Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Death Heap

by madcapacity - Jam Entry

You've been cast down into a pit and the only way out... is by creating a heap of your slain enemies and jumping for freedom!

Artwork: Alex Ashby (https://twitter.com/alexashbyxd)
Programming: Justin Luk (http://www.madcapacity.com)
Music/Sword SFX: Avery Mitchell (https://soundcloud.com/averymitchell)
SFX: cfxr

*NOTE: The Unity web player has been having issues in Chrome. If it doesn't work for you there please try it in another browser or download a standalone version.*

Follow us on Twitter!

Alex Ashby
https://twitter.com/alexashbyXD

Justin Luk
https://twitter.com/madcapacity

Avery Mitchell
https://twitter.com/AveMitchell

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#107Humor(Jam)3.58
#123Audio(Jam)3.66
#192Fun(Jam)3.48
#229Theme(Jam)3.86
#293Graphics(Jam)3.70
#304Innovation(Jam)3.36
#308Overall(Jam)3.44
#398Mood(Jam)3.18

Comments

thespillah says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:31am

This game was hilarious and fun!
A couple things tho:
The music was uncannily similar to Hotline Miami, and im not sure if it matches the theme of the game.
Sometimes dead bodies would fall on top of me and i would get stuck, and be unable to jump, but luckily i could push bodies out of the way (Im not sure i would consider this a con).
But overall i thought this game was pretty entertaining, some great ideas here!!

8/10 would make heaps of dead bodies again

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:46am

Love this concept!

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:30am

nice game, great audio

barryrowe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:34am

This game is really enjoyable. I didn't even realize I was trying to pile them up the first time I just was having fun slicing up enemies. If you're quick enough you can do some nice mid-air platform jumps with dying enemies. Well done.

psydack says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:38am

Maybe I bugged. I dont know, but I stuck with the pille of ninjas. haha.
I Like this game.
Just an bug, when hit 100 deaths, the score just dissapear (only appear 10)

chuckbergeron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:50am

Love that something like this could be made so quickly! Really impressive. Nice work, fun smooth controls, too.

madcapacity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:28am

Thanks psydack - I fixed that issue :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:34am

Nice audio, the pile of corpses after playing for a while is brilliant xD

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Cool concept. Nice graphics but a little to easy.

local minimum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:23pm

I liked the graphics a lot. I didn't get if the game had an objective. The clock and kills kind of implied that but I killed enough to fill the entire screen and it seemed not to make a difference. Getting that many dead also made me notice that I would collide with the UI elements (clock and kills) which was sort of surprising. I think if the dead attackers were clearly lighter than the player it would have been easier not to get stuck in the mass of bodies. If not getting stuck was important to the game idea, then that would have needed some more tweaking of the stuck mechanics and the over all objective.

But all in all a quite enjoyable game.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:01pm

I likes it.

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Nice game, a great concept and some fantastic art and sound really make this game seem quite polished. I wish the enemies damaged the player though just to make it a little challenging.

The only real issue I had with the game is that sometimes when standing on enemies the jumping didn't always work.

Otherwise, congratulations on your first successful Ludum Dare. Hopefully there will be more work from you in the future.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Really enjoyed this. I thought I had been buried under corpses at one point but I pushed my way free.

togie says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:22pm

I love that a game like this now exsists lol. i was planning on making a zombie survival game that implemented the same concept but never got to it. Thank you :P

EvilObjective says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:33pm

This was a blast! Great art and sound.

pirate-rob says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:11pm

If this game doesn't win the jam, I'll be disappointed <3

cmdr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Really fun game! I kind of wished the ninjas attacked me and it was a little frustrating getting trapped beneath them occasionally but once I figured it out it was fun trying to beat my high score. Great visuals, cool music too. Bravo!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Great concept that leads to hilarity

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:15am

Nice idea, fun, great graphics and music! Did she borrow her sword from strider? Got a bug when i restarted where i couldn't jump anymore. Was using chrome though som probably one of those known issues?

savethejets1 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:36am

I really dig the music!

I like that you animated the backgrounds.

Did get stuck in a pocket of bodies, so I had to restart, but managed to keep a neater pile the next time and was able to escape.

pancakecity says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:39am

That music was groovy :) the graphics are great too

Trite Games says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Haha those aren't ninjas...but what are hundreds of Winnie-the-Pooh's doing in hell?! ^^ The controls are a bit annoying. I couldn't jump all the time and got stuck in a pile of dead ninja teddy bears.

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Nice game! I would have climbed higher if it were possible. Jumping was little stiff from time to time. But I had fun playing this. Great job!

Samm says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:14am

Haha, this is great!

My one complaint is that jumping seemed a bit hit or miss. I'd hit the jump key and not move at least half the time. Even with that happening, it was a great game!

Kaijuu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:59am

I like concept!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:24am

Very solid entry with an interesting mechanic. Well done. :)

Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:08am

Nice concept climbing mountain of dead body to win

Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Very fun game! Great audio and graphics. Sometimes I wasn't able to jump when it looked like nothing was in the way, but other than that this is a very solid entry

Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:10pm

This was fun love the fact that I have to kill a lot of ninjas to create a pile so I can escape. Made me laugh while the ninjas were piling up :P

Elendow says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Very nice concept, love the sprites and music. Great job!

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:17pm

This was pretty amusing! Certainly the graphics and music are great. The problem I found, though, was that it's easy to get stuck under a pile of bodies with no way of getting out! There should be something to do about that...What if the bodies 'decayed' and eventually disappeared? That would add a sort of time pressure to keep you killing enemies. Or, what if continuing to strike at bodies gradually made them disappear? I noticed there's no way to restart the game if you get into a bad spot...Not to mention, there doesn't seem to be any way to LOSE. I'd say it's a good start, though. ;)

Dec 18, 2014 @ 12:09am

Great concept and I really like the pixel art.
It kind of crashed on about 310 kills and the bodies filled the screen.
I like the way the bodies "flow" but I think collisions could use a little tweaking.

Poupi says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 12:58am

excellent, 1m38s ;)

el-pepi says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:02am

Nice concept. Swinging the sword feels nice, nice gameplay. I wish the ninjas did something more. You need a restart button if you get stuck under the corpses.

gre says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:28am

Hilarious game concept.

2 questions: How to lose in this game? Is that lava or blood lake :-D?

dcolgan says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:54pm

An interesting mechanic for sure. Sometimes it seemed like it didn't quite know when I was allowed to jump. Very nice music!

zillix says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:58am

yes yes yes! this is so awesome :)

radmars says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Awesome! Great concept and great use of the theme. Movement felt a bit slow and it was weird that I couldn't jump in certain situations but otherwise the gameplay is solid. I love the music too! Nice work!

zompi says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Woah, that was a lot of ninjas! It was fun, relaxing and hilarious.

PS. I don't know why, but when I looked at a screenshot I thought is a little dragon/dinosaur... that would be even better :D

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Very amusing concept! I did manage to bury myself in dead ninjas to lose once, though.

36 ninjas to get out in 54 seconds! I had fun and the music was great :).

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:23pm

This project reminds me two older games - Slider and Rygar. Well done ++

Saf says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Was fun at the start! great graphics and soundtrack

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]