Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Ice Blocks

by Troilk - Jam Entry

Match 3 game modification with damageable blocks.
!!! Unfinished. Only 6 first levels are working.

P.S. Seems like some GUI elements sometimes disappear, must be some Unity 4.6 bug, try reloading page if it seems that some buttons are missing :)

https://twitter.com/Troilk
https://www.facebook.com/vitaliy.maslikov

☃ Used Assets ☃

Art
Kenney Donation Pack (www.kenney.nl) / CC0
Cartoon Mobile Rounded Icon Buttons by GDquest / CC0
http://opengameart.org/content/cartoon-mobile-rounded-icon-buttons

Fonts
CarterOne.ttf: Copyright (c) 2011 by Vernon Adams. All rights reserved. / SIL Open Font License, 1.1

Music and Sounds
"Jingle Bells" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/
glass25.flac by Craxic / CC BY 3.0
(https://www.freesound.org/people/Craxic/sounds/204699/)
Glass Break by Tobiasz 'unfa' Karoń / CC BY 3.0
(https://www.freesound.org/people/unfa/sounds/221528/)
weissbier1.aif by de-rez / CC BY 3.0
(https://www.freesound.org/people/de-rez/sounds/100737/)
Ice in glass 7.wav by S. Dedalus / CC BY 3.0
(https://www.freesound.org/people/S.%20Dedalus/sounds/211164/)
Rubber band snap from http://www.freesfx.co.uk / License: http://www.freesfx.co.uk/info/eula/
(http://www.freesfx.co.uk/rx2/mp3s/5/5450_1335188019.mp3)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#374Innovation(Jam)3.23
#397Fun(Jam)3.19
#593Mood(Jam)2.92
#679Overall(Jam)3.00
#736Humor(Jam)2.11
#927Theme(Jam)2.80

Comments

raincole says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:39pm

It's pretty innovative!
Much harder than I expected. Took me some time to pass even level 1.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:43pm

It took a while for me to understand the mechanics but once I did it was actually quite fun! For these cases it's really important to have introductory levels which is trivial but gets you accustomed to the mechanics. Nicely packaged game overall!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Took a couple tried to get past level 1, and the farthest I made it was level 3. Good puzzle mechanics!

Linkigi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:49pm

This is a fantastic take on the match 3 genre. The damageable blocks mechanic makes for some very interesting and rewarding puzzles. I think the scoring system is good but needs a bit more refining, I feel like I'm awarded too many points for matching green blocks for example. Nevertheless, I didn't want to stop playing when the game ended so that alone is a very good achievement =D

vairse says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:37am

Neat puzzle game. I liked the twist of damaging the blocks.

Zi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:06am

Really cool game! =) The learning curve is really steep though!

wilpel1234 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Good job!

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Hi! I'm a Linux user, and we don't have Unity Webplayer support. To reach the widest audience with your Unity games, please provide download builds in addition to web. ^o^//

Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:07am

Pretty simple idea, but well executed. Very polished. Feels a lot like a mobile game.

d3garcia says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:07am

Excellent game, I really like your concept.

Crushenator says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:11am

I'm a puzzle game fan. This was cool.

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:15am

this is better then i expected after reading the description. great polish and a fun game. though i didn't quite figure out the scoring, and how i was getting the 3 stars.

pht59x says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 7:26am

Instructions are too wordy: a couple of easy introductory levels would be better. Funny mechanic after getting used to the rules. "Jingle Bells" got on my nerves after a while (I could not switch it off).

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]