Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Whole Life On One Screen

by Demy - Jam Entry

This is a story about freelancer, blogger and gamer at the same time.
Have fun with writing blog posts, participating in MMO raids (8 p.m. each day), working and relaxing playing shooter. And don't forget to sleep well sometimes.

The idea was to use theme as a description of situation - literally, all character's life on his own PC screen.

(Well, it doesn't actually look finished - i really want to add some endings, like money loss and blog fail, and some achievements connected with different activities. And text quests. Chatting with friend... Ah, so much things to do. Anyway, i love the way it looks now, so have fun.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#27Theme(Jam)4.33
#59Innovation(Jam)3.95
#311Humor(Jam)2.96
#479Mood(Jam)3.06
#535Graphics(Jam)3.20
#606Overall(Jam)3.09
#821Fun(Jam)2.62

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:55am

Kinda random, but good use with the theme.

PoQA Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:56am

Neat idea!

Kain.Oborin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:58am

I am not going to lie... I absolutely love this game. I don't know why. I don't what is causing me to love it so much... but I do. The style, the art, the substance, the balance. I love it. Thank you very much for making this game!

davient says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:13am

Great Idea! Unfortunately it seems that I cannot run the different game programs cos the browsewr keeps appearing :(

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:15am

Simultaneously creative, depressing, and funny. Nice work on the random interfaces -- I think I noticed being able to drag part of a web browser around for example. I cracked up when I saw the MMO chat scrolling.

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:41pm

This is definitely fun, though it also feels incomplete. I'd love to see more added to it. You definitely have a good thing with the desktop interface; the blog/search thing is neat, and the MMO chat is pretty amusing! So, good work. ;)

folmerkelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Great interpretation of the theme, this is not my kind of game usually but I found myself wanting to keep going, so well done on keeping me hooked in :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Interesting game. Took the theme in an interesting way.

Vaclav says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Well done! This is similar to my game, but with more features and better graphics. Wish it had an ending though.

rainshapes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:24pm

I love that you added a boot-up screen with loading drivers. Really shows attention to detail!

Asaratha says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Interesting game, but on Day 2 I couldn't click on anything and it was quite obnoxious.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Very original. It's kind of purposeless but I like to think of it as a freelance roguelike ;)
Great job on the design, felt like a real OS

Ossi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:58am

Very cool concept, and I loved the personal feel to it. You captured the "whole life on one screen" moments fairly well. With more polish this could be a really cool management type game where you could possibly expand to becoming a successful blogger or something along those lines. Well done!

NoahbroCZ says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Very good idea! Check my game too: President's bodyguard simulator.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Neat idea, but not really fun at the moment(will be with some polishing). Very innovative.
Mood is awesome, you really did a good job on all the stuff you made!

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Cool idea. This is sort of what my day is like. But you forgot the solitaire!

2Bit says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:36am

New and interesting. Cool game!

Sublustris says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:47am

Heh.. game about frustrating gamers:) Nice :)

adrianulima says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:08pm

very nice game!!! congrats

nokusu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:47am

I like it, i found it just a bit random but it fits the theme well, gotta love banana browser :p

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Very cool take on the theme. I couldn't run some of the apps, it would just bring up the browser.

Demy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Thank you all for your comments, I wasn't expected so much people will enjoy playing my game. I will fix icons bug soon (wen I'll get home), for now you can click once on shortcut and then click twice. Or just go to sleep (reboot your in-game PC).

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:32pm

I loved this take on the theme, even though as a game it feels a bit incomplete. You really made it feel like a glimpse into someone's PC.

There seems to be some problems with clicking on things after a couple days. Clicking on one icon (like MMORPG) will bring up the Banana Browser instead, for example.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:08pm

The persistence is very cool, but it didn't feel like there was a downside to anything. Working for hours didn't lower my clan rating? Was everyone else in the clan just not doing anything to get better without me? When I played games or worked on the blog money didn't go down? Did I not pay for food, game subscriptions etc?

I didn't get to play for many days bcause eventually no matter what program I tried to open it always opened the banana blog program.

Interesting idea, could use some more polish :)

Demy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Update:
fixed bug with desktop shortcuts,
'afk' message for sleeping now is more understandable,
character stops spamming with it in chat,
chat appears on the top over other windows when character's writing something there.

Demy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:21pm

P.S.: I want so badly add more things like achievements and story, but I feel that doing it before Ludum Dare ends is wrong, so i didn't change anything from gameplay.

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:51pm

nice idea..

JJEvil says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Weird and interesting.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Great use with the theme and generally really nice version of a waiting game!

nesis says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Decent game, I think the main thing to add post-compo would be some clearer in-game feedback that drives the player in some direction, giving them an idea of what behaviour is beneficial and what behaviour is detrimental.

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Slightly addictive, clever use of the theme, great job!

Lynx says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 1:23am

The UI/UX is perfectly done! I love the DOS command line booting screen and how you have to double click to open programs.

Also well done on the "tutorial" it felt like a true website or computer program tutorial that has you click on everything with tooltips to teach you where everything is (remind me of Facebook's tutorial)

One bug I did find was I would say "Afk. I'm too tired guys" in the chat even when I wasn't playing and only did work that morning. That kind of confused me, but that's super minor.

Well done overall, you have a future in UI/UX design

Dec 23, 2014 @ 4:17am

Nice concept! I Included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/fGRz-9CpOIg

Johnro says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 9:58pm

There doesn't seem to be any real sense of progression. Also, I tried shutting down the computer at the same time it logged off automatically and it's stuck at the launch screen.

Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:29pm

*I Included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/fGRz-9CpOIg

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]