Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Jetpack Bhutan

by alecmilne - Jam Entry

Taking pixel art to its logical conclusion.

Jetpack around a fantastic Bhutan mountain landscape picking up the golden Buddha's and avoiding the various enemies.

Oh, and you are only 1 pixel tall, and so are the bad guys. Enjoy!

Arrow keys to move around. Left CTRL to attack. Only 8 seconds of jetpack fuel at a time, recharges when not flying. Player has a blue glow to help spotting.

Play at a low resolution for an easier game.

Credits:
James Coote - Lead Coder
Martin Pitt - Physics & AI
Alec Milne - Art & procedural generation
Holley Gray - Music & sound effects

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#133Theme(Jam)4.00
#278Audio(Jam)3.26
#287Innovation(Jam)3.41
#590Graphics(Jam)3.09
#606Overall(Jam)3.09
#654Mood(Jam)2.84
#724Humor(Jam)2.14
#754Fun(Jam)2.71

Comments

asobitech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:12am

insane, playing as a pixel on a retina display of a macbook pro.

rzuf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:39am

Wow. It's so huge and tiny at the same time :D

PlonkyDonkey says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:08am

I seemed to get spawed into the platform, love it though.. Great work :)

Hammers says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:38am

Yep some great "pixel art" :P I like the idea. I think it would be nice if you could see how much jetpack fuel you have left via a bar on screen or something. That way you know when you're going to be landing again. Also it's pretty hard to see the enemies, but I guess that's kinda hard to avoid when they're all 1 pixel tall!

lisac says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:40am

Excellent take on the theme.

Emkani says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:50am

Nice idea but found it hard to control and get what was going on, the concept is great.

Forge says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:51am

Nice art and great concept.
I found the controls to be very difficult to work with and if im completly honest I didnt know what was going on 90% of the time (but that could just be lack of sleep :))
On the whole good entry and I can see its potential.

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:51am

taking pixel art to a whole new level!

jellyislovely says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Great fun and brilliantly difficult. Really liked the swarms of enemies that surprise you. A couple of indicators to health / jetpack status would be handy.

Luke Molnar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:21pm

The game was finding the player... i seriously couldn't find. I saw a little dot at one point but other then that i lost it. flickered away.

Kovalsky says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:24pm

I did not see the character as a result of one and a half minutes , it is difficult to understand what is going on among pixels

alecmilne says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:40pm

The player has a blue glow around them. Try jumping to spot yourself easier.

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Dropped to 1024x768; it DOES make the game much easier!

alecmilne says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:38pm

I think we have made one of the few games that gets harder on a better pc.

Krz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Took me a while to find the player or where to go. Could have used some instruction. The maze looks well constructed and designed and I especially like the background scenery.

Nitrodeus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Wow literally "Entire Game on One Screen" :p I really like the concept. I had trouble finding the player at the beginning though

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:38pm

I applaud the idea but the characters being so tiny made it kind of difficult. I don't think the photographic background helps, something more flat would make it easier to see the characters.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:29am

It took me a while to find where I am when begin the game (even with the blue aura)... The moving sound could be a little bit too loud. Overall a nice game, and --- so pixel :D

Pfilzweg says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:16pm

I like the idea, but the controls suck dude.

nuqu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Its cool, but tough to play, did you make the background music yourselve? Its okay, but you do better!

alecmilne says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:20pm

@nuqu - Holley Gray made us all the music and sounds for the game during Ludum Dare.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Amazing

Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:07am

The collision detection is broken and the movement controls are frustratingly bad. There doesn't appear to be any particular goal to this game. But the art is good.

egor-idiot says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:21am

Crazy game %)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]