Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Zeta Strike

by MjSpeCter - Jam Entry

IMPORTANT NOTES BEFORE STARTING: TURN DOWN VOLUME TO 25%,GAME VOLUME IT'S ALWAYS MAXED OUT... FOR NOW!
WHEN RESTARTING GAME AFTER "GAME OVER". CLICK "RESTART" TO RESET THE GAME THEN CLICK "BEGIN".



UPDATES*:
__________________________________________________________
v2: -Re-uploaded to fix menu graphics glitch.

v3: -Fixes several animation pop in errors.

v4: -Fixes enemies pointing wrong direction, adds Linux support
-Adds Mac OS Support.
-Adds web support (Kongregate.com)



Hello everyone! Artist here, and I would like to Kill the Download button and play!

Zeta Strike is an arcade twin stick shooter made for Ludum Dare 31 by New Light Gaming. Set in an apocalyptic, abandoned world, survive as many waves of enemies as possible before being overwhelmed. Gather new weapons, increase your health and armour, and see how long you would last during a Zeta Strike.

Credits:

Developed & Published by: New Light Gaming

Programmer: Daniel McVicar
Artist: Sukhmeet Dhamrait
Artist: Dominic Clarke
Sound Artist: Alex Manolakos
Creative Designer: Woosle Park

If you enjoyed it, please share and we will see you all next time!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#429Audio(Jam)2.90
#511Fun(Jam)3.03
#538Graphics(Jam)3.19
#596Overall(Jam)3.10
#631Theme(Jam)3.41
#644Mood(Jam)2.85
#672Humor(Jam)2.25
#800Innovation(Jam)2.53

Comments

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:01am

Nice entry :)

Snuux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Cool games and particles are - exellent!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Looks pretty cool. Any chance for a mac release?

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Nice game, it gets quite hard!

apiotrw says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:05am

I think that the visuals look too incoherent

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:08am

I like it, nice particle system implemented too! Slightly repetitive for me though, probably because I don't usually play these kinds of games.

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:16am

Decently fun, I went for a good six or so rounds before dying. Some weapons are detrimental to pick up which can be frustrating (such as the sword, which doesn't seem to ever be useful due to it's range.) I would at least resolve that by letting the player pick up their previous weapon.

Otherwise, I think you could have benefited from introducing the different enemies throughout the levels rather than all at once.

MjSpeCter says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:30am

Thank you all for trying out the game and for the reply's!

@Apiotrw I am defiantly thinking of changing some things in terms of visuals (Background, lighting effects and adding obstacles) but I do not think I can further implement those changes for the LD entry (Only bug fixes the rules state.. I think)

@Pickens Inc. No you are actually totally right. We were planning on a night/day cycle with a number of different enemies in each but unfortunatly we did not have the time xc. Doesn't mean we won't make the changes, though :P

@CMWeissMedia I have the same frustration on my side, I think we will try and fix that (If the rules allow us to), also the randomized enemies. Also, I will request the Sniper Tank's Bullets to shoot faster.

Mac OS version is released as requested. Again everyone, thank you for the rating and feedback!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:46am

Cool!

sorlok says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:33am

A solid game, lots of fun. I found the reload button to be a bit finnicky, but otherwise good job!

thopis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:22am

Very nice!Enjoyable!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:11am

Cool. I would have liked some additional weapons though!

Code White says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Awesome work - feels complete.

Hob623 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:04am

Achieves what it sets out to do very tidily, and although I don't normally play games like this it was entertaining. Good work!

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Fun game. Had fun with it.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Fun little twin-stick shooter, gameplay was fine, although I personally really didn't like the having to reload - I'm not sure it suits this sort of game very well. Graphics were decent. I liked the fact you had multiple music tracks, even if they were a bit of a tour of Toxic Biohazard's presets. (no worries, I'm guilty of it too!)

baseteam says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 11:27am

as for me that is hard game)

Insality says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:34am

Nice work, had fun ;]
Sweety graphics here, gj

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]