Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Maze Race

by UrbanHelsing - Jam Entry

MAZE RACE

A game created for Ludum Dare 31 - 2014-12-08

IMPOSSIBLE-Multiplayer-Labyrinth-Racing game


Controls:

Player 1: Up, down, left, right
Player 2: W, A, S, D
Player 3: I, J, K, L
Player 4: Numpad 8, Numpad 4, Numpad 5, Numpad 6

Also playable with XBOX360-controller

Credits:
Programming - Erik Hallin
Level design and game idea - Emil Hallin
Art and sound - Fredrik Hallin

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2356Coolness0%

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Literally the worst game ever made. If this is what Ludum Dare is leading people to think gaming is about, I don't want any part of it.

I would offer constructive criticism, but I can only tell you to rethink your entire concept of what a game is. There is not a single positive thing I get from the game.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:17am

Ha, this is exactly what it says on the tin! I appreciate that. :P

Local multiplayer is always a good thing so I'm happy to see this, even if it is impossible. Reminds me a bit of Kururin Squash, but obviously much more unforgiving. I'd actually be really interested to play a version of this with checkpoints.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:55am

Decent enough idea but this game really really needs checkpoints of some sort or some way to progress. In its current version its just frustrating.

erikkire says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Checkpoints are for weak people

Scam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:53pm

This must be the most frustrating LD game I've ever played. Congratulations, if that was you purpose.

I am not against hard games which need a lot of repetition to master but come on, has someone really got that maze through?

Jayson says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:10am

O wow and I thought my game was hard. At least I could finish my own game :P

I really would like to know how far you got? I can't even get through the top part without breaking my screen with my keyboard :D

100% Guaranteed IMPOSSIBLE

Fuchter says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Really fun! I imagine it would be a blast to play with friends. However, it's really simple so it doesn't stick out much.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Wow, some harsh criticism. This game is hard, very hard, but that's not a usually a problem. It's that when you fail, the game is completely throws you back to the beginning with no sense of progression. You get 90% through and die, all progress is stripped away. So there's a few ways to fix this up:
- The obvious answer, one that has been mentioned before is checkpoints. I'm going to guess you don't want that one.
- Make the levels smaller and ramp up by making each a distinct race. Looking at the level, you've got probably 7 or 8 distinct levels in the game design, but because of the theme they are mashed together. Make each one a separate accomplishment so the player gets that punch of endorphins for completing a section and getting one more star over their competitions.
- Make this game much more deviously competitive. I noticed that you can push people into walls to destroy them. Build on that instead. Make the game about sabotaging each other and the level it's a little easier.
- Add some pacing. I noticed you can't stop in the game, but actual racing has a surprising amount stopping and slow time. Let your players stop for a moment to think about the challenge they are facing. This will let the other players catch up and keep the game hectic on the players terms, not the games.


You should watch this "Extra Credits - Difficult Games vs Punishing Games" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ea6UuRTjkKs, it's give you some other ideas on how to make a game hard (which I really like) but not punishing.

maakep says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:17pm

This game is great because it has no checkpoints.

You say you complete 90% and progress is stripped away?
- No, you get the experience and you get better at the game, making you probably be able to reach 91% next time, 94% next time, etc.

Let players stop for a moment to think about the challenge they are facing? We should change the classic snake game so the snake can stop. We should make tetris players be able to slow down time too.

The only thing I'd like to incorporate would be some kind of music sync with the game start, which would be pretty hard considering it's a multiplayer game. And it's a bit rough on the eyes.

We lack games like this today. Today it's all about winning without effort.

I'm making it to around 50% now.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:46pm

okay, let me get the first criticism out of the way - this maze is WAAAY too big for a number of reasons.
First of all, it's a significant eyestrain to have to find your tiny character on such an enormous landscape built out of sharply contrasting colors which are really harsh to look at.
Second, there is just far too much content to expect a player to complete, especially in the brief five to ten minutes that many people try to burn through jam entries in.
This problem of difficulty is made even harsher by the multiplayer component. I played this on my own (and had a rough time doing so) but made sure to test out how two characters could interact with each other. The element of bouncing wildly off of your opponents is an added layer of difficulty that I don't even want to think about having to deal with.
Okay, criticisms out of the way, let me hit on the good stuff.
Firstly, I liked the BGM. I think it would get repetitive after the thirty to forty minutes it might take to complete this game, but it's still a fun song.
Second, the player bouncing is actually a good idea, just not in this particular setting. Many multiplayer games fail to let players directly interact with one another and feel the impact of each other's actions, and the bouncing is a simple and elegant solution to that shockingly common problem.
Leaving character deaths persistent on screen is pretty cool. It lets you easily visualize choke points and feel real satisfaction when you clear them.
Finally, the controls were smartly done for a multiplayer game. Many keyboards have a limit to how many inputs they will process at once, which can be a problem with local multiplayer games where upwards of four keys are being pressed at any given time. By setting a character in motion permanently after just one button press, the issue of overloading the keyboard and creating unresponsive controls is largely reduced.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Oh, and don't listen to CreatorOfWorlds. I'm sure you don't need me to tell you to tune out haters, but I still wanted to offer the advice. Anybody who can't at least pinpoint what they don't like about a game without just objectively calling it "bad" has no idea what they're talking about and isn't really worth hearing.

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Nice game there. I can't make it any further than the spiral :D

Damdoshi says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:22pm

That is cool-Too hard, but cool.
The music is good, the graphics are okay, the concept is nice.

I would prefer it with checkpoints, but if some people want it without, defining a difficulty is certainly possible.

Good job. o/

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]