Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Petite Juliet

by kts_kettek - Compo Entry

Petite Juliet is lost in the fragments of her mind! Help her escape by defeating the countless demons of doubt!

This game is written from scratch in C++ and SDL2. It has some fun stuff going on with generating a Julia Set on the GPU and retrieving a bounding box around entities for some terrain collision detection. Lots of GLSL fun!

I shoulda tried to put some music in, but it'll have to do!

Addendum: I would love feedback and suggestions, as I very much want to expand this game further. :)

Note: Requires OpenGL 2.1/GLSL 1.20.8

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#329Mood3.20
#436Innovation3.28
#476Graphics3.21
#482Theme3.65
#853Humor1.96
#860Audio2.03
#877Overall2.89
#964Fun2.58

Comments

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:49am

I can't really tell if my attacks are doing anything. Interesting use of fractals btw.

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:38am

Despite having been confused, I loved the use of fractals!
Congratulations, man!

kburkhart84 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:46am

I couldn't tell if I was able to hurt anything or not. Also, it seemed like I was stuck in the at times, as were the enemies. Innovation was good though considering the use of GPU generated fractals!

Hempuli says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:03am

Very impressive considering that it was made from scratch! I liked the art. It took me a while to realize that all the attacks and actions have a delay, and even after that I was left wishing that the punches etc had more reach. Very nice, anyhow!

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:10am

Cool.

erik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:45am

It took a while to figure out how to fight effectively. And it's hard! I can't imagine surviving 8 waves. Nice visuals!

daftcube says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:08am

Awesome. The terrain was my favorite part.

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:09am

I found a space on the bottom-center where I can stand and all of the enemies get stuck in the middle, so I can type this, haha. The gameplay confuses me a little bit but the controls do work nicely. Obviously the constantly-shifting fractal is incredible! It contributes so much toward the mood of the game, too. I have no idea how you did that but I really like it. OK, I made it to level 4, and I'm happy with that. Interesting little game.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:24am

As mentioned before, impressive use of fractals :) Keep it up!

Chris Delta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:27am

Looks very nice, and it's a really cool idea, but the combat feels really clunky, and the bad dudes tend to bunch up pretty bad.

AndresGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:28am

Liked this game a lot. I used the middle bubble for crowd control. Felt that the spawn rate was a little fast.

davient says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:28am

Love the concept and fractal mindshapes. Combat is a bit wonky, would love some sound too :)

angela says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:38am

Ahhhh all the little bunnies ate my Santa Clause! At least I think that's what was happening. It was really tiny on my screen. This is a good one to score for "mood", I think.

JFern says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:38am

The terrain/background is pretty awesome though it's a bit hard to tell what's happening in the game with the character/enemies.

rjhunter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:03am

The demons felt invincible! I must have been having some success because the wave counter eventually said 3/8 -- I didn't realise I passed any waves at all.

The fractal landscape is brilliant, and the graphics and animation manage to pack a lot of punch with just a few pixels.

I didn't feel like I was giving or taking damage, though :-(

Lissar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:16am

It was a little hard to get a feel for the action, difficult to tell if attacks were connecting. Loved the fractals though!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:28am

I love the use of fractals... unique concept! Well done!

qristofer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:10am

Those tiny sprites are nice looking and that fractal is a cool idea for a stage. I think you can make a great game if you keep working on it. With respect from a fellow gl-programmer.

Jyrkface says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:11am

I think the fractal isn't working properly on my computer :P
Game plays pretty well although I would do something to make combat favor the player more.

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:32pm

I really like the mood and the concept. I also like how the level "moves".

While I think that the fighting mechanic is clever (it doesn't support the "slugfest" approach, but seems to require a little strategy, which is great), I think it should be tweaked a little, maybe with further moves (i.e. blocking a hit stops the enemy from attacking you for 1 second, giving you the chance).

Also, having the bottom border of the level to be covered by the hearts' bar makes it difficult to sort out what's happening between your character and her enemies.

I took a screenshot (http://i.imgur.com/CSuwDlV.png) of a small "glitch" that I found. While I was staying on that spot, the enemies were somehow unable to reach me and those "upstairs" were bouncing against each other.

Great job indeed, anyway! I'm looking forward to a PostDare version :D

gene-z says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Awesome. good game

Gwilym says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Really liked the use of the fractals, but those demons seemed invincible... Got to wave 3

davidB says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:32am

'z' key is 'w' on azerty keyboard.
Sometimes kick doesn't seems to start. And kick seems to have no effect on enemy (except back jump)
I didn't understand when/how avatar move from inner to outer level.
I like the fractal image.

Kaboomatar says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:44am

haha fun! could be the start of something cool.

alyphen says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:47am

Neat level generation - I liked that the terrain was always changing. Pretty dark mood, with little explanation of why the demons were there in Juliet's mind. Collision detection and physics seemed to be a bit off, and enemies didn't seem to be dying - perhaps adding enemy health bars could let you know which ones are damaged, and adding a knockback or stun when they're hit. I can't suggest much on collision detection, other than add some sort of check as the terrain changes - it often got me caught in the ground. The graphical style was pretty neat, but there wasn't much in terms of audio - adding music would be nice. In terms of expanding this further, having more than problems in the mind could be good, and finite amounts of enemies that can be beaten, and slightly tighter physics. When I say "having more than just problems in the mind", I mean perhaps fighting off a stomach bug, diarrhoea in the intestine, etc. could be a lot of fun.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:35pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]