Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Bejailed

by bufferoverflow - Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare entry! It was terrifying and exhausting and I can't wait to do it all again in a few months!

A match-3, actiony, dungeon-crawly hybrid. You've been "Bejailed" and need to escape but the only way out seems to be by matching three 3 purple rooms.

My original idea was to try and find way to do a dungeon-crawly roguelike type thing with only one screen. I thought it would be cool if the player always stayed on screen and the rooms configured around them. Once I had a 3x3 grid going a match 3 game only seemed natural.


W,A,S,D to move

Left Mouse to fire gun

Right Mouse to use freezing gun

Stay in the yellow diamonds to activate a room

Three adjacent activated rooms clear giving a bonus depending on the last room cleared

Clear three matching rooms for a bonus

New rooms spawn and old rooms move down to fill cleared space

Clear three purple rooms in one go to escape

Don't die!

Good Luck

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#85Humor3.54
#102Audio3.58
#111Innovation3.91
#222Overall3.56
#270Fun3.41
#271Theme3.84
#371Mood3.14
#746Graphics2.78

Comments

Xenolupus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:56am

404 not found!

misto423 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:03am

Yea the web one wasn't working - 404 not found :(

crewderek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:04am

404

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:05am

Sorry, forgot to hit publish on itch. All good now!

tigerbyte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:06am

Web and Windows links are broken. Concept is super intriguing so I'll bookmark this one and come back to it hoping the links are fixed! :)

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:09am

Really cool mechanic. Sound was good too: normally people recording their voice for sound effects doesn't sound great but you pulled it off well!

Muffinhat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:10am

Pretty awesome for your first entry. I like how you combine top down shooters with Bejeweled-like mechanics.

tigerbyte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:11am

Oh my god the music is hilarious. The sound effects in general are just great. I love that the enemies try to push you off of the center to activate the room.
Definitely polish this one up. It's worth another look.

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Great music! Is it your voice? I like the shooting animation, and all kind of different enemies. I was surprised how the can interact with player. Very good entry!

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:56pm

The sound rocks :-D Nice idea.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Really cool!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:39pm

web one worked for me.

it's really hard. the purple square just would not die.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:20pm

I have to admit I found the music hilarious. Neat game idea as well.

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:46pm

This is a really cool idea, but it suffers from some technical problems in the implementations. The most noticeable is the fact that you can't move fluidly along walls. I would frequently get stuck trying to get out of a room, hanging up on a corner, or just grinding to a halt because I tried to move along a wall. Combine that with the fact that due to their size, the enemies are more difficult to hit than is common in these types of games, and the game ended up being much harder than it needed to.

There were also some issues with the way the rooms would line up, specifically when fire rooms are adjacent. In several cases, there would be rooms lined up that you could not traverse through because there was never a clear opening due to the fire walls always being on (much like in your screenshot). It's a cool concept, and I would like to try and beat it, but as it stands it's just too punishing to go back to.

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:04am

We played your game in our first LD game review!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EKO6wvKJawA
Loved it, it was very challenging

Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:11pm

great soundtrack ahaha gameplay was a bit hard to understand, the game needs a bit of a tutorial. Overall cool entry

billrizer says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Cute SFX - interesting idea

01rafael says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:39am

Game is great and so addictive! I like it!

cxsquared says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:07am

Really cool and unique idea. Super hard bur really fun. Good work.

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:08am

Awesome idea, though it was definitely too difficult. I'd like to see this game with less enemies right off the bat. Also it's a bit harsh that an enemy can pin you against the wall and continuously deal damage. I think you could get away with the enemies not colliding with the player.

Insality says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:27am

haha, nice music :)
nice idea and rly fun implementation, gj!

mohammad says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:22am

Awesome first game, keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]