Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Layerd

by nuno - Compo Entry

This is my entry for Ludum Dare 31 Competition, themed "Entire Game in One Screen"

Layerd is a classic puzzle-platformer with a twist: game progress is a kind of "3rd dimensions", so as you move back and forth in the map, the map changes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#152Theme4.00
#313Innovation3.48
#341Mood3.18
#405Audio2.96
#409Overall3.33
#676Graphics2.89
#681Fun2.96
#814Humor2.08

Comments

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:56am

Can you remove the price option? This is a ludum dare game, not an october challenge game.

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:56am

Nevermind, lol

Proximal Pyro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:00am

Was a really cleaver idea on how to use the theme. Nice and relaxing game but the tutorial was a bit unclear. I did not really know what my goal was.

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:03am

Took me a while to get used to the main mechanic, but i had fun. :)

Jayson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:07am

Love the mood and feel of the game. Well done.

Maybe just add space as an alternative jump. Accidentally die sometimes when I use space for some crazy reason.

Leap of faith - very funny :P

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:07am

Really nice concept!

I'm not sure if it was just me but is it supposed to jump so much? Maybe it's a but. Anyway I was able to play through all the game, though maybe not normally

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:18am

Really great concept! Lots of fun, but could have used more responsive controls, it felt like you were getting to places too slowly. Very smart implementation of the theme, well done!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:27am

This game really surprised me! I liked it a LOT!

It seemed like a very straight forward platformer at first, but with disappearing stuff.

Once you introduce the number keys it got a lot more interesting.

The last checkpoint on was frustrating. But in a good way. In a "this game is tricky, but I don't wanna give up" way.

I think that a longer game that used a mechanic like this could be a heck of a cool thing. I hope you make one!

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:06am

Nice! Had to stick with it, but I like how it progresses.

Bogden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:11am

Nice use of the theme. Reminds me of this LD26 winner: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=5556

Bogden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:35am

Oh, and thanks for letting me know my ratings were busted! Think I fixed them: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=31759

nuno says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:02pm

@Matthew Rayfield,

Thanks! yeah actually it was funny because as I was making it I thought it could turn out into a full game...
Maybe, who knows? ;)

Thanks for playing!

Rozaxe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Well use of the theme ! Music relaxing. But I think the jump is really too strong.

Pinpickle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:06pm

This must have been all kinds of hard to put together in terms of level design, I like the implementation of the theme.
Would be nice if I could move a little faster, or save points more often.

JNyknn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Graphics are a bit simple and gameplay might need more polishing, but who cares? This game has wonderful atmosphere and how you used the theme is simply amazing!

Wakka says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:14pm

the mechanics are a bit rusty, but I really like the concept. Theme applied very well.

Smiley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:17pm

nice take on the theme :)

igoramendola says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Awesome concept! It fits very well with the theme. Besides, I loved that the main character is a snowman! \o/
I'm not sure if is normal that he jumps so high, but it's ok hehehe. Has nice graphics and good music :))

Wezley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Cool game, but the price option needs to be taken out.

nuno says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:08pm

@Wezley,
thanks for the heads-up, I did not notice there was an option to disable all payments on itch.io. I removed everything now :)

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Very complete game! Jumping is a bit floaty but it has loads of mechanics.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:17pm

I didn't get what the numbers at the top were for, but it was a really clever game and interpretation of the theme with a nice peaceful atmosphere.

Tuism says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:34am

It's a very interesting one on design, I like the design of having everything on and off on one screen to create different puzzles to solve :)

I got to the bit where you press numbers to switch - i assume layers - and couldn't figure it out. I think the visual language there could be stronger for that.

Interesting :)

nuno says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:33am

Ok, a little help for you guys:

The default setting (when you start) is that you can see 2 "layers" ahead, and 2 behind. After you pass that poin in the game, you can control that using the keys 1, 2 and 3. With 1 you will see 3 behing and only 1 ahead, and with 3 you will see 3 ahead and only 1 behind :) Its crucial to use those to solve the remaining of the game

allurious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:54am

Really nice take on the theme, music was really relaxing and I love that you worked the snowman in. :p

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Interesting mechanic with the fading platforms. Very nice.

DiegoMustache says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:26pm

It was fun, but adding a little bit of momentum to the character would have been good.

flwns says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:27pm

I really liked the music and the puzzle, music reminded me a lot of the music from FTL.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Great idea ! The fact that you managed to make different levels on a single screen is awesome ! The graphics need a bit more polish, though.

GGraca says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Snow environment :) I like your approach to the theme but I got stuck in some place by not following the supposed path

check this one :)
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44716

nuno says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:18pm

@GGraca, I did my best to avoid "stuck" situations.. usually there is a way out.. or, in the worst case, load the previous save station :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:14am

Nice little platforming game. Good work.

hitchh1k3r says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:24am

I liked you use of the theme, it was a good idea, but probably needs a bit more time. The begining started off very well, and showed what was going on nicely. I felt that later where you were supposed to go next got a bit confusing. I couldn't tell where I was going or where I had been, and I kept dying and had to reset to a significantly old check point. Maybe some color hints or even a bit progress arrow that showed the direction to the newest platform would have been good. I really did enjoy this idea, and feel like it could be really good with a bit more time put in. One last small nitpick: the graphics were very small and I found it hard to see some of the details/tutorial in the early game. Keep up the good work!

davidcollado says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:31pm

I really enjoyed it! I like how you slowly introduce new mechanics.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Cool stuffs!

HER∆CEK says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Interesting game, thanks! ;)

NPException says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Now thats a really nice mechanic!

nassi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Goddamn checkpoint 27, I hope I never have to see you again! Took a while but I managed to beat it. Nice use of the theme, although I had to check the comments to see what the number keys were all about.

AinaSG says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:11am

Wow! I first thougt it was just a simple platformer game with nice mood, put then platforms started apearing and disapearing depending where i was.

LÖVEd It ;)

Zayron says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:37pm

This was very cool! I love how the platforms fade in and out. I got all the keys but then got lost and died haha. Music was good as well. Nice done!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:28am

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]