Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Loading command

by luker128 - Compo Entry

Since entire game was supposed to be on one screen, I figured it might just as well be a loading screen.

Classic gameplay. Aim and shoot. You play with your mouse.

Known issues:
- Game freezes when progress bar reaches 100% -- no it doesn't. It just waits until you are ready.

Linux version requires SDL2 and SDL2_mixer libraries.
Windows version have then built-in.
Source code can be compiled with qmake && make or simply:
g++ -std=c++11 *.cpp -lGL -lSDL2_mixer -lSDL2 -lGLU

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#64Theme4.25
#164Innovation3.75
#177Humor3.19
#342Fun3.32
#352Audio3.04
#386Overall3.36
#472Mood3.00
#776Graphics2.75
#1500Coolness46%

Comments

tonypai says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:46am

Nice sound effect! I'm very enjoy this game, but I only get 3xxxx points. :P

Znurre says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Very nice idea, and props for using SDL2 :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:26am

Loved it ! The difficulty has in my opinion a perfect curve, and the visual combination of HP / loading capacity on our character (loading bar) is really cool ! The origin point for the shoot is pretty intuitive too.

Great one sir !

Aden Manson says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:19pm

FINALLY LOADING SCREENS ARE ENJOYABLE! all company's MUST have this!

Lafolie says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:24pm

This is great. The balancing seems just right. Would love to have this in another game such as Battlefield where the loading takes a long time.

Also the arcade vibe is really cool.

guldlock says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Smartest way of using the loading screen!

GarethIW says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Nice spin on a classic game style,well done.


-C

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Wow, this is pretty interesting! Unique idea XD

f7f5 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:23pm

I got to 37000 or something. Liked the sound and the explosions. Gameplay was OK, but not that addictive.

Ezard says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Very fun, ended up playing this for far longer than I'd intended, kudos!

Strandypants says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:54am

Best use of a loading screen I've seen in ages:D Great fun, good job!

DavidVisscher says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Oh wow. This is cool! Made me laugh.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Got 70206 points.
I like how getting hit makes you easier to defend because you are smaller but at the same time makes it harder since you have less ammo.

Renaldo says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:14pm

What a wonderful surprise! I started the game without reading the description.
The game is fun, simple and very clever.

berareu says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Cool idea! Hitting the enemies was very hard!

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 6:39am

This needs to be the loading screen on every game ever. Fun game play, might want to make the missiles curve after a while as opposed to swarming the bar?

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:29am

nice graphics

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]