Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Goblin Rush

by goblin - Jam Entry

Created by Goblin Corp.

Israel Fleitas - Production
Estanislao Castro - Programer
Bernardo Rodriguez - Background designer
Francisco José Montesdeoca - Character designer
Javier Afonso - Items designer
Oliver González - UI designer



-----------------------------
Controller:

A, D: Move
Space: Jump
C, Mouse click: Attack
-----------------------------


Saturday the 6th

On Saturday the 6th we began to give ideas on what kind of genre we wanted to develop in relation to the theme set by the Ludum Dare 31. After several hours of discussion, we decided that the most attractive idea was a defense game in waves.
Having established the style we were going to work on, illustrators got down to work while other team members were looking for sounds, music and setting up the game mechanics.

Sunday the 7th

The day after the Ludum Dare 31 was spent on the technical development of programming and game logic, establishing there the different functions of the hero and the enemies as well as objects and items.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#255Graphics(Jam)3.76
#413Audio(Jam)2.94
#435Humor(Jam)2.70
#780Mood(Jam)2.64
#799Theme(Jam)3.18
#866Fun(Jam)2.52
#870Overall(Jam)2.74
#964Innovation(Jam)2.00

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:00am

I like the visuals. Gameplay was a bit repetitive though.

Asaratha says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:00am

Please make a way to turn off the music/sounds. They are very loud and obnoxious (although I turn down the sound to like 20% in almost all games I play). There is no difficulty curve from what I noticed so the game is pretty simple, just walk left and right spamming left click. Sometimes the enemies fight back but there is no indicator as to why.

cinderous says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:06am

I like the graphics and art style a LOT! Game itself got pretty redundant and lacked variety.

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:07am

Very nice graphic, but i have fealing that game always reload the same scene when I kill two knights. Other than that very nice game.

zulubo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:08am

Not super fun. Repeating gameplay and annoying music. Cool graphics though!

sollinxp says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:08am

nice game!

dallonf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:21am

Ehh... there's not really a whole lot of gameplay here. The sprites are very nice looking, but in motion they lose something; I guess the animations feel stiff.

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:16am

Great visuals and audio, especially considering the time frame. Though I agree, gameplay felt repetitive quickly though.

The base elements are all there, it really just needs more within the gameplay itself.

DavidLv says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:08pm

If I move out of the screen, I can't come back.

Loading unity game is very slow.

stvr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Great graphics, gameplay needed some refinement but it's not bad. Interestingly, the counter for enemies defeated doesn't increment if you jump on their head!

mrhill says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:56pm

thats a weak jump, nice graphics though ;)

Kovalsky says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Visuals good )

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:59pm

I like the style of your game! :) However the game feels really linear unfortunately.. Still, a pretty decent game. I rated 3/5.

folmerkelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Visuals and audio are top notch, gameplay indeed lacks variety / challenge

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Nice graphics. Felt like the attacks could have had some more feedback.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:54am

Pretty good game.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:18am

graphics were there but the gameplay was very repetitive - nice job

blackmagic says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:13pm

the art are not bad but the animations are hawkward. The game lacks feedback to understand what is good or bad.

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:35pm

:D ... nice one, it is simple and adjust very well to the theme ... 5 stars on audio !!!!!!!!!

Take a look at our game http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=45161

insane66 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:15am

...

Saf says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Liked the name, i was expecting some kind of new mobile game :)
The combat system can use some more details, this has potential

pkenney says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:42am

Incredible art assets! Gameplay was a bit simple but I think it would really have felt so much better if there was a little juice - for example if the guys got knocked back into a death animation with a flash or something, instead of simply disappearing.

Excellent looking game, though, and nice tight controls on the main character. Also liked the metal track in the background, kudos to you if you recorded that for the jam!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:34pm

mice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]