Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Johnny Snow VS Hot Stuff

by theomg - Jam Entry

Manage your health, hop around and shoot at hot stuff.

Controller recommended.

Changelog:

v1.1:
*Smaller mass variance from small to big snowman, leading to a more controllable movement in all snowman sizes.
*Score resets correctly.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#209Theme(Jam)3.88
#261Humor(Jam)3.09
#517Mood(Jam)3.00
#530Fun(Jam)3.00
#554Overall(Jam)3.15
#622Innovation(Jam)2.85
#802Graphics(Jam)2.59

Comments

eerongal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:47am

I like the art, especially the little coffee mugs that walk after you. Great game!

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:47am

nice game

Phyyl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:48am

Good game, the idea is good and the implementation is good too! The way you move the character is a bit weird, but overall, the difficulty seems to be good

d3garcia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:48am

Very good idea, just need to work on the move mechanics or maybe that was your point, it was fun.

jpcote says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:49am

Control are weird (but you warned me to use gamepad), I was unable to reach the snow when the snowman is small...
Nice game !

digibody says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:49am

Nice overall. Controls a bit sticky, music nice, not sure how to grow my snowman, thinking the snowballs have something to do with it. Got frustrated at the end

mrhill says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:49am

nice game, well done

jackrugile says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:49am

Nice game, I sucked at it, but not bad! I think there was one glitch, maybe it's a feature, but at some point I would start moving multiple tiles at a time and couldn't land on snow to recharge.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:50am

Really nice controls and unique mechanics. Good work.

tweedle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:51am

I want to be friends with that coffee cup. Seemed a bit buggy on the webplayer.

datachomper says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:51am

Cool twist on a bullet hell style game! My 360 controller didn't work through the web plugin though, I wonder if I need to download it for that to work. I kind of secretly with the snowman was our theme.

FatKarate says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:54am

Cool idea. Fun game.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:55am

Cute! I like everything about it but the movement, which was awkward enough that I couldn't get a handle on the game.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Cool game. Once you get used to the controls it's quite fun.

Also, thanks for using my music :)

theomg says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Thank you for playing and for making cool music!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Congratulations on completing your first Jam experience! :)

Just putting down the few things I mentioned in Twitch:

- Movement is a little sporadic, makes it a little tough to aim.
- Great use of the theme, cute artwork!
- Good humor. :)
- I love how the snowman moves slowly when he's large and quickly when he's small, it makes sense!
- Controls are a little like rubbing your belly and patting your head at the same time, a little bit autonomically confusing. Try assigning the fire button to the trigger instead of the shoulder button. :)

Overall, great job! :D

borgi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:25am

Cool job! I liked the idea very much! Nice implementation!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:40am

YES! Because snowman!

I was bad at this game, but it was awesome to play what you made, and I particularly loved the toasters!
-Kitty

Zi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:18am

Interesting hot and cold health mechanic! =) The controls took some getting used to though!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Nice game, i got 12400 points! The controls are a little insensitive, sometimes you stop charging your shot when you move while holding the mouse button. It would be nice to have free movement instead of moving from slot to slot also. Overall a fun game, good job!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:15pm

fun game!, the garbage bin was a bit over powered in my opinion though, especially since the moving was limited around the time it came out

Teesquared says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:36pm

There was many good obstacles to overcome but the snowman was a little hard to control.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]