Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Stay Fast

by Nidolabz - Jam Entry

New Download!!! Now zipped up for easier use.

Move quickly for the shadow cometh
- Lose your mind as you find your way through the maddening mazes as you try to find your way out. But whatever you do, don't stop. For as you keep on going, the darkness creeps, enveloping you, leading to a quick, untimely death. And you had shown so much promise...

Programmed by Jonathan Cunningham.
Graphics done by Antonio Belavilas and Will Rainsberger.
Music by Jonathan's dad, Nicholas Cunningham and his company, Forever Humble Productions.

Please support our website as this is my first game in XNA. http://skinnyjeandeath.weebly.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#197Fun(Jam)3.47
#311Audio(Jam)3.19
#388Mood(Jam)3.19
#563Innovation(Jam)2.94
#569Overall(Jam)3.13
#2075Coolness26%

Comments

Snuux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Simple and somewere hard! It's good, very good! Minimalistic graphics are awesome!

Vacso says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:32pm

The game won't run. Here's the Error details:

ERROR DETAILS
Following errors were detected during this operation.
* [09/12/2014 16:31:58] System.Deployment.Application.InvalidDeploymentException (Zone)
- Deployment and application do not have matching security zones.
- Source: System.Deployment
- Stack trace:
at System.Deployment.Application.DownloadManager.DownloadApplicationManifest(AssemblyManifest deploymentManifest, String targetDir, Uri deploymentUri, IDownloadNotification notification, DownloadOptions options, Uri& appSourceUri, String& appManifestPath)
at System.Deployment.Application.DownloadManager.DownloadApplicationManifest(AssemblyManifest deploymentManifest, String targetDir, Uri deploymentUri, Uri& appSourceUri, String& appManifestPath)
at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.DownloadApplication(SubscriptionState subState, ActivationDescription actDesc, Int64 transactionId, TempDirectory& downloadTemp)
at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.InstallApplication(SubscriptionState& subState, ActivationDescription actDesc)
at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.PerformDeploymentActivation(Uri activationUri, Boolean isShortcut, String textualSubId, String deploymentProviderUrlFromExtension, BrowserSettings browserSettings, String& errorPageUrl)
at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.ActivateDeploymentWorker(Object state)

Vacso says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Following errors were detected during this operation.
* [09/12/2014 16:31:58] System.Deployment.Application.InvalidDeploymentException (Zone)
- Deployment and application do not have matching security zones.
- Source: System.Deployment
- Stack trace:
at System.Deployment.Application.DownloadManager.DownloadApplicationManifest(AssemblyManifest deploymentManifest, String targetDir, Uri deploymentUri, IDownloadNotification notification, DownloadOptions options, Uri& appSourceUri, String& appManifestPath)
at System.Deployment.Application.DownloadManager.DownloadApplicationManifest(AssemblyManifest deploymentManifest, String targetDir, Uri deploymentUri, Uri& appSourceUri, String& appManifestPath)
at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.DownloadApplication(SubscriptionState subState, ActivationDescription actDesc, Int64 transactionId, TempDirectory& downloadTemp)
at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.InstallApplication(SubscriptionState& subState, ActivationDescription actDesc)
at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.PerformDeploymentActivation(Uri activationUri, Boolean isShortcut, String textualSubId, String deploymentProviderUrlFromExtension, BrowserSettings browserSettings, String& errorPageUrl)
at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.ActivateDeploymentWorker(Object state)

Vacso says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Oops. Sorry didn't see it post at first...

Antbelas says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:32pm

one of the errors may be not having the xna 4.0 software installed on your computer

Antbelas says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:42pm

also you may need .net 4.0 installed

Nidolabz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Thanks! Snuux. This was my first game in XNA and I know it's not very great :( but, thanks for liking it. Next time I'll know to procrastinate less and work more. Again, thanks for your comment!

Nidolabz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Also, to Vasco, you need to have the XNA 4.0 and .NET framework installed.

TehSkull says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:05am

Can you .zip up all the necessary files for install instead of having the users download each individual file? I'll gladly play this game, but don't make me work so hard for it.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Awesome, and cool, and hard, and simple, and nice, and fun......
Great entry!

Nidolabz says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:28am

tehSkull, they are zipped up now, hope that helps!

Superbro22 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:51am

i loved working on the game

Antbelas says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:52am

Very fun and FRUSTRATING. Dang, we make a hard to beat game.

Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:39pm

unable to install

L0N3 W0LF says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Another C# XNA programmer, nice to see one :3 Excellent work on your game guys :3

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:53pm

execlent wrks dude

schnerble says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:52am

Nice work :) It's pretty hard to find your way around the maze, but that's part of the challenge. Graphics and sound work well!

Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Fine entry, keep up the good work!

Kardfogú of Creative Sectors, out.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]