Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

I Am Technician

by Murchurl - Jam Entry

WATCH THE TUTORIAL ABOVE TO LEARN THE CONTROLS

(I Would Of Implemented A Tutorial In The Game But I Simply Didn't Have Enough Time, Sorry)

I'm sorry that it's almost mandatory to watch the tutorial, I had all good intentions to add an in-game tutorial. It's just that I felt so tired before the last few hours of entry, I really just needed get some sleep and upload the game. Also that previous night I did have time but right before i was going to sleep, Unity crashed and i lost all my prefabs. This forced me to stay up the whole night and rebuild all my prefabs and basically setup the whole thing again in less than 10 hours. Again I am truly sorry that this is what it had to come to, my intentions were all good but time was lost and I could not proceed, I hope this hasn't wrecked your experience and again I am sorry for the inconvenience.

​IF YOU COME ACROSS A BUG OR CAN'T CONTINUE JUST PRESS "1"

​(Sorry For The Inconvenience​)

I Am Technician Is A Simple Game I Developed For Ludum Dare 31 Jam. This Is My First Jam I've Entered! It's Also My Second Game I've Developed. If You Enjoy This Game I Might Actually Improve It And Add More Features.

Components Are In Box's Under You!

Have Fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#154Humor(Jam)3.39
#182Innovation(Jam)3.62
#443Graphics(Jam)3.39
#500Overall(Jam)3.22
#511Mood(Jam)3.02
#644Fun(Jam)2.87
#844Theme(Jam)3.09

Comments

barry.p.evans says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:34am

the music is jammin but i am VERY confused about gameplay x) the point and click is also cool!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:05am

Was very confused how to play, but after watching the youtube tutorial I got it :) Awesome idea, haven't seen anything like it so far

Emkani says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:08am

Very hard to figure out exactly what to do, a short intro tutorial on each main gameplay action would be immensely useful, I think there is a real fun concept underneath.

SushiDestroy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:08am

Nice, it's a little hard to play, but that's the point.

ShadowBrain says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:11am

Nice idea but I think the overly complex control scheme and goal kind of ruin the game.
People shouldn't need a tutorial video to be able to play your game!
Nice job on the visuals though, simple but fit the task.

thopis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:12am

great concept!

bogdan.tana says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:15am

I always wondered when a surgeon simulator with PCs might hit the interwebs! Cool graphics, cool music, the physics feel funky enough, but maybe a couple of in-game hints would somehow make the game a bit less confusing.

Tommyno222 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:56am

The controls are very confusing and physics glitchy but I really liked connection to the theme and overall idea. And visual is also very nice.

admix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:42pm

I like the setting, cool! =)

biscuitWizard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:48pm

This game was jammin, I'm impressed you got so much done in such a short period of time. Laughed out loud a couple times.

victorljs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Nice Game.

MechanicMoon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:45pm

The gameplay is very confusing, but the idea is very original. Maybe the tutorial should be inside the game, because it is very hard to play. Anyways, good job, interesting concept ;-)

Blobby101 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Haha - we both went with a kinda similar idea for this one! Nice. I like the look of it, though the controls seem a little more complex than they needed to be.

SeriousDeath says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Hah pretty cool concept!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Music and graphical style are fun, but the gameplay is confusing and clunky. Things became easier after watching the video. I suppose it emulates games like surgeon simulator but I'm not a big fan of that kind of games. Still, it' pretty fun overall and enjoyed it.

Taldius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Very complicated game, but it's fun once you get used to it.
And a game base on physic is always fun.
Really great job! :D

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:56pm

I was a bit confused at first, but, the video cleared things up. I also saw the kitty! High five for another game with a cat. :-)

panda says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:23pm

This Is Well Done I Think? But why write everything in title caps? It looks like the game is designed to frustrate... and it succeeded! I had a good laugh when I found a cat inside the computer, though. No idea how to take it out! Clicking it didn't work. You should try adding a way to poke out own eyes out with the screwdriver, see how many people do it.

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:22am

That's a cool interpretation of the theme.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:23am

hehe.. Could be a hit, like the famous surgeon simulator ;)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:32am

Great idea for this one. Nice look of the game.
And I throw the parts sometimes xD

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:33am

Cool concept, although having object collision would make the game better.

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:36am

Surgeon Simulator meets Geek Squad, and I love it!

Pat Kemp says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:38am

Hilarious setting, nice graphics. The controls are super clumsy, and I guess that's the point. I managed to get the computer case open to find the cat, and that cracked me up. Nice job!

maxyan says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:43am

Very interesting concept, but it needs some tutorial.

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:49am

Great soundtrack, I like the graphics as well. Controllers could be improved, I think, maybe giving feedback to the player , to help him understand how to play. Very original idea!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:51am

Agreed that the tutorial should be in-game. Nicely done, that aside.

jeepracer98 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:26am

I really like the music. The instructions seem complicated at first, but they're not all too bad. I really liked this game though.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:31am

Nice concept, but a bit difficult to play :/

atombrot says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Reminds me strongly of surgeon simulator and similar things. Nice unique idea and given the time constraints als a nice implementation.

mechabit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:45pm

hah, loving tossing the customer's case away

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:53pm

beautiful game, original, awkward and challenging. Well done

Kim Sjöberg says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:56pm

A little hard to play even after watching the video but a really cool idea. I love these "random thing"-simulators :D Nice graphics.

spitfire87 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Impressive amount of stuff here. However, controls/mechanics are a bit too complex, the tutorial is almost mandatory, which is not good.

Overal is a good game, but try to keep it simpler next time :P

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:37pm

I think we all have been forced to be technicians at least for one day... Nice and fun entry!! Thank you!!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Technically very well made! But the fact that you have to watch a 3 and a half minute tutorial really turns me off. Next time put some text with every step, thats like 30 minutes of work if you're good enough with Unity to make this game.

BUT...
Visually very nice, I like the cleanliness!
Funny music :D
I liked the glitchy physics!

Very good job!

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Concept is really cool, and i like games that control like this but its way too non self-intuitive. I think any game that requires you to watch a separate video in order to play it correctly has some serious design flaws. I had fun interacting with the environment but was definitely not playing as intended.

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Really interesting game. The youtube tutorial really helped out, but it could really use an in-game tutorial.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Really liked the overall style.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:52pm

cool idea but confusing. hard to identify the different parts.

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:23pm

The first few mintutes quite confusing, after that it was really funny ;)

Linear says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:59am

Amazing idea! Although if this were an actual technician simulation, I'd be long fired for trying to figure out how to hold my screwdriver.

vinull says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:09am

It took a while to figure out how to play, even after watching the video. Many times I had a green cursor but no idea why the cable wouldn't connect or piece wouldn't go in. Overall I like the idea of this game, even if the interface is a little frustrating.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:42am

It's very fun physics game that in someways teaches you about computers. Many laughs were had. It might have been better if you removed the time limit and just let the players screw around as much as they want.

-AlucardX60

Threstle says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:07am

Nice! Reminds me of the Surgeon Simulator main screen!

apiotrw says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:27pm

A very nice entry with a good artstyle.

fil00dl says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:41pm

nice serious-game about computer assembly, pretty graphics

Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Nice concept, although it was a shame cause the objects kept going in the table and stuff, apart from that i still managed to have a good time with this game! :(. Overall nice entry!

yosh says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Pretty hard to play this game with a touchpad!!
It was still pretty funny and I had fun throwing everything in the air... oh and also sometimes attempting to fix the computer... :)

Yarek says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:47pm

My friends always ask me if I repair computers, now I must say yes to that :D Really cool game, a bit hard at first but the video helps a lot.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Oh, no, it's Octodad all over again.
Oh sure, I can repair computers in real-life. But this? It's like I lost all my cartilage.

Which is rather funny.

jtpup0 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Nice game, it is hilarious but hard to grasp

Absor says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Stuff seems to go inside the table. Otherwise it was fun, just needs a lot of work. Nice music. Good job!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Very unique game, with awesome music and a great aesthetic. Would love to see this game expanded on, sort of like a surgeon simulator for computers. Excellent work!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Haha well done

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:32pm

wow, this is kinda educative xD
good job !

Wuhao says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:22am

Very innovative game, but controls are too hard, the cables fell through the table and not clickable

nesis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:29am

Great game, I had a lot of fun with it. I think the one change you could make is making the controls a little more accessible, via having them pop up on screen in a context-sensitive way, for example. Very fun game, it's definitely the kind you'd see people Let's Playing on youtube.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:45pm

the computer case didnt open for me

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:54pm

You had me laughing at the cat inside the PC :D
Great entry!

Trite Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Hahaha I dropped my screwdriver and it transcended through the ground. After that I had nothing left to do but throwing around all the RAM ^^ That is true emergence right there lol. But the actual game is fun too ;)

Dans17 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:05am

I couldn't fix the computer, so I just stabbed the customer in the eye with the screwdriver and beat him with a GPU. Great game!

JJEvil says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:13am

Hilarious & fun!

ynots says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:00am

nice..

Luke Molnar says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:10am

Amazing work for a first time Ludum Dare!

Personal review of your innovative game at Rustbox Games > http://www.rustboxgames.com/review-i-am-technician/

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Hey, hey Unity web player does not support Linux. Would be cool if you'd provide an executable instead.

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:44pm

I see where you were going with this and really dig the concept! It seemed like there were too many controls, and it wasn't super intuitive despite watching the tutorial video. Physics games like this are always hilarious, and some of the issues with the customers computers were fantastic. Unfortunately I couldn't play long because it forced me to think a bit too much about how to interact rather than just letting me play with it. Bringing the screwdriver back with a button became critical as it seemed to always fly out of reach, super funny. If you could fix the control/physics quirks and build a nice tutorial level I think you would have something really solid here! Great job.

Manderxan says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:52am

Awesome game. Thumbs up!
Touch up the graphics, but keep the style.
Add features like buying new stock and upgrades, different sized motherboards and layouts, heatsinks/fans and replaceable powersupply.
Perhaps a customer satisfaction rating and the ability to get a raise.
Then I would say you have a seller!
Good luck if you intend to take this furter! :)

spotco says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:30am

Way too confusing, had no idea what I was doing (until after watching the tutorial video, which shouldn't have been necessary). Really cute graphics though.

YM says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Love it

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:16pm

It was a cool experience, Murchurl :)

GFM says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:09am

Really funny! When a saw a dog (am I right?) inside the computer... I couldn't stop laughing.

I could see some inspiration from surgeon simulator, here...

Well done. :)

davient says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:04am

Very Hard to control, but love the concept

Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:17am

Once you understand how to play I Am Technician, it's really quite fun -- though not entirely knowing how to play might give it a larger fun factor than intended. It's not necessarily frustrating to not know how to play, as fooling around with the physics will entertain you for at least a little while.

After watching the tutorial video at least 5 times, I did my best to memorize all the information needed to play, and went back in again. I managed to fix several computers by the end, wherein I lost my screwdriver and couldn't figure out how to get it back until I was told to press the "S" key. Too many people also store cats in their PC towers -- that may not be healthy for the cats.

I'd love to see this as a fully-realized game, adding on tasks such as dusting out the computer, installing fans and PSU's and other components, and perhaps removing more junk than just kittens from the PC towers. Maybe make the customers irate if you take too long? Different sorts of customers with different temperaments? Lots of potential here.

Very ambitious for a LD game. I enjoyed myself whilst playing this one, quite a bit! Great job! :D

Boberro says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:46am

Once a cat that ate one memory stick showed up, it was no end to them XD

Integershift says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Today I have learned something from this game I am not a technician and will never be. Interesting Idea I really liked the movement of objects and the music was pretty great. I didn't really want to watch the youtube tutorial on stream so I had a hard time figuring things out. Day 1 No computers repaired well done me.

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:50am

I like the simple placement of the title and author information -- was neat to realize suddenly realize I was actually in the game already.

Cool concept! Interesting music! It reminds me of surgeon simulator for pc's, but a little more jammin.

01rafael says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:29pm

stylish) but it's hard to get involved in the game as the gameplay is not very clear for me

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:48pm

That is a great game!
I didn't understand how fix the computers, but the concept is great!

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Good job you did the tutorial video.

Gins says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Cool music, but very high learning curve :(

sputnik says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:32am

Nice idea and good music!

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Although the graphics were simple I really liked them. The game was quite hard though, but easy isn't always = good.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Oops. I think I dropped my screwdriver under the desk, and so I got stuck :D

I managed to get the first computer fixed though. Not sure if there's any reason to what I needed to do, what stuff needed to be connected where, etc. Seemed like I just grabbed something random and connected something and then suddenly it worked. Maybe some way to check what needed fixing would be good.

Maybe there was a little too much going on with this game, especially for a jam game? Ideally it should take me only a few seconds to learn the basic controls of the game and what you're meant to do, and then I can start playing and learn the rest. If it takes 3 minutes to explain the controls then it's probably too much.

Maybe a better idea would be to have an instruction on the screen telling you what to do next. A little like the video had, but as the game goes along, for the first few computers.

For some reason the cursor was kinda off on my computer as well (I often had to select slightly above components to pick them up.


All that being said, good job for trying to think outside the box for the theme! Although I'm not too sure if 'entire game on one screen' really fits this game...

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:51pm

I lost the screwdriver, it glitched into the table :(

Except for the control (which are unnecessary complicated) The concept is pretty sweet and kept me playing for a while. Not a lot of room for expension though...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]