Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

SMBH (Survival Meets Bullet Hell)

by Coolway99 - Compo Entry

UPDATE: Fixed Sound.

Just an idea I had. May not be executed to PERFECTION. But I think it turned out great. What I wanted to add: Bombs, Rotating Ships, and more transitions.

Note: There is occasionally a transition that will always kill you, sorry :/

UPDATE: Fixed the transition that will always kill you. Hopefully

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#350Theme3.76
#652Innovation3.00
#749Overall3.00
#752Fun2.88
#777Mood2.67
#993Graphics2.40
#1695Coolness40%

Comments

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:24am

I didn't really understand what was going on, or what I meant to do, but it was an ok game.

rallebauz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:28pm

I really like the gameplay, like a battle arena. The sprites are quite small and makes it hard to hit the enemies. Overall I like it.

flatgub says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Cute little game, shame there's no sound though...

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:33pm

The graphics and sound obviously are a problem, but other than that, once you get a bit of practice, the game's really rather fun.

burnedkirby says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:39pm

The changing background fading from green to red is pretty neat. I kind of wish there was more of that going on.

Funny to see enemies accidentally killing each other, and funnier still to get killed by running into my own bullet.

It's hard to avoid enemies since they're wired to chase you down but meh.

There should be an incrementing timer to see how long you survive and use that for a high score system. That would be neat.

eckcz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:39pm

With;
- Different bullet colors for enemy and player;
- Faster movement speed for player;
- Sound. Like piuw piuw POW POW BAAMMMM piuwwewww.
This will be a great game. I love bullet hells. Yeah imagine it piuw piuw madafaka YEAH!

Quikding says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:49am

Quite difficult to play. I can see that I'm moving around the pink triangles with the keyboard. Am I creating bullets and also avoiding them?

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:40pm

eckcz: Your own bullets can kill you and enemy bullets can kill them. There's no difference between the two so why colour them differently?

Coolway99 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:21am

I fixed sound. If anyone reads this but has already played the game, might I suggest adding a rating to the "audio" catagory

CrefossusJam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Fairly fun use of the play area. The enemy color blends into the pink a bit too much. The spawn needs more warning, perhaps an animation so you can move out. Also maybe your bullets and theirs could be different?

Nice graphics and sfx for the survival play area change.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:27pm

The sounds are great. Maybe add a highscore and just one or two upgrades and the game is finished ;)

Newt_ says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Nice work! Fun bullet dodge game!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:52pm

I killed myself by shooting and moving diagonally in the same direction.

Like the idea of shifting safe zones, and it could be improved by simply having more pattern types.

StrayCat says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:26am

The enemies are a bit too small for me and didn't understand the zone idea took well... I did figure after the third try that the enemies were too smart and trying to dodge was a waste, so after the third try I just went shooting maddly in circles!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:30pm

nice, I didn't quite like the color scheme, but it's a cool retro style shooter

sorlok says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:20am

I liked it! Very solid controls, although the white-on-green text was a bit hard to read. Like how the enemies' shots could kill their friends, as it was the only way for you to attack. You could definitely do some cool story-telling with this game!

lxd1 says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 2:02am

Fun

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]