Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Curious Archibald

by Magicolo - Jam Entry

CURIOUS ARCHIBALD

Archibald has always been a curious one. Obsessively looking to surpass his limits he went, one day, to the oracle to receive guidance on what challenge was worthy of his ambitions. The oracle gave him no less than the ultimate question to solve: "What is the meaning of life?".

Satisfied of his inquiry, Archibald went directly to the bar named "What is the meaning of life?" and asked the barman his greatest unsolved mystery. Without a word, the barman gave Archibald a glass of what seemed to be water while staring at him. Intrigued, he drank the liquid and instantly fell on the floor cold dead..... or was he really dead?


Developped for the Ludum Dare 31 event. The theme was "Entire Game On One Screen". Here is a timelapse of my development (you might want to play the game first as there are spoilers): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z-tumEDYPOs

CONTROLS:
-Mouse

GAMEPLAY:
-Use objects in the left panel to modify the runner's path
-Press the "RUN" button to start the simulation

TOOLS:
-Unity
-SharpDevelop
-GIMP
-Reaper

LESSON:
-It's harder to make a "too easy" puzzle game than making a "too hard" puzzle game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#304Innovation(Jam)3.36
#340Theme(Jam)3.71
#408Fun(Jam)3.18
#431Audio(Jam)2.88
#500Overall(Jam)3.22
#574Humor(Jam)2.45
#668Mood(Jam)2.82
#861Graphics(Jam)2.42

Comments

mpath says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:37pm

It's difficult to suss out what the icons do. Perhaps include some rollover help text or something next time. Otherwise, smart work here. Keep it up!

andrs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Nice game and smart game. Really fun mechanic

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Nice art. Seems like a fun game. Needs a bit more guidance

wilpel1234 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Good job!

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Nice idea!

flyingbear says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:55pm

I loved this! It really appeals to the tinkerer in me. I've played some games like this before, but what sets this one apart is how you pick up the new pieces to work with as you progress through the level. And how you're going back and forth between setting things up to go further into the level vs. getting setting things up to acquire that one new piece.

Brassawiking says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Really well done! I got stuck in the upper right with the black holes and didn't figured out how to pass.

Some improvements:
1. Don't restart when you die. If you die then you always want to make some changes.
2. Make sure it is deterministic. It fells a bit random at sometimes if the runner makes it or not.

Superb work with this one!

Magicolo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:04pm

If anyone finishes the game, can you post you run count (in the bottom left corner)? I'd like to know how many tries it takes to get through :)

hbocao says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Loved the Incredible Machine vibe! Goob job!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:33am

I like puzzles, especially Incredible Machine like, and this one seems really good. But I'm stucked just after taking the red mushroom, because unlike previous gains, no new room opened. Am I doing it wrong, or something ?
Anyways, I give you a good rate, because it's a good job you done. :)

bitapps says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:35am

Its look like a "maze game", nice work

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:26am

Cool concept! Seems like it could be a really cool game!

Crosstales says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Wow, that's a cool game and idea - I like the mechanics and style!
Well done!

reheated says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Absolutely wonderful. A huge amount of gameplay in a small space. I appreciated the way you reused areas to make multiple puzzles. The music is great, and I laughed at the ending.

I finished it with about 170 runs. But last night I played and got too tired and gave in, and I'm sure I played over 100 runs. Put me down for "about 300". So... it's hard.

5k0d says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:41pm

well done

Verz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:21am

Really fun! I like the idea a lot. Also the music is quite nice :). Congratulations!

Magicolo says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Thanks everyone for you nice words. Don't hesitate to tell me what doesn't work with the game, that's how I'll get better ;)

Cyros says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:58pm

First level is really hard, great job though!

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Challeging Game! vry good concept. A checkpoint system would be nice...

arzi says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Very good puzzle game, although too difficult to be completed while rating games. I really like the concept, it would be a good idea to expand on this!

ramyaanudeep says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:31pm

heyy....wat an awsum job guys

ynots says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:52pm

nice..

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 11:23am

A really nice game idea, sort of a fusion of a platformer with upgrades and lemmings! It would have been interesting to merge the play mode and the build mode a bit more, like having a stream of ghosts, but maybe that's not feasible when the level is so long. More explanation of the power ups, or just making everything a bit bigger, might have helped.

NeiloGD says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:56am

Linux build there is no data folder, and the Windows data folder doesn't work either.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]