Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Poltergeist

by RainbowSexyFish - Compo Entry

Scare the human!

This is a mouse only game where you haunt various items around the room to frighten the human until they collapse.


Known bugs:
For some reason the game doesn't always calculate a raise in fear level quite right, and gives a medium value more often than it should.

Apparently the character is the victim of perma-death.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#205Humor3.13
#255Mood3.29
#322Theme3.79
#361Audio3.03
#460Innovation3.25
#601Graphics3.02
#884Overall2.88
#906Fun2.68

Comments

DanHayesGamer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:14am

OMG she died...

EndingChaos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:16am

Very much reminds me of poltergeist for the Sega genesis! even sounds similar, so very nostalgic! great job and great entry!

pjchardt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:24am

I think the premise is quite interesting, especially when mixing in the distance factor. As for execution, I ended up just alternating between two objects until she passed out, which wasn't terribly enjoyable. Maybe with a few more rules for how the girl reacts to objects, a more varied strategy would be re-enforced?

squirrel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:52am

Interesting take on the theme. While the game was fun and interesting (the different effects were nice), I felt it was a bit limited in what you could interact with (which is due to having 48 hours). Still, it was fun!

JayProg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:53am

Cool concept. And I liked the atmosphere.

Kitch says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:53am

Pretty good little scare game. You may want to look into the replay.. the second time I played, she started out passed out. Had to reload.

karol says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:06am

Beautiful design and interesting gameplay idea. A bit too short and too limited for my tastes though.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:42am

Interesting game idea. Great work!

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:43am

That was an interesting design, the sounds worked well and then she collapsed. Could have been a lot more, but for the time frame, very well done!

igneousmoon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:43am

... I think I killed her, other than that, she didn't really seem to react much. The sounds were good.

xerohuang says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:20am

Funny game :) Good concept

Red Sigma says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:20am

It was an interesting concept, I just wish you would have expanded more on the fear aspect. The mood could have been improved as well. Ambient music could have really helped with that.

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:02am

The sound design was pretty nice. It was a little anticlimactic that she just fell over at the end, but maybe that's poignant.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Hahaha nice game! Really cool art!

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Good nostalgia game.

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:48am

I loved the door animation and sound the most. It just made such a statement that "I AM A HAUNTED DOOR BOOOO!". Nice entry!

aare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Cool idea, I won though just by randomly clicking all the objects on the scene since nothing stopped me from doing so :3

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:59pm

A little too slow and repetitive...could be fun with some work, though! I think it would give the player a better sense of how well they did if it was timed or something. That way, I would feel compelled to try different strategies to complete the game faster.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Heh, it was amusing. Needs some more complexity though, i think. Cause in this state the game is a little bit dull.

Fnkee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Hahah, love it! Such a cool and unique concept, and all in one screen (; Great job on this. Love the way her heartbeat increases the more scared she gets. With some tweaking, this game could also be epic as a multiplayer!

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:04am

We played your game in our first LD game review!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EKO6wvKJawA

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:38am

A bit too simplistic for me. However, the concept is interesting and an expanded version could be cool. I also liked the graphics.

harley77 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:23am

Nice idea, pretty sure I killed her.

hoqjed says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:28am

Very cool concept. To make it more interesting, it would be nice if there were also multiple items that she would go to that would comfort her when you scared her, but you could keep her away from them if you're quick enough to activate scary objects close to them.

Nicely done.

cmayhem says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Interesting idea. Quite charming entry.

alfadur says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:46am

Nice idea with distance! As it's been said, it would be much improved by having ways to significantly reduce fear, that way it would be more balanced gameplay where action would need to be selected carefully. Great start nevertheless!

thopis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:33pm

When you get the idea, it's great!

yodamaster says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Poor girl ...

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:36pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]