Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Retro Fairground

by Sir_Kovitch - Jam Entry

Retro Fairground.

Wanna play Pong? Or a soccer game? Or a revisited Pachinko? Or a two player Breakout game? Or a retrofuturistic pool game?
Well... YOU CAN PLAY ALL THESE GAMES AT THE SAME TIME THANKS TO: RETRO FAIRGROUND!

There isn’t just one entire game on one screen.
There are five entire games on one screen!

IT'S PURE MADNESS!

| CONTROLS |

Magenta: W, A, S, D
Cyan: Up, Left, Down, Right

Retro mode: P
Credits: C
Restart game: R

Have fun!

We hope you enjoy Retro Fairground.
The Glowing Alligator team.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#66Theme(Jam)4.17
#153Innovation(Jam)3.67
#223Audio(Jam)3.38
#238Graphics(Jam)3.80
#267Mood(Jam)3.38
#332Overall(Jam)3.40
#353Humor(Jam)2.88
#615Fun(Jam)2.90

Comments

TheZiggy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:13am

Looks nice, very original idea, but I found it VERY hard to keep track of what was going on. Nice job though, interesting concept :)

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:16am

I made my wife play this with me and then I beat her at it very badly and she said, "Whoa," but I'm not sure if that was in response to the game or my awesome skillz at the game. 5 Stars, would play against my wife again.

Ossi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:18am

Pure madness is right! This game is really crazy and tough to play on your own. Definitely had to play this with someone else and it was a blast! Very much a party game. Good graphics, solid use of the theme and overall fantastic! Well done!

MrSun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:19am

Nice concept! Good work

Muffinhat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:19am

Basically what Ziggy said. I will say however that this is the best looking entry I've seen yet.

sheigeno says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:20am

..really , i don't know where to look at and what's goin on..xD but nice graphics

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:20am

Oh, my. This was a difficult game! I could barely keep track of the balls. Anyway the game looks amazing and really polished. Thanks!

flyingbear says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:23am

My brain was not prepared for the first 5 seconds of this game! It sure was an overload of senses, maybe that's what you're going for? I think the game could benefit from a ramping up of all the different game elements.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:11am

Great graphics, nice music, and great innovation. Good job!

gana0 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:11am

I like the concept! But I felt there was too much going on at once. The graphics and retro feel were excellent though.

foolmoron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:15am

Excellent graphics and audio. I like how you have the balls moving around between games to focus attention and make it slightly more manageable.

Pankoman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:40am

Oh My...

PoQA Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:45am

My brain!!! Really complex and a neat idea! Easy to lose track and die, I lost like 10 seconds in :(

Nice job!

spy1 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Wow

Pat Kemp says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Haha, pretty ridiculous to play! My partner and I could barely keep track of what was happening. The idea is pretty funny though.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:58pm

5 games on 1 screen! I had trouble keeping up with one at a time! Fun to play at 2 though! :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:09am

Nice

LukuluK says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:04am

Good concept, the game is in the theme, the mood is right, but it's so hard to play well !

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:50am

Super interesting. I love what the game looks and sounds like. Trying to play 5 games at once felt like sensory overload, I couldnt really focus on any objective because it was just madness. This led me to only playing it briefly.

bofink says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Talk about multitasking! :)

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Woahhh! Nice game and idea but so hard to focus on every game! Anyway is a good entry!

vegard1992 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Gameplay needs work! Who wins is mostly random, thats not a good thing.

Verz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:20pm

It's very nice I love the mood of old school retro machine :)

Alendro says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:17am

Wow. This is a cool idea. I don't think my brain can handle this though. Good Job!!

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:20am

way to throw it back at the theme " one game on one screen... psssshh." definitely becomes a bit of a ball-bouncing-around simulator though, how does one get good at playing 5 games at once?? great job, love your intro logo

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:21am

Basically impossible to follow what is going on, but a cool concept!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:35pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]