Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Crumble

by jasonLJ - Compo Entry

Crumble is not only the first Ludum Dare game I've made, but it's also the first entire game I've made in general. Pretty cool stuff.

The basis of the game is that the level you're on is crumbling, revealing the next stage. You must get to the goal on the far side of the level before the level is completely replaced!

A and D move left and right, space bar jumps.

Thanks for giving it a play! The experience was definitely worth it.

Changelog:

Update One:

* Fixed a bug where losing by letting the level run out would still increment the level change speed even though it shouldn't.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#137Innovation3.84
#176Fun3.56
#182Theme3.96
#189Overall3.62
#197Audio3.33
#383Mood3.13
#456Graphics3.24
#1550Coolness45%

Comments

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:07am

Didn't work I'm afraid. It just opened up a notepad file, then notepad froze up, and I had to ctrl+alt+delete to get out of it.
Shame, it looked cool :(

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:11am

Scratch that actually, I just had to hit open with --> Java.
Cool game! I liked the smoothness of the engine, although it could have used variable jumping. Cool concept though, and I dug the slick clean graphics.

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:15am

Great Job, I thought this was a fun clever gun and I enjoyed playing it.

jasonLJ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:17am

Glad it ended up working Snail_Man!

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:18am

Really clever idea and a very clean visual style. Things can get really intense too when you have to outrun the level itself...

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:46am

I think the level changing is cool, however I believe it's a bit to confusing at first :)

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Good take on the "changing level" concept and that the actual changing of the level played such a big part of the game mechanics. Really funny and polished!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Hey fellow dev!
More fun to play than it looked in the webms, nice work!

jonah1nine says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:33pm

I really like the idea of changing the world right before your eyes; really creative in applying the theme.
Well done!

Divitos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:19pm

I absolutely love what you did with the theme!
This is absolutely incredible for a first game!

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Art style reminds me of Thomas was Alone :3

Praron says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:25pm

I can't pass one of the first level, it's destroying too much fast D:

OttersDen says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 4:57am

This is super cool! I want more!

Dec 28, 2014 @ 6:47am

This is a really solid and polished game! It would be nice to control your jump height, and the later levels become impossible if you've died too many times, and I'm miffed that it's not cross-platform, but those are the only complaints I could come up with. The game mechanic is fun and intuitive, the graphics are minimalistic but still pretty, and it was a captivating experience throughout. I do wish the campaign were a bit longer of course, but with a jam game it seems it can't be helped. If you showed me this out of context, I'd never guess it was a jam game. All told, this is easily my favorite of all the LD31 entries I've played so far.

jasonLJ says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:37am

Thanks for the comment! I actually learned of the death bug yesterday when I was watching a friend play. The speed isn't actually supposed to ramp up on deaths, I just never died enough to notice it because, well, I made the levels!

codeapparat says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Very innovative gameplay mechanic and a clever way to handle the theme. Fun and a bit challenging too. Awesome!

Valeour says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:28pm

I loved everything here, great idea, great execution. Maybe let down a bit by the graphics, but you did well with what you had. Controls felt nice.
My only complaint would be the current goal should be highlighted a different colour than the one to go to after. Might get confusing for some.
I loved the transitions and gameplay, there's so much you could do with it and really hope you do. Nice job. :D

jasonLJ says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:48am

Thanks for the feedback!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]