Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Forever Falling

by danielilett - Compo Entry

A game that manipulates gravity heavily as its main mechanic, and has fancy portals, spikes, coins, lovely particles, screen shake... everything you need from a game!

On top of that, you have a timer that you need to reach the end of each level by, and collectibles that switch gravity in different directions when touched.

When you touch spikes, you die instantly, so in that respect, it's a roguelike (kinda).

The only controls you have are left and right to rotate the player anticlockwise and clockwise respectively, the spacebar to flip gravity, and escape to rage quit and start from the first level all over again.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#266Overall3.50
#273Fun3.40
#327Innovation3.45
#347Humor2.82
#472Mood3.00
#540Audio2.74
#555Graphics3.10
#1103Theme2.88

Comments

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:11am

I like the slow motion effect when you change levels! The physics are nice. It would be nice to just go to the beginning of the level when you die instead of the whole game.

Mincemeat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:41am

Woulda have liked to restart the level I died on. Other than that it was a great game, really fun.

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:41am

Fun little concept! Very polished, and there seems to be a lot of content. The only suggestion would be to not make you restart every time.

Ian Morrison says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:41am

Some cool bits of polish in here, especially liking the stage transitions. Going back to the start after losing is infuriatingly harsh, though, and the movement feels really slow and awkward.

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Nice cohesive design, and a lot of fun to play. It's a cool spin on gravity mechanics, I enjoyed it :)

The Jahn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Pretty damn fun! I got caught on one level with 6 seconds on the timer, right next to the level exit.

The tension was thick, but I made it by the skin of my teeth.

Also, those level transitions are delicious.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Very fluid movement, i like it! Sometimes i'm outside the screen and can't see were i'm at.

Anachron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Cool movement and tricky puzzle mechanic! Nice job :)

sam101 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Except from the fact that you restart from the start when you die, the game is nice. The gameplay is original

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:30pm

That is a nice transition between levels. The game is good and fun and I had a lot of fun playing it. A bit punishing to start over when you die.

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:30pm

The game is great! Fun and enjoyable, and it doesn't break the theme even though it has multiple levels.

efux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:32pm

I really like the idea. Would have been nive, if I didn't have to restart the whole game instead of just a level.

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Man I suck at this game, really hard but also quite gratifying, I think it would be better to not repeat the first levels when you die though, completing the same puzzles get's old fast. Good mechanics though

Gins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:36am

Cool game, controls a bit slow, but that makes it even more satisfying to pull off complex gravity stunts :)

If only the game wouldn't reset you to the very first level if you die, and I also do not approve of the time limit, especially in the "Flippy Bird" level it seems that I have no chance to get through in time.

I like that you don't really control the cube's movement directly but indirectly through the rotation. Good choice for this kind of game!

xaedes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Nice concept. The sound and effect when I hit something with high velocity gives you absolutely the right feeling.
Too bad I have to play from Level 1 if I die, bcs I am not patient enough for this.

But this really is something I like. Good job, keep working on it and get it out into the wild!

Crumpet says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Collisions against things, what with the screenshake and particles and sound effect, are really beefy and satisfying. Encourages bumping into things at high speed which is always good.
The main feedback isn't going to be anything new, really.
Generally you could get away with either a slow moving character or a game that resets everytime you die, one leads to a high risk high reward sort of tense game, the other to a more calm feeling. Both just leads to frustration, as you may have gathered from the other comments.
Could maybe have stood to have music, although that's hard to get in LDs, and no music is better than bad music, so you may have made the right call there.
Graphics are fine and simplistic, although the colour choices feel too inconsistent, I think? By this I mean you have bright saturated particles, flat blacks, and then light desaturated colours. I understand this may seem like a nitpick, but there was something bothering me about the art which I couldn't put my finger on, and that may have been it.
The room transition is lovely. The movement noise possibly gets too repetitive, I'd suggest either lowering the volume or straight up removing it, tinker until you find hat's right.

And yeah, I may be pointing out a lot of flaws, but only because there is an extremely limited number of them in this game that I can make what I think is an exhaustive list. The game feels very polished and well made, a shame some people may not experience it all if they ragequit due to game resets :P

zompi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Cool concept. Everybody loves gravity and portals :D I was quite confused what's going on but after I figure it out it started to be fun. And that neat move to another level effect... sweet.
It is a little harsh that you need to start all game over and over and over... And sounds... well, they made my ears bleed ;)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Very innovative indeed. Seems very difficult though, as many have already stated, starting all over from the start is kind of evil.. and will most certainly prevent many people from getting through the game and seeing all the content. The design was great though, nice aesthetics and a pretty fresh idea.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Nice concept, I enjoyed it. I found that the movement was frustratingly slow though. Also I gave up quickly because I didn't want to start from the beginning for the third time. I would have liked to start from the level that I reached.

Odefus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Not much to add that hasn't already been said by others. Controls feel good. Love the level transition animation with the slow motion as the next level phases in bit by bit.

Biggest gripes I've got with it have to do with level design combined with the unforgiving difficulty. The first three levels were easy (apart from maybe if you try to max your score) whereas I hit a wall with the difficulty on the fourth level. Having to start all the way from the beginning became very frustrating and the three first levels simply felt like a chore to get to try the fourth one again. It took me far less time to fail the fourth level than to get there all over again.

Nevertheless its a fun game with cool design. Nice work!

Hendri says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:07pm

The game is awesome, fun and overall enjoyable. But it would be good if the game didn't start again from first level when I die, but it's a good game.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:06am

Awesome mecanics. It's a really good puzzle game. Neat. Thank you for you comment on my game ++

srakowski says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:21am

Nice well polished game. Fun to play!

Dec 22, 2014 @ 10:56am

Cool game overall, but a bit hard :). Need more air control!

Draknek says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Left/right movement is way too slow!

Starting from the beginning each time doesn't really add much other than needless frustration.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]