Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Perceptions

by dgjames222 - Jam Entry

Explore the perspectives of multiple people (all on one screen ;) ) and solve the issue each has.

----- Game Details ------
Make in Unity 3D (Pro)
Used Bledner for 3D modeling
Paint.Net for Textures

----- Art / graphics ------
Approached it from a minimalist perspective, lots of block like 3D models got the style across quite nicely.

The people are kinda scary. It's one of those things we were gonna redo but never had the time.

----- Programming -----
The multiple perspectives and camera were a bit difficult to work with, that was really it. Most of the time was spent towards getting those features to work correctly.


----- Overall Story -----
Originally we were gonna have a very complicated story with over 20 different characters. That turned into three once we realized we would not have time.

----- Theme ------
Everything in the game is happen on that one screen in the very beginning. You are limited to that once screen. Thus the entire game is on one screen.

---- Problems ----
There were some character controller glitches.
The water could just be watched into and seem like it wasn't there.
The water looked weird.
No sound.
Some camera issues.


---- Overall ----

Could have been a lot better but there just wasn't enough time. All assets were created within the 72 hours.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#319Innovation(Jam)3.32
#567Humor(Jam)2.46
#755Graphics(Jam)2.71
#824Overall(Jam)2.80
#838Mood(Jam)2.52
#843Fun(Jam)2.57
#950Theme(Jam)2.65

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:37am

Essentially a point-and-click adventure in 3D.

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:37am

Nice idea for a game, just needs some more polish. Good work!

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:42am

Reminds me of the old school VR games from the late 90's. Nice job!

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:44am

it was interesting to see what each character could do! I loved the butcher enjoying a steak in a park on his way home.

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:46am

Good concept, if you ironed out the bugs you mention and added more characters this would be pretty good. I see how you used the theme but I'm not sure how well it fitted. Still, good concept.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:49am

I liked the idea behind it. I would definitely like to play a longer version of this, even though the game was bugging out a bit in the graphics department.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:51am

Cool idea, but very short & straight-forward as is. I'd love to see the version with the full story!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:52am

I woke up in a small city by the water. Before I knew it there was trouble. The mail main was in a bad way that ... dog had him corner but dogs love steak. I had a steak. The mailman was grateful but he needed to take some time to reflect on the incident. I knew I could help others but I was not ready for the business man. I really thought I was ready. Suddenly I am the mailman I knew it. "Whats this a package well I know what to do with this" I marched over to the postoffice. But wait. Who was I before I was a mail man? Theres no time for this. People need my help. Maybe this package could help the business man. Whoa! An axe. But who would send someone an Axe. I wood(zing). Suddenly something crazy was going down and I needed to get everyone where they needed to go. I went to the post office. Success. Now I am the business man. What do business man do? Business in an professional setting :D:D

broknecho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:52am

I think moving between the different characters with different abilities is a cool mechanic. Could definitely see more happening with that.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:57am

I think you have wrote a good concept here. Helping people one after the other, changing characters via an overview map, etc. this is a nice touch. But I feel the game fail a bit to deliver the experience you initialy planned because of the gameplay and the overall confusing mechanics. Maybe you will work on that? At first I was skeptical regarding theme, but I had to acknowledge the fact that you actually made a game on only on screen...

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:04am

Everything is glitchy and most of the assets look like placeholders, but somehow it's really engaging. Not often I get to play a game about helping people solve their problems. Also, "Press 'F' to destroy ALL THE TREES". This game is just inexplicably charming.

Muush says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:52am

Good little experience. Well done

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:32pm

I love that this town has a "town businessman".

Ace says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:35pm

A really nice concept, though it would've been nice if you kept the top-down view visible at all times. That and some smooth transitions would've helped immensely with making it feel like a single screen.

Text messages kept drawing on top of eachother though, took me a while to realize it wanted me to press 'F' and not 'E'.

lxd1 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Its fun.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Liked the idea, and the only problems I had were highlighted anyway by you. Great work

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:47pm

A sweet little 3D point and click. The graphics could use a bit of fresh paint but good work!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:49pm

I like the idea very much! If you add more characters and more complexity to the puzzles, it would definitely be an awesome game.

Magicolo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:50pm

-Not a single screen game :(
-Nice idea for a game :D
-Very easy game :(
-No sound :(
-Keep it up!

KeeperofBee says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Fun little game with a great concept!

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Liked the concept, this was really nice.

Chris M says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 8:17am

What a great idea! Definitely worth iterating on- suggest moving to a 2d top down view while you work on the mechanics.

mohammad says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:57am

Good concept. I like the creativity and originality.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]