Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

SheeBall

by dieblume86 - Jam Entry

SheeBall is a fun game where 2 wolfs don't want a sheep in their goal.

Have fun with a friend or the computer.
6 powers up and 6 powers down.
Give effect to the ball with the dash.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#31Fun(Jam)3.97
#98Humor(Jam)3.62
#102Overall(Jam)3.79
#259Mood(Jam)3.39
#310Theme(Jam)3.75
#559Innovation(Jam)2.95

Comments

timwe1912 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:30am

Very nice game. Collision can be very glitchy sometimes but other than that great job!

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:45am

Thx^^.
I'm trying to make better collision.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:21am

Sweet remake of the old classic game of pong. I love what you did with the dash, makes the game much more engaging, along with the addition perks on the sides! Overall Enjoyable game Sweet entry!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:21am

Great job! I might come later to play it again ^^

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:35am

I really like this power-ups twist on simple pong mechanics. Great job!

Tokw says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:35am

Nice take on pong i really liked the unique power-ups, though i had a bug where the AI got a point for hitting the corner of my barrier.

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:10am

Thx all.
Ye i have some bugs with collision...

pcmaster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:30am

Cute graphics, AI is working, not bad :)

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:32am

Great game! Nice twist on the classic pong theme! Loved the graphics and music. Lots of fun at 2 players

Absor says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:33am

Very cool. Awesome sounds. Can you see anywhere what the powerups do?

triplefox says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:34am

I somehow managed to push the "hard" AI offscreen behind the goal after some combination of powerups and ball movement. Then I won 10-0.

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:46am

No you cant' see, you have to learn by yourself what powers up do^^.

Manou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:52am

Windjammers with sheeps !
I'm developping the same game type atm !
4 stars overall !

Flying Jester says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:04am

This is pretty cool!

The dash is nice, especially since you can use it in any direction.

I did find the AI a little weak, and the collision detection was a little weird when I got up against the sides. If I dashed against the ball while against a wall, it would rocket around in a semi-random direction!

Zimennik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:08am

Nice-nice. Nice setting. But AI is pretty laggy ^)

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:10am

Ye i didn't have enough time to make a better AI^^.

nzgiije says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:10am

An amusing alteration of a canonic gameplay. It would be great to enrich it with some random events

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:21am

Love the graphics, looks pretty polished :)

Alter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:41am

Cool graphic and realization! I like it! Well done.

Rocketship says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Nice game, I like the pickups and especially some of the sound effects and juice that comes with them. Sound-wise this game is top-notch, gameplay is also fun. AI seems to have a bit of a problem following the ball sometimes but that's only a minor complaint because I like winning :D

biscuitWizard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Silly game! A little glitchy, but I loved the concept!

renatopp says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Man, I love it. Really. The visual is so cool, and the idea is awesome. I love the ice gun, and the AI is pretty good, how did you do that?

The music sucks, but I think you already know that, once you disabled the sounds rating. I don't like the field for some reason I can't tell, Maybe the change in the colors, I don't know.

Would be really cool a full version of this, with physics and smoothness in the movement. Very good job!

Manderxan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Not sure what to say. Not my type of game, but I will rate it fairly none the less. Pretty well made, humorous air hockey style game. Overall nice.

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:55pm

For the AI its juste a fast prog, he move on function of the ball and there is a random variable to tell him to dash sometimes.
I'll make a fullversion with more level like ice level where it's more difficult to control the character., more powers, a better AI and i'll try to put online game.

Germain says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Cool game :)
Maybe it would be more interesting if you have to pick up the powerups in our zone, to add some risk/reward mechanic!
I especially like the effect on the ball when we hit it and dash to the top or down on the same time.
(French...)
(French...)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Looks pretty polished! I like how the actual ball is a sheep. Haha. Also; this might be one of the only places where Comic Sans (or that other one, not sure which one it is) actually does it work! Like the pong twist and that you can move forward. Not very original, but it's simplicity at its best. Powerups are also really fun. Graphics are okay, nice job!

Germain says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Cool game :)
Maybe it would be more interesting if you have to pick up the powerups in our zone, to add some risk/reward mechanic!
I especially like the effect on the ball when we hit it and dash to the top or down on the same time.
(French...)

klianc09 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Nice game. As others already said the AI is a bit weak, even on Hard it wasn't really a challenge. But the powerups and the dash give it some variety and more engaging gameplay.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Awesome stuff! Very polished and professional. I like the powerups, particularly the one that extends your play area is pretty well done. My collision glitched out at times and the ball flew backwards into my own goal, but otherwise a cool game.

ruerob says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:07am

I love your game I hope you do a post compo version with music and sound. Thank you for your game!

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:10am

Yes i'm making a version with more arenas, powers up and if i can online multiplayer.

aare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:11am

Slick game. Nicely polished. Icouldn't figure out though how to activate the powerups

CryoGenesis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Very well made game. Graphics and audio on point.

blzkz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Just GREAT! Graphics, fun, and theme... <3

Liam :D says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Woah, there is a lot of game here! Neat!

myachin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:58pm

BEST GAME I'VE SEEN!

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:01pm

THx all

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Nice little game, I really like the sound and art. Solid pong style game for sure, I like the addition of powerups. The collision with the ball the the shield is a bit weird though, I scored on myself a few times.

Lacaranian says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Great work! Sound effects got a bit repetitive, but the music was good. Took a bit of time to figure out what the powerups do (which made things a little easier for sure... mostly). I won on medium difficulty! So there's that

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Very fun, I love that you can curve the ball. Maybe felt like it curved a bit too much though?

Rodaja says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Sometimes it's confusing what do power-ups/downs do, and the sheeps' sound get a bit repetitive.

Graphics are pretty to look at, and gameplay feels right. Good job

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Coudl'nt play on firefox :/

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Awesome how you can make the ball spin and change direction. Cool upgrades, too!

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:47pm

That was fun! :D Made it for mobile!

deanquay says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Cute graphics'n play. Best cymberG I've played.

Works well on Firefox :)

Webravenz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:28pm

very fun !
got some collision issues but nice game

ehtd says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:03am

Nice game, I really liked the dash effect

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Fantastic game, I loved everything about it. Nice work :)

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Nice little game, not very innovative but nice graphics, good mood and humor, and pretty fun to boot.

I can't really think of anything particularly bad to say, it's a solid effort!

ShadowTzu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:49am

It's fun and with humor, I like!

pavel_insight says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Funny, well polished game. Music is great.

rnlf says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:51pm

I really like the variation you made on pong. Really cool idea with the powerups and stuff!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Hi, we've added SheeBall to our list of local multiplayer ludum dare games here http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/12/24/the-perfect-games-for-the-holidays/

Please check it out and spread the word!

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Thx^^

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]