Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Visibility Zero

by molecats - Jam Entry

You've are an astronaut, stuck on a distant planet. You need to find the Simple Field Emitter parts to fix Communication Device and call for extraction. The good news: the planet is a junkyard, 99% chance to locate needed parts. The bad news: zero visibility. Almost absolute darkness. Pitch black. The only option is to use OneScreen 9000 device.

You have one screen with 3 modes:

1. I-RED - shows heated objects;
2. MGNI - traces the landscape for topology reconstruction (error chance ~12%);
3. SPEC - spectral analysis & scan for valuable resources.

Various modes toggles various visibility. You need to use them all to reach mission objectives. Good luck!

Controls:

WASD+Mouse - walk & look
Shift - run
Space - jump
1 - I-RED mode
2 - MGNI mode
3 - SPEC mode
Q - lower screen
RMB - zoom view
F - Toggle Fullscreen


Created by Molecats.com team for LD31 Jam.
Music by our good friend Mushroomer (http://mushroomer.net/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#30Innovation(Jam)4.10
#30Mood(Jam)4.05
#30Overall(Jam)4.05
#39Graphics(Jam)4.48
#39Theme(Jam)4.29
#43Audio(Jam)3.98
#379Fun(Jam)3.22
#521Humor(Jam)2.56

Comments

TravisChen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:22am

Really pretty game

trenchgames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:25am

Wow. Great atmosphere and level of polish achieved. Cool way to interpret the theme as well.

Jacksendary says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:29am

Wow... Just wow! Great game!

Phaax says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:34am

You dead... :( Awesome game! Really well done!

Taldius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:37am

Awesome work, I love this game so much! One of my favorite so far. You really succed to do something unique with the theme, congratulation!
But the game is still quite difficult xD

daviosmash says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:45am

A very well polished game. Love the take on the theme. Would have liked it more if I had a bit more information as to what was going on, but all things considered - really enjoyed it.

Ken Scott says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:07am

Very good job. I do have some nitpicks.
I died often and had no clue why. Maybe I fell into water that can only be seen with the MGNI scanner, but I was never sure. I also had no clue what was eating me. As elluded to before, the MGNI felt almost useless. I would have preferred some way to see what was right in front of me, even if the range was incredibly short. Still very good work.

thopis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:46am

Personal favorite!Excellent!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:39am

Excellent! Masterpiece! Everything done on high level. Even molecat not just decoration and help to orientate.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:04pm

wow ... interesting view :)
and it fits the jam theme.
thumbs up !

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Very creative. I like it alot.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Really nice and clever. Love the graphics and the mood.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:39pm

very impressive from a technical standpoint, although a little low for my taste. Feels like a cool environment to traverse, and probably a great game for fans of the first-person exploration genre.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:40pm

slow*

guldlock says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:26am

Great game! It looks really cool!

Phask says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:35am

Wow! Just, wow!

TeamEagle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:16pm

looks awesome, very polished feel graphics wise, felt like i was a little in the dark regarding what I was doing though. Since I sometimes thought I saw something, and then felt like I wasn't getting any closer :(

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Any chance of Linux build? (Contact me on Twitter @ViliX64 if yes)

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Awesome game and excellent idea!! One of my favorites so far!!!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Very interesting use of the theme. The problem I had was that I think I kept getting stuck on level geometry I couldn't see, so I didn't really get very far. I think the blue mode acts as sort of night vision, but even that was still pretty dark on my screen. That aside, it's a nice idea, worth taking further. Really nice art and sound design too. :)

sharp911 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Great game. Didnt do what it was supposed to and didnt make sence till I put it in full screen, then after that it was fine. Also after I left fullscreen. Not sure what happened. But Good job. I liked it.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:07am

Beautiful, amazing game. Proper theme usage in a clever idea with a good execution.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Awesome game with awesome graphics! I love it well done!

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Very polished and looks great. The atmosphere is great! Good job.

Conflei says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Awesome, another level of game development. Nice for you guys :)

oranebeast says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Great graphics and atmospheric sound.

panda says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:52am

Wow, this is very impressive! Great atmosphere, graphics, and idea!

Gungnir says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:10am

I really enjoyed this one. Nice take on the theme as well.

Not perfect but very good indeed.
Thanks.

lemmily says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Real nice! also hueh hueh hueh - Have a nice die!
Can be a little bit difficult to understand you're stuck behind a wall or something. And I don't understand how you can avoid being eaten..... !

psychomonster says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Serious... this is awesome... What an atmospherical experience... This is my fav till now... Cool!

feiss says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:50pm

amazing entry, 5/5

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Incredible game. Could have done something to make the holes in the world a little more visible. I love how the lava looks through the I-RED mode.

Madball says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Atmosphere is amazing! And orientation is hard indeed. Sometimes I see a container, walk a couple of steps towards it and lose. But I think I explored the whole map. There are some interesting places there...
The goal is unclear, though. I found two containers containing somewhat field emitters, but I had no idea if that's enough to win. I didn't even get "You win" message, I only got "Game end". Did I win?
Also, you should add a pause or mute or something. I played the game in another tab, and when I came to rate it another game auto-launched from the built-in player. With another soundtrack.
When you are about to get a message and switch the mode, you don't get a message.
The idea is great, the game is perfect. It's a bit slow and you jump a bit low, but I'm totally okay with it. I wish there was some use for normal vision, though.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Very pretty game. Beatiful graphics and atmosphere, but have no clue why on earth I would watch myself dying on a small screen.. :P

sputnik says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Really immersive. Bravo!

BabaJaga says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Great atmosphere, though falling to some hole for the fifth time became soon frustrating :)

Catwheel says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:28pm

This is the best entry I have played in the LD so far, and I've played about 50. This game is awesome. I do have some irksum things though, that I would like to note. These are my small criticisms:
The creatures are impossible to escape. It gets really annoying to be trying to figure out something visually and then these stupid guys start eating at you. There should be some means of escaping them, or perhaps you could make like the green shard thingies a deterrent for them (like they won't go near the shards), then you could place the shards in places for a safe haven for the player to use while they look at something and plan out their next movement.
The Magni screen is useless. I have no idea what it does, it certainly didnt help me find any craters. I saw that it turns a light on at your feet, and I tried lowering the screen and using that light to move, but it's just not possible to see any craters before you are already in them.
I was not able to beat this game dues to frustration. There was one crate left to check for me, but I got really tired of falling down craters and mapping out the ground using trial and error.
Anyways, those are my criticisms. Again though, this is my favorite submission so far, so don't let those detract from my how awesome I thought this was (atmosphere, idea, gameplay, exploration, graphics, fun). Yeh.

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:59pm

This game is so nice looking and atmospheric! But it's so hard to orientate within the game and to know what to do that I lost interest after the twentieth "Warning !! Something eat you !!" or so. With just a tiny bit more terrain visible (so that you're not walking against walls for 20 seconds at a time) and some more feedback on how to play (i.e. what you're doing there and how to avoid the flesheating bugs) this could be sooo good!

AMS says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:48am

Really polished
awesome game, i love the effects :3

molecats says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:56am

Thank you all for the comments! We know we are terrible at explaining how to play the game:) And we will fix this if it happens to be in further development.
But in either case, we are really glad you like the atmosphere, as it was one of our main goals in this LDJAM! Thank you so much for the feedback!

kaa says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:41am

Just awesome! Thank you!

Dissiden7 says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:56am

Great concept and implementation.
The best use of the theme I've seen so far and incredibly atmospheric.

LabOne says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Incredible Game Design

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Great graphics and presentation, and great idea. I couldn't really see much though and a bit more explanation as to what was going on would have been helpful.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Very nice graphics but gamplay gets a little borring as it is a little to hard. But definetely very moody (A/V). Whole game on this concept (if not AS hard) would be nice.

kipelovets says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:07pm

The visual part is amazing, you know it. Three screen modes and the normal sight — that's four different means to see the distant planet. That's more modes than I've seen in any 'Alien' games! The only problem is that you cant see anything with all those modes. It's hard to find three parts of something in those conditions, and it's even hard to find death — you can walk for 5 minutes and just see some grass moving around, be stuck in endless walls of unknown shapes and see just small yellow and purple marks on SPEC screen. And those walls! You can't even tell if you're stuck, you have to be very careful to see the moment when the grass is not moving anymore and you're looking into gray void. You can't stop thinking: why doesn't the astronaut have a simple radar. Or why doesn't he feel that he's walking into the wall, can't he use his hand, is the sense of touch also prohibited on this planet? Why does an astronaut in the future has OneScreen super sci-fi device with three modes, none of which shows the walls? The future scientist who invented this OneScreen should be fired.

You really need a pause button. The game doesn't have to be this realistic

This game is awesome. It makes you suffer

Tuism says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Incredible atmosphere.
Amazing graphics for a jam.
Music, everything.
Animations.
Controls were intuitive.
Great interpretation.
So good.

Man. I REALLY want to love this game, but it's just so damn inaccessible. After walking around forever toggling stuff, I simply have no clue where I'm going or if I'm doing something right/wrong.

I *get* that it's supposed to be pitch dark and frustrating, but ultimately if I'm not having fun - or accomplishing anything, then I'm not interested.

It's not a "difficulty" problem - it's a design problem. You gotta give the player a direction. An indication of progress. A funnel... Something. Often I don't even know if I'm walking forward at all, and that's a big problem.

wavertron says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:37pm

My first "Mood" 5 stars rating, along with a bunch of other high scores too. The mood was great, and for brief moments I really zoned out and was in the game world.

Agree with some of the other posts, that it can be a little difficult to navigate and having no real defence against the enemies wasnt so fun.

I wanted to walk over to that big arch but I'm guessing its just a backgroung/skybox and not part of the world :(

I think its an awesome concept, and encourage you guys to explore and refine it further. Awesome.

One of the best LD31 entries I've played.

molecats says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:48pm

2 wavertron:
Actually, You can walk over that big arch;)

Dec 19, 2014 @ 2:03am

Man, really top-notch work here, Great graphics, Fascinating mechanic, absolutely everything is perfectly polished, from the shading on the screen, to the hand pressing the buttons. I'll be looking out for this one at the top of the results!

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 2:14am

Amazing game, fantastic way to use the theme!
I quite liked that all 3 vision modes had plenty of use (although I only found the use of MGNI after I fell to my death...).
The visuals were a fantastic use of shaders to colour and shape the world in interesting ways - it was very well thought out!
The audio created a fantastic atmosphere - really captured the feeling of loneliness.
I suppose my only real complaint is that it's quite easy to get lost (although I suppose that's the idea).
Fantastic work everyone, keep it up! :D

ScorpyX says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:46am

Whoa - this is incredible
i have scary and mystical and fun and other feels in same time
very psychedelic and science fictional game
LOVE IT - outstanding idea and style

MintArcade says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 12:32am

Very original approach to the theme. Visuals are outstanding. I hope you will continue development after jam - game really have potential. One of my favorite game in this Ludum Dare.

Dec 26, 2014 @ 7:51am

Very clever implementation of theme! Audio and mood simply awesome!

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Cool theme interpretation. Love the graphics, the music and the sfx, very atmospheric. One of the best games of the LD for sure.

egor-idiot says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 2:49pm

WOW. THis one is just amazing. My favorite, definitely.

Eduardo says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 2:23am

The concept is awesome! I like the graphic. The mood is great!! Pretty nice concept! That's a really good idea on the theme for LD31, one of the most creative i saw!! Good job!

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 6:29am

Wow, this is amazing! The interface and graphics are really excellent; the music is pretty great too. It all adds up to a powerful mood. The problem I had, though, is that there's so little detail in the scenery renderings that it's sometimes impossible to tell if you're even moving, or if you've hit some bump and you're stuck. It also seems like sometimes containers are inside hills or something, so you wind up trying to shove into a hill, winding around to try to find a way in, randomly dying...Still, though, I feel like with just a bit of work this could be truly great!

Dec 27, 2014 @ 8:53am

wel done

hbocao says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Really awesome! Damn, what a great work. Congratulations to all of you!

Menesetsu says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:50am

Perfect execution guys!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]