Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

0x2603

by Topaz Studios - Jam Entry

You are a droid, 0x2603, Class Alpha 1. You were created to destroy. You must destroy. But, wait, you remember.

Hint - Click to skip storyline, but don't do that, its interesting! Also, not quite balanced the best, but push through the first level, remember to wall jump. Please finish the game through, it'll only take 10-15 mins and most of the audio and visual content is in the later levels (level 4).

Oh, and chuck us a comment if you finished it, and what you thought :D

-------------------------------------------------

Note:
Less pixel dense screens are much easier to see the text on, try lowering the whole screen resolution to like 1400x900, as that was what it was created on.

Info screen lists space key as shoot button. On some computers, holding space and right key means you can't jump. If this occurs use left control to shoot, but do not use space and left control interchangeably.

Linux version should run with PyGame 1.9.1, Python 2.6/2.7.

For Retina MacBook Pro's ensure that the "Open in Low Resolution" box is ticked in the "Get Info" menu - this will ensure no FPS loss.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#430Audio(Jam)2.89
#535Graphics(Jam)3.20
#616Humor(Jam)2.36
#715Overall(Jam)2.97
#748Theme(Jam)3.25
#758Mood(Jam)2.67
#825Fun(Jam)2.61
#862Innovation(Jam)2.40

Comments

ZXeno says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:37am

Pretty fun game! The lack of sound effects for feedback made it difficult to determine when damage was being taken. Sometimes the levels were difficult to see.

Muush says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:38am

I liked it, though it was very difficult considering the speed of the bullets and the size of the screen. Btw, sorry the OSX version of my game didn't run, I uploaded a web version that might work on mac, if you want to try it.

JFern says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:15am

Pretty fun game and liked the story for it leading in

cardanai says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:15am

Nice font, but a button to skip the intro would have been nice, died a lot.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:20am

Fun and interesting game... a bit difficult but the concept is great!

LordKawaii says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:27am

I loved the idea of the place you are stuck in is "The Screen".

Wayward says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Nice graphics

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:00pm

A bit too difficult, I think. Especially, if enemies spawn very high. But all in all a solid work, nice Graphics and funny enough :)

ohsqueezy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Awesome game! Like a bullet-hell version of Contra. Excellent audio and interface, really cool stuff, works well with the low resolution window. It took me a while, but I completed it with 11/12 stars. I found level one to be the most difficult. Maybe one turret would be enough to get players used to it. The one-liners are great. A melee weapon would be fun for really dismantling the droids.

I ran it using the source, and I had to change the audio file names to lowercase or the game crashed. The main file is executable, but it only runs when called by python as a script. Otherwise, it runs fine from source.

AsixJin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:30am

Nice use of the theme but I was kinda lost....Those enemies were tearing me up and I wasn't to sure if I was doing damage the right way.

Topaz Studios says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:41am

Hehe, we ran out of time so balance was done really quickly, in hindsight probably things we coulda done better. Thanks to the people that played through, hope y'all get the inside joke (which is the name of the game).

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:51am

I managed to get to the second level, i like the wall grip! i found it hard to find any successful strategy for the turrets on level 1 other than getting lucky, though. I like the attention paid to the presentation between rounds, but once i'm in control i found it was a lot less clear. I also find the walking/jumping feels a bit raw, and could use more attention.

Topaz Studios says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:57am

Always kill the flying one first in level 1 ;)

Rothens says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:32am

I kinda stuck on level two.. Do I have to survive the process?

hbocao says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:28pm

I liked the different weapons/bullets. The controls are a bit wonky for my taste, but you guys did great!

billrizer says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Nice little game and game over stats :)

Would have love to see SFX and a little more enemy variety

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:25am

Very hardcore game =) Cool audio =)

okkolobr says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:50am

Some ennemies spawn too high to get reach, and as they don't move, it provides a frustrating (in a bad way) experience.
I think you should tweak your ennemies behavior to make the challenge more interesting, with a raising difficulties. Or you need to allow multidirectional shoot for the main character.

rjhunter says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 10:24am

Superb music. A pity there weren't any sound effects to go with it, because it was pretty hard to tell whether I was doing damage or taking damage or what.

An interesting take on the theme -- and I didn't get the title reference until after I'd finished the game and come back for scoring!

Topaz Studios says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 10:42am

Hehe glad to hear you finished it xD. Btw if they're too high to hit, (@okkolobr) you should have read the instructions - wall jump.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Pretty fun game tough I wish there was a little more depths/strategy to the fighting. The music was really good. Nice work.

Dec 26, 2014 @ 10:08pm

I get the name, it's the Unicode for the snowman :)
http://www.fileformat.info/info/unicode/char/2603/index.htm

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Enemies had way too much HP, and I felt like certain controls just didn't work. Some beginning cooldown time where I can get comfortable with the controls would have been nice.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]