Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Elf Hunter

by Kim - Compo Entry

Elf Hunter: Return of Santa is a 3D Top Down Shooter.

Blast the evil elves with your laser and impale them with traps.

Collect christmas presents and prevent the elves from burning them.

2 Game modes: Timed & Survival.

If you can, play the Windows version! (Worked on 2 out of 2 tested computers)

Webplayer has its issues: (when tested on laptop)
Chrome: fullscreen messes UI @ Main menu.
IE: graphics glitch @ Main level in fullscreen.
Worked fine on other computer.

Anyway, hope you enjoy it regardless of the somewhat messy web build :) I had fun making it! (first time LD)

Changelog:
[December 8]
Fixed: Problem with presents not spawning/despawning after playing a while.
Fixed: Weapon not reloading when 0 bullets in mag.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#189Audio3.35
#325Humor2.85
#458Fun3.18
#511Graphics3.15
#529Overall3.22
#586Mood2.90
#714Theme3.49
#904Innovation2.59

Comments

sirival says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:56pm

I LOVED the music :D Couldn't play the Game on my Macbook Air though, the plugin doesn't seem to work on Chrome and in Firefox it didn't look like I could move or anything.. Looks good though!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Reasonably good game. The graphics are well done and the music fits the theme. However, I don't really like the reload mechanic, I understand why, you need to give the player a reason to not shoot, but this is not the right solution for this game I feel. Also, the best (game breaking) strategy is to stay at the fire and let the elves bring the packets to you. You have no reason to pick them up yourself.

Yrasin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Fun game! Not very challenging tho. Could have been more fun if there were more fires for the elves to burn the presents. I also like the music!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Sweet game! Thanks for the comments on my game :)

Kim says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Loving the feedback! so many "facepalms" for not thinking of these things. Thank you all for playing :) Lesson learned = let people test whilst making it. I really didnt test the difficulty much :/ Music was kind of last minute so Im glad you liked it :D

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Very hard! I constantly forgot to reload! Nice graphics.

Akurn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Regarding browsers issues, initial load on Safari had no UI, but then worked after reload, so might help others :)
Fun game, I agree with the reload being a bit weird though, I didn't realise at first, thought it broke. Maybe if it had auto reload, or there was a different noise when trying to shoot with no bullets.

scnoobi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Pretty fun game but the christmas presents despawned way to fast so if you play survival there will only be about 1 present all the time (after playing for a while). They also despawn

Kim says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:37pm

I noticed that while playing it today for a while :/ am I allowed to patch that?

rantt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:33pm

The music/graphics in this were excellent! It does get easy if you stand by the fire but all in all great job I really enjoyed this.

Todnut says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:34pm

I like the top down camera. I was wonder how to do a 3D game on one screen!

paperweight says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Awesome game but I've have concentrated more on hordes and more elve slaughter!

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Solid game! The graphics were pretty polished. Aiming was kind of hard, but enough to be challenging and not frustrating. You should make reloading automatically happen once emptying the clip.

ssheep says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Great game i played a couple rounds and that means its good if i want to play more the graphics were good for the small screen you had but, the only thing i disliked was the reloading mechanism it would be easier if it reloaded on on its own but it took like 5 seconds

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:43am

Really fun! Would love to have some different guns, shotguns are a must-do :P

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:39am

lol great game!
Awesome music!
Wish there were some other modes; this would be cool with some tower defense elements

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Loved the music! Nice game ! Congrats for your first LD! Well done ^^

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Another game in LD where I get to kill elves! Nice job all around.

digibody says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Cannot play. Menu never popped up for me, just stayed stuck on intro screen, nice music though

Kim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:21pm

@digibody sad to hear that :/ try another browser perhaps or download the win version? So far I know it has worked on Chrome, Firefox and Safari.

Lokiman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Congratz on your first LD! You did really well and I like your game :)

Picking loot should be automatic though :D

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:19am

Cool concept, I like the idea! Music was nice as well! Good Job!

ajopart says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Good job there !!

Louisload says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:18pm

ahah the music makes a whole different feeling playing this game, it seems like I'm a badass santa, ready to save the day :DD nice entry! congratulations on your work

Silii says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Giiift *.*

Threstle says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:43pm

nice little top down shooter. ;) I like the idea of elves stealing presents, and santa claus going badass.

AlbertoSM says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:13am

Web version doesn't show the main menu! :(
Please fix that!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:35am

@AlbertoSM could you maybe try another browser? I dont know what to fix really. What I know is that it has worked on IE, Chrome, Firefox, Safari.

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:28am

Fun concept, the shoot sound is awful though.

You can win by staying at spawn point and farming the gift brought back from the elf?

bitserum says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:13am

I didn't really like the reloading, but mostly because it was not easily visible and glancing at my current ammo was often distracting. If it were better displayed I wouldn't mind it much.

Other than that a solid entry, love the music.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:46am

Loved it! I expected to shoot bullets like an idiot, but the reloading thing made it's difficulty considerable.
I also loved the graphics and music. :D
+1 for the different game modes too ;)

Jaloko says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Nice game, the audio was great, Also I liked your models they made me laugh.

kipelovets says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Very good game, extremely fun to play. Models and other graphics are simple, but good enough. I'll play more when I get home)

Shide says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Looks cool, you've managed to do pretty much in 2 days. Simple and addictive game. We've updated the link to our game, so you can check it now

Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:39am

Nice idea, but i missed more smooth controls and more challenging elves - they could attack or make it harder for santa to kill them. Good job!

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Fun concept, this could be cool with different obstacles, powerups, and different enemy types. I think you should increase the player and enemy size. It's sometimes hard to see the elves and even harder to hit them with your shots. I love the Christmas theme though.

Lynx says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:24am

Game has some potential, I found the elf AI was really fast straight off the bat though, but not a game killer. I did phase through a wall once, but that might just be a rare bug

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:16pm

The reload thing was a bit frustrating- How about adding ammo you can pick up instead? - Aside from that a fun game, with a nice graphics style.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]