Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Coin Collector™

by KeeperofBee - Jam Entry

Coin Collector™ is a game about collecting all the coins think pacman with action, in order to collect these coins guarded by enemies(red cubes) you have to utilize different traps(SlowDown, Spikes and Blockades). Slowdown slows down you enemies allowing you to run away or spikes to do more damage(as they do damage over time), blockades will trap enemies if placed on top of them and walking into them will cause you to teleport to the other side of the block, blockades also blocks fireballs shot by enemies. Spikes deal damage over time allowing you to kill enemies. In order to win one must collect all the coins!. Also did I mention placing traps cost coins? Well, Spikes cost ~54 Coins, Slowdown ~24 Coins and Blockades ~34 Coins. Enjoy!
Also I didn't add any in game ui to make the game harder as you can't just spam traps and expect to have them forever. *Evil Laugh*. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#171Theme(Jam)3.94
#277Fun(Jam)3.35
#408Overall(Jam)3.32
#504Mood(Jam)3.03
#582Innovation(Jam)2.92
#612Graphics(Jam)3.05
#651Humor(Jam)2.30

Comments

lycrashampoo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:43am

Fun idea, awesome font choice, too much slowdown on my crappy laptop to play. :(

KeeperofBee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:57pm

@lycrashampoo I'm hoping to be able to switch to a compiler which will make the game work faster if I can only get windows sdk installed ;)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:37pm

An overall really enjoyable experience. Maybe it's the awesome music choice but this is a game I could easily waste an afternoon playing!

cid12 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Awesome really cool game

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Pretty nice graphic style. Great work!

Odefus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:03pm

I like the graphics and the music is pretty chill. I feel the game would benefit from having some kind of a HUD even if its just a simple healthbar especially since there is no feedback when you take damage. At first I thought I was invincible as you can tank up quite a bit of damage before you lose the game. Fun game though.

tielbyrd says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Fun little game! I do think there needs to be some kind of health bar, though. I'd be nice to know how close I am to dying than just losing all of a sudden.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Pretty fun, nice job. Would have liked some sort of indicator for health.

Louisload says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:31pm

fun and fast-paced entry, although I didn't knew how much life I got left, i was just this close to get all the coins and then I lost ):

floorman says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Found this game pretty hard. But still really fun! I loved the TV-style screen effect. Looks really cool.

Nice game. =D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:06pm

nice idea, i dont understand how it can be challenging, but it was nice to play

ilokimo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Good mood and interesting concept. I would have given a good sound rating ;D!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:40pm

enjoyable game but I had no idea how much HP I had left. Nice themed graphics though!

Wilou1428 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Make fire balls hit harder because I've collected all the coins no problem and though that I was immortal. But the game seems cool :D

Jadernak says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Loving the music, fun and fast-paced but could be a little bit harder :)

KeeperofBee says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:28pm

@Jadernak I actually made it a bit harder with better smart ai, but it had a memory leak which I fixed like 0.5 h after time was up so I couldn't post it :/

marsermd says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Nice style, but i don't really understand why do I slow down/speed up. And i can't tell how much lifes do I have left. THe game is nice though)

Lovelock says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:58am

Very solid retro feel! The screen effect and the audio make me feel like I'm playing this at some arcade in the 90s. I must have been getting into it because I cursed out loud when I died. Fun game!

AndresGames says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Well done! I really like the concept of the game. Ended up just putting spikes next to blockades on the doors and letting them kill themselves. Consider adding a timer so as to discourage this way of playing. Also consider making the traps more expensive. Good job though

nbilyk says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 4:22am

a nod to pac-man. Needs some polish on the controls (needs to be able to hold more than one arrow key at a time). Needs more visual feedback. I liked that the flow of how things chased you and the dots magnetized to you.

Dec 21, 2014 @ 4:28am

This game really needs a UI and more player feedback. I spent most of my time running around trying to figure out how everything functioned on its own and how to determine where I was in terms of actually -hitting- enemies and how low I was getting on life. I had no idea if I could gather items to gain life back (whether or not the blue dots were, I couldn't tell because there was no player feedback to indicate so). The only item I picked up that I immediately realized what it did was the magnet.

There needs to be a bit more of a visual example as to what you're setting down other than color. The only player feedback I got was with the blockade actively blocking the enemies and fireballs. I had no idea if the other ones were working... there was no sound or flash or anything.

The music was good, though! Really nice chiptune. The CRT monitor effects were neat, too. The game overall needs a LOT of work though. :(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]