Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Papercuts

by Tasteslikefuture - Compo Entry

Papercuts is a platformer/story generator that tells the tale of Jaggerbones, the stalwart protagonist. Follow along a randomly generated path, evading danger and fighting enemies. Each playthrough offers a unique story of Jaggerbone's inevitable demise, all through a single frame.

Controls:

WASD/Arrow Keys - Move
Q - Suicide button (starts a new story)
Space - Attack

I wanted to do something a bit different than what I figured the average interpretation of the theme would be, i.e. having a stationary camera with all gameplay within it's field of view. Instead, my goal was to create a game with a single scene and a single camera. So while some may find this to be contrary to the theme, I respectfully disagree.

This is my first ludum dare entry, and I had a blast making it!

Tools I used:

Unity - Engine
Pen and Paper - Sketching characters
My iPhone Camera - Capturing sketches and paper textures
Photoshop - Graphics editing
After Effects - Character animations (extensive use of puppet pin tool)
Garageband - Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#28Mood3.95
#39Graphics4.22
#89Audio3.63
#147Innovation3.79
#182Overall3.63
#246Humor3.02
#855Fun2.76
#930Theme3.27

Comments

hazzahazzam says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:24am

Web isn't loading.

geartech0 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:33am

I love everything about this game. The music was amazing. The game play was intriguing. The graphics were pleasing. I understood what was going on, and it felt amazing. Keep at it!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:33am

I pressed Q expecting some sort of puzzle challenge mode....

Von Hunt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:34am

Awesome work! I would love to see this one expanded further.

Thepattybeast says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:37am

Interesting, although as far a i can tell all you do is walk right until the game kill you.

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:43am

The voice work is a bit rough to my ears but the rest of the game was wonderful, well done.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:45am

Wow very strange! Love the art and the game being on a book. not much gameplay and it's hard to die. overall very cool.

LittleThor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:44am

WTF did I just play?!
Very strange and awesome mood! I loved it!
Thig game needs a little more interesting gameplay to be a very great game.

Domicuc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Lovely graphics!

Dohxis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Wow, great game! Really liked graphics and music.

PeerPlay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Great mood and pretty original. I only didnt find it fun, and I couldnt really get killed, or could I? Very nice graphics style!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Mood: creepy!

yodamaster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Hm, that's not on one screen ...

anokta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:10pm

lovely storyline, liked the way it looks too. well done!

ainokaisa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:18pm

More like seppuku than sudoku :) As an art game this is nice. Not too much gameplay and the fighting is't great.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Great mood, your graphic work is awesome

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Impressive game! Love how everything flows just perfectly.

allanolivei says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:26pm

The audio and illustrations create a fantastic environment.

MegaMasterX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:48pm

This is the most comprehensive and well-fleshed-out entry I've seen yet. Absolutely good story telling. Consistent art, sound, and story makes for a fantastic experience.

Kim says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Creepy atmosphere and a beautiful world. Really great game, what it lacked in gameplay it made up with that art style!

LabOne says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:45pm

WIN. Love your style. As I seen LobsterKing I commit sudoku, because I was scared.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:03pm

@LabOne no fear, sudoku on lobsterking is big win.

error031 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Graphics reminded me of Dont Starve, and everything is in its place (in strange way tho :D)

Wezley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Crazy cool game! Awesome job haha! Very nice graphics!

arzi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Intriguing art style! I love the idea (though it's not technically single screen), but would have liked subtitles (I'm playing in a noisy environment).

taaboo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Gameplay wise. Not the most intuative. Story and theme wise. The Fucking Shit :P. Loved the folding book idea. Amazing way to tell the story in one screen.

Pete_H says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:41pm

This is so, so good, The mini stories are great, perfectly fits on with the audio and art!

pjchardt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:44am

Wonderful game! I love the presentation and visuals. I also really love how the story unfolds procedurally. To offer a bit of criticism while gushing over your game, I would say that queuing up audio would be a nice addition, right now it just overrides the current audio and I lose some information. Solid entry overall!

molecats says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:22am

Stylish!

cmdr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:15am

Interesting graphics. I really like the mood. The voice needs more work though, i could barely hear some sentences. Very good atmosphere though..i'd like to see more of this style of game. :D

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:23am

Nice game! Very unique! Loved the atmosphere and the story disconnected from reality. Felt like reading a nice horror book :)

Jhelle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Very strange but also very awesome looking. Great job!

Mekuri says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:17pm

This was amazing. A very cool idea, and I liked the random story elements. I like the random story part, and the way it is told. A very very nice way to use the theme! Great job! With a little more variety in the gameplay, this could definitely become a very good game!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:49pm

One of the best games I'v played on this Ludum Dare so far.

Odefus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:12pm

I loved everything about it. Found myself playing it for quite a while to exhaust all the lines and random encounters. Loved the surreal dreamlike aesthetic of the game. Great work!

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Trippy, and quite original! Nicely done. Seems like there's a lot of room to expand this into something deeper. The random storytelling concept is really neat.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:27am

Very cool. I like the 'choose your own adventure' format, hope you take this idea further at some point! Sound was a little raw (totally understandable) but the art style is great and sets a great quirky/creepy tone. And anyone saying this doesn't take place on a single screen wasn't paying attention. It clearly does.

spotco says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:19am

Really nice graphics and theme, though gameplay could use more polish

kurismakku says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:49am

Awesome theme and art ! Loved the mood.

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:57am

I've spotted a little bug in "the office": the character won't stay within the "bounds of the book" and fall down if walking towards the bottom of it near the center.

Overall a nice entry with a fascinating concept :D Some of the audio tracks reminded me of Nick Cave stuff, which is great :D

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Lovely style and the mood was also great.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:45am

This was a really great artistic romp through a twisted idea. :) I really enjoyed my time in this storybook world, but would've loved to have stayed and experienced more if there was more to it.

I adored some of the ideas here. The gun-chickens and the brain-lobsters and all of the various surreal bric-a-brac. I have such a fondness for this stuff. You definitely have something going on in the depths of your imagination and you need to crack it open and let it ooze out and share it with the world!

GarethIW says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:54am

This was most excellent. Highly unique and with a great atmosphere. Could be developed out into something bigger!

Luke Molnar says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:36am

LOVED YOUR GAME!

Personal detailed review on Rustbox Games website > http://www.rustboxgames.com/ldjam-review-papercuts/

garygreen says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:12pm

That was original. I really like your art style, the audio and the variations in each new story.

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Nice looking art you got there !

Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Really nice art! I Included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/09kdLS-s81I

Wertle says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 4:51pm

This was a super ambitious compo game and I could see a lot of interesting things that you were attempting. I loved the art style and the overall dour feel that you were able to get across. In the end, there were some issues with redundancy but I like how you still got variety in re-used scenes with reconstructed sentences. I really wish there were subtitles for the narration. Nice work!

Rustam says ...
Jun 8, 2017 @ 8:03am

Search for the best restaurants, coffee, nightlife, shops, and more. http://ir-tagil.ru (A bolt-on "upload via FTP" wpuld be nice as well, but I wouldn't want to see too many shiny bits added to such a clean app)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]