Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Nanaina

by Steffan 'Ruirize' James - Compo Entry

Average game time: 10 minutes (You will know when you're close to ending)

You woke to find yourself in a dimly lit cave. Dotted around you are sparkling minerals, illuminating only a little of the cave. There's a vague smell of carbon in the air.

Explore the shifting dungeon of Nanaina to try and discover fire - if you don't get lost, that is.

Being ported to Linux/Mac soon!

Requires: OpenAL (Installer included)
Controls: WASD + Space (Hold S to drop through platforms)

Future plans:
- Once fire retrieved, find the exit.
- Items/Powerups to "pin" rooms and increase sight range/ jumping abilities.

Known issues:
- Sometimes you can spawn with no exit. (Getting stuck outside the spawn is okay)

Story behind the name:
Nanaina is Hawaiian for "Sight" or "Vision".
It just so happened that I was wearing a Hawaiian shirt whilst programming this game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#438Graphics3.27
#472Mood3.00
#628Innovation3.04
#785Audio2.28
#802Theme3.40
#822Humor2.06
#850Overall2.91
#916Fun2.67

Comments

v01pe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Screenshot looks very interesting, unfortunately i'm not on Windows…

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:25am

@v01pe - I'm working on getting it ported to Linux!

Indieindio says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:51am

great linux!

loopinlouie says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:52am

couldn't get it to run on Windows 7, would sit there waiting at startup for a bit then crash with an error.

holgk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:52am

The character was a bit tiny. I know it's hard get everything on screen but with some distance to you monitor the character is hard to see.

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:56am

Good game, a little frustrating to have double jump for nearly every jump though.

cyrus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:57am

I like the graphics and the shading :) very similar to terraria.

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:57am

Enigmatic art style. Cool game mechanic. It took me a long time to figure out that the world was changing. Double jump was tough.

Chris Delta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:01am

The whole game is gorgeous. I really like the mood created by the world changing when you look away, and I really like the way the lighting works. I hate to plug myself, but you and I actually did something moderately similar, and I think you might find my game worth checking out. Just a thought.

prymidion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:04am

I liked the feel of the game-- very shadowy. The random generation is pretty cool too. Sometimes I got stuck, though-- which was frustrating with no way to restart.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:11am

Nice mood. But like you said, sometimes there is no exit which can be frustrating. To bad no arrows controll too.
But overally nice game.

davient says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:23am

Fun! Would love the controls to be on the right hand though. Didn't find fire, eventually got stuck in a section where the world wouldn't change around me. Love the concept.

LexGear says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:25am

Lonely mac user :(

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:27am

@LexGear - Definitely porting to Mac too!
Switching from MonoGame to Love2D.

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Like the art style.

Jaenis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Is it just me or can't one jump over two block wall? Gameplay was quite hard because of that, basically I could only go downwards... Otherwise the game felt solid

tomdeal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:58pm

I think the basic idea is interesting, though the random generated levels did cause a lot of confusion for me. Ditch the double jump and make a variable normal jump, then it will have a better flow

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:59pm

I got lost.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Pretty cool idea. Seemed like you always needed to double jump though. Cool entry.

Atridas says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:09pm

I love the way the level is morphing while you move, althoug I had to reset the game 2 times bcs I was trapped :-/

Controls a little bit rought to, but nothing to be ashamed of :D

The music and the graphics (moving shadow, for example) set a gread mood.

Good work :D

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:19pm

I liked the idea that unlit rooms change over the time :) Also the lightning effects were cool. Double jump was a bit tough.

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Nice lighting effects, the controls take a bit to get used to. I liked it.

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Nice platformer. Liked how the room changed but I must agree with other that double jump was a bit hard

Mekuri says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Nice graphics and great idea. The jumping was a bit anoying, especially because there were a lot of jump were there was no margin for error on the jumping. Being hard is not an issue, but there were a lot of jumping :P
Anyways aside from that- I loved the graphics and the way you handled the lighting!

ketura says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Double jump is annoying, as others have mentioned. The randomly generated rooms sometimes resulted in sections that could not be jumped past, like a series of sections required to get upwards that were only 1x1 spaces, and thus too small to jump in. Nice concept, though.

flegmatical says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:41pm

I liked the premise of a world that is changing in the shadows, and you followed the theme well! A bit frustrating controls, and I also got stuck with no exit and no way back. Also would have been cool with some atmospheric music/ambience to really set the mood.

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:52pm

I liked the randomness and the shadowing, but didnt know where to go, I think there is good chance you will get stuck.
sounds was a bit annoying

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:04pm

I was unsure about what I was supposed to be doing, but I like how the level changes, very cool mechanic

rabbit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Really nice lighting engine! I could never get stuff like that to work right, haha.

Shackhal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:04pm

The game is good and the "room" randomness system, even if needs some improvements, is great.

Still, the graphics are simple (including the character, who looks as the one in Minecraft), the double jump is annoying and sometimes you get trapped on a room because the way out is just too small to enter there (that's one of the improvements to the room system).

Overall, it's good for me :)

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:47pm

awesome game! :D I love it

flatgub says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:18am

Very atmospheric

whilefun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:05am

I liked the mood of the game. I was not sure where to go exactly, so I think I went everywhere, but didn't see a way to complete a task. The double jumping was really hard to do, which was a bit frustrating.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Interesting concept. Very fun game.

davidB says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 12:04pm

I fall, can't jump to escape -> Quit + Relaunch. Lot of frustration. Level generation need some adjustment.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]