Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Beat+Trak

by Lynx - Compo Entry

BEAT+TRAK is a DYNAMIC music-"rhythm" game for OSX, Win, Linux, and Web!
This is my first LD and first "finished" game! Plus my first time really using Unity...a lot of firsts here

Dodge the Red Notes and Hit the Blue ones to the beat of the music

KNOWN ISSUES:
-- Player doesn't tap to music exactly, the note placer places notes to music in real-time instead
-- No Feedback for missed notes (other than score multiplier). Sorry guys, code had some bugs, took away that scheduled time.
-- Instructions aren't clear
-- Player sprite sometimes hard to see

-----------------------
CONTROLS
-----------------------

- DOWN ARROW or ENTER to Hit the BLUE notes
- LET GO of keys to Dodge the RED notes
- ESCAPE to Quit


-----------------------
TOOLS
-----------------------
- Unity 4.6
- Code in both C# and Javascript
- Photoshop CS6
- Garageband for music

Please Leave feedback! I will be making a VERSION 2.0 very soon!

That's it! Have fun and dodge to rhythm of your keyboard!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
Audio4.39
#173Mood3.43
#187Fun3.54
#217Overall3.57
#238Graphics3.63
#240Innovation3.60
#542Theme3.61
#814Humor2.08

Comments

AGausmann says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:44am

This is a very interesting concept! Love it!

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:45am

Cool idea I guess but it doesn't really fallow the rhythm much.
Looks nice though.

scias says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:50am

As a fan of rhythm games, I can safely say that this was satisfying :) One thing that you need to work on if you plan on continuing with the game is feedback. Just something that lets the player know (in realtime) when they hit the right notes or make a mistake. Good luck!

Lawls says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:23am

Catchy! confusing at first

Lynx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:35am

Thanks for the great feedback guys!

@Fanttum: You don't hit the notes "on beat" no, but it does listen to the song and the placer object does place a note on the beat (based on if it heard a certain frequency range at a loud enough volume)

matching FPS to temp (BPM) is hard! So I'm sorry I failed you.

@ scias: I wanted to add visual and audio SFX feedback but a core mechanic broke this morning and took that planned time away, but definitely adding to the Post-Dare version

@Lawls: Thanks, that's the point is to add challenge to a simple game! :)

jrap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:48am

This beat goes hard tho holy crap

bnmkt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:49am

Wow ! I LOVE IT

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:51am

Amazing audio. The visuals made me a bit dizzy however. I loved the overall atmosphere of the game.

Insality says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:52am

I LOVE the music games, this one is awesome too ;]
that fellings, then the game is dancing
Orange is trend on ld31? ;]

jarry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:24am

Very good game. Love the music

madlee says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:29am

Audio/visuals are really good, but I was never really sure if I was doing the right thing :P I liked it!

foolmoron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:53am

Feels super good. It's got that Terry Cavanagh style. Love it. Took me a while to figure out what exactly I was controlling though.

tonypai says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:57am

Wow, I love music beat games! But... did I just set to expert mode? :/

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:00am

I like the visuals and the concept. It's could use a little more feedback to the user when you're doing the right thing or the wrong thing. I was never quite sure it I was hitting the notes in time or not. It seemed like you could hold the spacebar down over all the blue areas and collect it all. I'm not sure if this is what I should have been doing. That said, I like it a lot! It's super stylish!

Lynx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:06am

Thanks for the great feedback, keep it coming, I'm definitely adding to this in post

@madlee: I spent too much time on the programming mechanics and path following and ran out of time to add more feedback, so you're correct

@foolmoron: Great! I wanted to take my own spin on the Terry Cavanagh style

@tonypai: Yes, it's expert or go home baby! :)

@ben_pxlplz: Definitely adding more feedback (I just had some bugs with a main path following mechanic that took away that scheduled time :( ) but you're correct, the idea is to hold the button down for blue, only release to dodge red

Andrew Adams says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Agh the jiggles... fun game though.

Esaucm98 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:32pm

I was a bit confused at first, but i figured out how to play :D this game is nice, i loved the music and the concept.

MrSun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:37am

I really like this! Has a great feel to it.

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:07am

Pretty neat, though it's really complicated :P

You might want to change the position of the scoreboard, as it overlaps with the time counter. Nicely done!

cardanai says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:09am

Like the game, like the simplicity of it. Nicely done!

Legiion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:13am

Nice adaptation of the concept

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:33am

I liked the whole concept of the game with the whole going with the music thing. I really liked the music. The graphics were pretty simplistic and yet looked really good.

dusho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:24pm

interesting.. took some time to figure out what is going on

Logun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Nice one. Simple and efficient. I am not in that kind of music, but it s catchy.

camlang says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:35pm

The first run I just mashed the up button with the beat and it was super fun doing just that thanks to the music and visual feedback. Only then I realized that I should hold the button to "collect" the right color. Great entry overall!

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Really nice entry! The audio is amazing, so the gameplay. I also love rhythm games (and Terry's SH) so I really had fun playing your game!!! You should check out my game: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=46966

Rob Glen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Good game, I have to admit at first I wasn't sure what was going on, then I realised that you press down instead of up, might want to change that in the description! I think it was also a little difficult to see the player, but apart from that, this was pretty cool!

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:05am

@ Rob Glen: Nice catch! I was actually testing it in develop with the up arrow but the switch it to down when I accidentally made the graphics a down button...hahaha forgot to edit that, Thanks man!

JFern says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:09am

Pretty awesome music game and simple to pick up. Screen shake got to be a bit much near the end, but overall fun!

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:53am

Gameplay was a little lacking, but the audio was great and it was still fun.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:02am

It's rhythm based level generation, as opposed to requiring more rhythm skills from your players. It felt a little like the timing was off, I needed to press down before I reached the blue notes, early, in order to collect the whole bar.

Kitch says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:29am

Once I got into it it was bliss til about 100 secs or so :) Really great work, and soundtrack was great. Loved the beat based visuals, and the simplistic visual style. (Its a music game amirite?)

For the post compo version that you are going to make (because I said so :) ) Go all out!

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:31am

@JFern: I know, I went crazy with the screen effects...but they are the only challenge to the game

@LukeZaz: I know, I will be adding more gameplay in v2.0, a major bug took away hours of my time on day 1 and 2

@intersectiongames: You are 100% right, I wasn't able to figure out how to get the notes to be generated 1 second ahead of the player when the note placer listens to the music in realtime...

BUT I figured out a method I will be adding and fixing those problems in v2.0 soon!

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:32am

@Kitch: Thank you! and don't worry I WILL be making a post-compo version real soon!

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:28am

Nice audio and graphics. Gameplay is solid but at time i found myself smashing enter not entirely sure what it was doing. Although it's a great job!

sanchitgulati says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:43am

is figuring out the gameplay part of the game. loved the music and the colors

thopis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:50am

Music is great and the colors are wonderful!Nice

hexagore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:33am

Just when I thought I'd played enough LD games this time... I'm glad I found this one. Had to nip back to this page to read your instructions... after that I found a game with huge potential, as well as fun in its own right. Pity after the music stops so does the red and blue stuff, but I guess that's because the pattern is dynamic based on the actual music playing?

This is great.

atombrot says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:59am

Fun little game. The idea is special, but it's very well implemented. I also like the quite a lot. Someone already mentioned it, you might be able to improve the feedback given to the user. Currently I don't see much difference when I take the red or the blue thingiys ;)

kiririn51 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:09am

As others have said, this needs more feedback! it's hard to know if I'm doing things right. I like the concept, music and art though, has lots of potential.

atombrot says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Ah, I've just read my comment. A word is missing. I like the "MUSIC" quite a lot XD really, it's great :D

cabezotta says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Awesome game! i love it!

sputnik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Super cool concept. Fast and simple. Great design!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Awesome entry, great visual style and music, this was blast to play.

SirRicecake says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:38pm

I really like the visuals and that you integrated sound into the gameplay! Cool concept!

rantt says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:53am

Cool concept, I like how you mixed the sound/visuals. Fun game, nicely done :)

Taldius says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:01am

Nice game!
The only problem I have is the cursor being white with an almost white background. But this is just a minor thing. :D

Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:58am

Cool beat game! although there wasnt much of a feedback whether if i was hitting the beat right or not. Overall art style for the game is awesome! Nice entry!

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:03am

Cool game! This definitely needs feedback like said above, but otherwise.. awesome entry!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:30am

super fun! great music, great visuals. at first i couldn't understand the controls. theres also a little delay between the button press and the thing closing. very good overall

indie4fun says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:42am

The theme and the visuals are very cool! If you improve the rhythm problems you may got and interesting game! Good work!

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Took me a while to figure out which entity I'm actually controlling but once I got it I had quite some fun with this! Polished graphics and challenging gameplay and obviously some good music to keep you going. I like it! I agree that the known issues are indeed issues, but don't have any more to add.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:58pm

I like the visual style and the music. I started out doing very badly (no rhythm) but then realised that I wasn't actually expected to tap the button in the rhythm as I had first thought, I did much better when I held the button down much too early and let go much too late so it started to not really feel like a rhythm game anymore. I also noticed that my combo never reset, it would disappear when I missed something but when it came back it was just as high as before.

MaxguN says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:57pm

I've wanted to make a rythm game for a long time (I quite like this type of game), nice example of what can be done with the screen constraints. Difficulty seems well balanced even if sometimes you just need too much reflexes ^^ (best personnal : 4021280)
Well done for this game :)

alfadur says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:06am

Awesome rhythm game! I don't think I've ever seen the ability to collect notes partially, feel very original. As others have mentioned it's not quite obvious which cursor is which at start, this ambiguity however naturally leads to the question: wouldn't it be totally insane to have several note-collecting cursors at once? :D
All in all, impressive job, good luck with making the next version!

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:15am

Really love where you are headed with Beat+Trak! To start with things that I enjoyed I have to say the style of it is fantastic. Clean, easy to understand, and nothing that distracts you from your objective. This is a fun approach to a rhythm game as it uses a simple one button mechanic that could easily work on any platform. The movement of the assets to to music was great. The MUSIC, the most important part was also fantastic, would have loved to pick the track, or just see more of them. The slight rotation of the level was neat and definitely kept it from going stale saying in the same spot. It might be neat to see it completely rotate and face another direction at random. Would have also loved to see more paths. It didn't seem to do much once I finished the track either, so results or pass/fail indicators would be sweet! It does need some sort of particle effect or noise for when you hit or miss. Maybe something that makes it more obvious when you aren't on point. Very impressive for your first title in Unity, would love to see you do something more with this post jam. Again, excellent work. We all dig it!

JJEvil says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:59am

Good concept. This game is going to have a lot of fans.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:54am

Fix the feedback and rhythm issues, polish it up, add more content, more music, more shape-maps, color and sparkly things? You have yourself a sellable game. :)

As a person who's been playing rhythm games for a freakishly long period of time, this is something I would buy and play and enjoy immensely as a full, fleshed out version of itself. :)

Something with a graceful learning curve and a lot of stimulus reward for the player so they know they're doing the right thing, and can feel good about garnering points and winning levels. At the moment it feels like I'm playing a super-hard level of a game with a 90-degree learning curve. ;)

Fantastic work for not knowing Unity! :) It's REALLY good!

vrld says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:20am

Cool concept, but feels very unfinished. In particular, I would have liked more feedback when I ate the blue/red rectangles.

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Great concept, and the music is awesome! There's a few bugs, sometimes a blue note is left behind even though I was holding down the entire time. Anyway, my best was 13501427 points (got x446 multiplier) Great game, nice work!

gre says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Interesting concept. Cool minimalist graphics.

Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:22am

Interesting game. Fun to play and the sound is great. However I think there should be more visual feedback regarding how well you are doing. After playing around 2 minutes it seemed to stop working, no new notes :(

dunin says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:01pm

nice packaged game but gameplay need more features...

Rodaja says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:37pm

It took me a while to figure out exactly how to play this. I think the big square dropping the colored thing should have had a different shape or color from the other thing.

There should some feedback as to wether you're doing fine or not. Like a screenshake if you hit the red things or something like that.

I really like the art, it's simple but finely put together. Fun mechanic, too, when you get it. Good job!

okkolobr says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:06am

I'm a big fan of rythm game, and this one is originally good :)

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Pretty neat rhythm game with fantastic visuals and sounds. The only issue I have is that some of the notes are really small and very hard to hit.

xaedes says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Nice music and screenshake. But I didnt get the mechanics.

FlipskiZ says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Very cool, liked the presentation.

Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:16am

It be great if you could get it so you press down with the the beat, that would be awesome.

Needs some player feedback. like turn the character red when missing blue or eating red or something like that.

Lynx says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:35am

@zerocreativity1 -- I already have it all working on the beat and with single notes where you swap colors to collect instead of hit or dodge in version 2.0

I am also working on that feedback right now: particles and SFX for hits and maybe a screen shake on miss, thanks for the input!

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:51am

Great game, liked the simple controls and concept. If possible, would like to hit the button to the beat instead.

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 6:14am

Really stylish music game here. The underlying mechanic behind though is somewhat problematic. I think the reliance on spectral band data to identify the beat causes a lot of issues, since it never really perfectly give you a beat. Also the fact that you are not actually tapping to the beat causes my brain to get confused. The accuracy that you require in order to get a high multiplier is pretty insane, and I think that is related to the sloppiness of the beat data provided by the FFT. The way that the path overlaps itself can make it very difficult to determine which layer the overlapping part of the path.

I really like the color scheme that you used, and how the beat of the song affects the visuals. The timer overlapping the score made both of them slightly hard to read (moreso the score than the other). I also like how the play field rotates slightly as the game goes on. Overall the attitude of this game is really cool, and the track that you use to generate the gameplay is pretty sick. I can definitely see you pushing this game a lot further in terms of polish and effects to make something really fun, so I hope you continue. Thanks for sharing your game with me!

Demy says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 7:03am

Wow, it's hard. I don't think i ever will have enough reaction for it. I love this music and graphics and how they do with each other, style is awesome.

Larzan says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:19am

Very interesting concept, great visuals.

Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:51pm

I like the rhythm very much! I Included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/09kdLS-s81I

Dec 22, 2014 @ 9:32am

I didn't understood your game I'm sorry, but I appreciate your work, the art style, animations and music are really cool.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 5:39am

I liked this game as music game. It was fun to play a couple times and see what score you could get. It's not without problems of course, the cursor is hard to see when it's in the center of the screen and the activating/closing felt a little slow. But I trust that it will be greatly improved postcompo.

-AlucardX60

gameattack says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 11:22am

Very cool looking game! The music is great too !

ponk says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Cool :) !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]