use of the theme, really good idea with the screen zooming out. Graphics were ok, sounds kinda annoying. Overall though it was quite a fun game!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Nice take on the theme.
Gravity is a bit weak IMHO.

billrizer says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Well fitted with the theme - quite the creative game :)

rjhunter says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Interesting idea!

I got stuck on the "Be Patient" level for ages until I figured out that I could stand on air for a while, like a cartoon character running off a cliff :-) The next level stopped me in my tracks, though.

I found the music a little too quiet compared to the sound effects (or the sound effects too loud compared to the music).

Plenty of variety in the level graphics!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]