Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Sol Defender

by reveriejake - Jam Entry

Description:
Sol Defender is a really fun yet simple tower defense game. The goal is to protect Sol (the Sun) from the deadly enemies by placing defensive items in the way.

Controls:
Left-Mouse-Click controls everything.
Place New Turret - Click on gray dot in play-field
Upgrade Turret - Click on turret then select upgrade
If you cannot click, you cannot afford...

Socialize:
I will most likely continue development of this game. If you want more info you can follow me on Facebook at ( facebook.com/picogamesstudio )

Notes:
* Tested on Windows Only
* I didn't get to finish making more levels but there is a custom level editor included.
* Due to some technical limitations in level-loading I could not create a web-player of this game before the submission date. And adding that ability might be too large of an update to qualify for an acceptable post-jam addition so I will leave it off.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#129Graphics(Jam)4.11
#149Overall(Jam)3.69
#227Mood(Jam)3.44
#356Fun(Jam)3.25
#366Theme(Jam)3.69
#563Innovation(Jam)2.94
#764Humor(Jam)2.00

Comments

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:09am

Pretty fun game! I enjoy it! Well done!

reveriejake says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:52am

Thanks :). Sorry for the lack of levels. I had to submit it last minute due to some bugs and didn't have time to create more ;). Should really have spent a day on level design =D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Amazing presentation! Graphics, Audio, Mood :)

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Great work. The interface looks very polished!

I thought it was too easy though. I beat all 4 levels at the first try - and for the first two, I didn't even know I could upgrade the towers!

A few explanations would be nice though. Like, why is the 50 000 tower always grayed out? And do the shields damage the attackers, or only block them?

Very solid entry, and pretty!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Really good! Love the art style it's that perfect balance of tension vs relief. Would make a pretty good mobile game too.

reveriejake says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Thanks guys!

@Germanunkol - I would have loved to add a mini-tutorial but I just ran out of time. I decided making the game playable was probably going to be the best option come Sunday. And the reason for lacking features is due to my lack of time to create new and more interesting levels. The level editor I think makes up for a lot of that though.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:21am

Reminds me of an xbox live title called space hordes.

Sharky says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:22am

Very unique tower defence game, it'd be nice if it had a lil better earily warning system though because you can't tell if there's 1 or 50 about to come from that direction

Red Sigma says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:26am

Surprising to see no audio rating allowed. It was probably one of the aspects I enjoyed most despite it being low key. Overall it was enjoyable

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:39am

Very cool game, don't know if it is intended that not-upgraded spikes cannot kill anything ;_; that makes me feel frustrated. The game is easy to clear (basically, you don't die...) but hard to get high score. Need very careful calculation. Good job!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:58am

i love TD! nuff said :D

baseteam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:41am

good job!

runvs says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Nice done! Concept works and is very well presented.

BretHudson says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Neat take on the tower-defense formula! The "laser" when an enemy reaches Sol was my favorite part of it. I was assuming I was doomed, but then I was saved!

vekjeft says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Beautifull graphics and sound, could not test gameplay though. Mouse click does not seem to register, nothing happens.

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:28am

Difficult, but looks nice :)

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 6:56am

Found myself sitting around on the harder levels waiting for the next wave. Less time to build would be a good challenge, and maybe uneven enemy distribution?

reveriejake says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:16am

@Os_Reboot - Thanks for the input! Again, this was a 72-hour challenge and I was working solo so I didn't have much time for level design. I spent too much time focusing on the custom Level Editor! I am continuing to develop this game though and yes the timing is something that will have to be worked out during play-test. Plus the tier-3 turrets are way to powerful for the enemies making it super easy to win at all levels.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]