Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

ZoomZone

by Manderxan - Jam Entry

Navigate through the levels before the next one comes in from the background. Tip: There are shortcuts!
Maps are selected at random when the game starts.

Note: This game is HARD! You have been warned.

See the included readme.txt for further details.

A known bug is that you can sometimes get stuck in walls. It is a side effect of a fix that prevents you from dying instead. Move away from the wall to get unstuck.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#34Innovation(Jam)4.07
#98Fun(Jam)3.72
#149Overall(Jam)3.69
#192Theme(Jam)3.90
#223Audio(Jam)3.38
#295Mood(Jam)3.33
#566Graphics(Jam)3.14
#574Humor(Jam)2.45
#1461Coolness47%

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Great game! Simple mechanic, exploited well througohut each levels progress, of course, it reminds me of the disappearing blocks from the Megman series, which is a great thing to boot!

For any other people wandering should I bother to install it? You should! I just happily spent 30 minutes playing zoomzone and will probably again tomorrow :)

Crushenator says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:03pm

I quite liked this. I found myself not assessing but having a decent game of it.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Woah that's hard!

I thought that the mechanic is interesting, but I think it should be fleshed out a bit cause it isn't very engaging like it is right now.

Also, there are a few times where it is impossible to survive because the floor that doesn't go away is unreachable , which makes it frustrating.

Best thing is the music and graphics. Reminds me of old school arcade games like tempest.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Amazing game! Very simple yet challenging altogether. Nice work!

Rothens says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Nice game, loved that :D

2Bit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Challenging and fun game! Does it have check-points? I feel the punishment :p

monsieurvinou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Didn't get past level 5 (I'm bad at games) but it was really well done!
The gameplay is solid, the controls are ok ( I was a bit sad that they weren't any wall jump or other mechanics except from jumping ) and the music fits to the mood. Well done!

Nelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:04pm

nice looking)

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Great game, i like the way how the levels spawn.

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:57pm

I've a lot of fun with your game! The mechanic is simple but challenging. Nice player sprite.

2Bit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Really fun and engaging. Love the mechanic. Very enjoyable.

myachin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:23pm

hardcore! like it! i will return!))

skonkan says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:50am

Cool game, It was fun to play. Great music.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:02pm

I like the fact tat you include the editor.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:33am

Very innovative idea! Don't know if the map is randomly generated, sometime it looks impossible to pass a level (with bad luck)... but good job!

ChezPain says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:37am

You said it was hard, I didn't believe you, I'll never doubt you again. Pretty good, I would've liked to be able to just start after resetting instead of having to wait for the countdown every time. I really like the mechanic too.

elvaq says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:52am

Wow, great concept! Seems executed pretty well too, although I didn't get too far haha

Good work, would be curious to see how the idea develops if you work on it more.

sharp911 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:59am

Nice concept. Yes a little hard for me.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:47am

Wow I would pay for this game!

-AlucardX60

loopinlouie says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:53pm

cool music and a pretty solid core mechanic. I wish the red indicator for WHEN the block was going to land was a bit more clear. This was pretty important for timing when to jump from a block that was about to disappear to one that was going to appear. I think I was relying more on the ticking sound, but wish it could have been both audio and visual together better. I guess the most confusing aspect of the red indicator was that it had multiple layers of red, and while a cool effect, it made it a bit more ambiguous just when it was going to line up. The randomness makes it pretty unpredictable, which eliminates the ability to just beat it by trial and error, which is a good, but then it ends up making it also somewhat random how difficult it will be to beat 20 in a row. My favorite part is the background, with all the colors, and the overall theme or style of the game along with the music. Its pretty challenging, but not frustrating, because all the mistakes I make are avoidable and the controls feel responsive and the character himself jumps and moves well. Another small thing is that the blocks take too long to arrive, leaving me standing around for too long, but maybe that gets faster and faster as the game progresses?

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 3:18am

Cool, man! Nice for making it in Clickteam Fusion.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 11:48am

Awesome idea and really well executed! Having the next blocks be a brighter red would really have helped, I don't really see the point of having them half transparent. Plays very nice and is really quite fun!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:38pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]