Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Oh, rats!

by Andrea - Compo Entry

You were the warehouse manager on this space station, in charge of organizing storage with your matter manipulator, but everything changed when the humanoid space-rats attacked.
Now you have to build barricades, dodge their vicious bites and hope to find the exit door!

WASD or ZQSD to move
Mouse click to break walls or build barricades

Sounds are muted by default, press M to unmute!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#363Humor2.79
#464Mood3.02
#468Innovation3.24
#559Fun3.08
#607Graphics3.00
#749Overall3.00
#829Audio2.14
#1013Theme3.12

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:20am

Hey, I remember you from the plug.dj room. Looks very cool. I'll check this out when I'm done with my entry.

taviandir says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:18am

The game looked cool to me, but I had 4 FPS - i can't tell if it's the game or my computer - we're both very tired at the moment!
Will come back and try again later. :)

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:18am

I like the look of this game. The way you did the fog of war effect is pretty cool. I didn't end up using the barriers much.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:22am

I really like how the vision works. I almost wish it was more limiting so the enemies couldn't be seen until you open their room :).

ehtd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:29am

Damn rats! they are quite vicious

khahem says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:41am

Couldn't really try it, only 10fps and the movement speed seems to depend on the fps :/

Interface says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:26am

Interesting game. Too bad there's no audio though.

karol says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:28am

It's often hard to walk through wall-gaps. It seems that the players hit-test box is too large.

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:47am

@Interface: Audio is muted by default, press M to unmute it!

Halleflux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:03am

The controls are a bit frustrating for me. Going through single spaces is a bit clunky.
Good graphics and feel, though.

Insality says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:17am

looks great! Pretty hard on 3+ level :D
gj!

victorafael says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:19am

Sometimes I can't move through the gaps on the walls... but I'm too fast and those ratmans could not reach me!

Fun fact: I was playing this game and a rat passed by! And I'm out of barricades.. thanks god it didn't saw me!

sharpcoder says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:19am

Nice job! Zombie rats is definitely an interesting plot mechanic. Overall, this was a pretty fun entry.

deathray says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:22am

Good game; surprisingly fun. The mouse/cursor was off though.

stray says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:36am

Oh well.

Highscore 3000+ ;P

nice game

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:09am

The concept is nice. It's a bummer that it runs so laggy :(

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:59am

What a wonderful quicky game, the mechanics could use some finer polish but all in all its just terrific, Good Job!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:20am

I really like the darkness mechanic, although it might work better if the rats hid a bit more instead of just coming straight for you. It's a good idea and I could see it being really tense to play with a bit more work on it!

apiotrw says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:30am

I think the collision is a bit too sensitive. Got stuck in walls multiple times

wer2chosen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Very polished, enjoyed the idea, technically one screen, but I didn't feel like one screen to me the lighting effect has me focus on that and is similar to a scrolling field. In fact changing to scrolling, the game wouldn't seem to change to me. That isn't your fault though, as I feel the one screen theme was weak. Maybe if there were light switches I would need to manage, limited use of flashlight, with the light repelling the rat creatures and you could not move barrios while using flashlight.

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Neat reference to SS13. Collision detection needs some work - I always get hung up on corners. Movement feels a bit sluggish. Good effort though!

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:33pm

I didn't know SS13 but now that I've seen some screenshots I have to admit it does look a little like it!

Natura-Time says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Very nice, i like the graphics of your game ! But there are some lags :/ (or may be it's just my computer x)

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Nah, the code is far from optimized and it does lag on many computers. Not mine though, that's why I didn't notice when I made it... Sorry :S

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Love it! The cursor was off for me too, but otherwise, great job!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:35am

Cute! I frequently placed barricades on top of walls I meant to destroy, which was sort of awkward? But you obviously put some effort into this game, and I can't bring myself to dislike it.

Shivur says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:48am

Good gameplay concept!

hd_ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:02am

Cool game, good idea with the time boosters, makes you feel like playing just that bit more.

madmaw says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:43am

I like the mood of this entry, obviously a lot of thought put into the survival-horror elements of the game (limited resources, limited field-of-vision, somber color palette) and the shared high-score table is a nice touch.

Kevin_twenty7 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:38pm

not one screen but wickedfun:) bomberman/FNAF

zompi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:10pm

I wasn't sure what's going on with those bombs, but the rest of concept is quite interesting. Good material for some moody survival horror.
The cursor was confusing and moving through gaps didn't work every time. And why disabling audio by default?
Id isn't fit theme well but in overall it was nicely play :)

Andrea says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:42pm

I have to admit I added the bombs at the very last hour to add some difficulty.
I disabled the sounds by default because I know some people would find it unpleasant or would like to adjust the volume of their speakers first and such... It seemed like the right thing to do at the time :S
About the hitbox and the cursor, that's obviously me being not good at making video-games, but I'll do better next time :)
Thank you and thank you all for your comments and I hope you're having a great time playing all those games, I know I am!

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:01pm

5 fps here... need some optimization :/

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:21pm

It ran rather slowly on my laptop. It's just as well that I'm not running a space warehouse in real life as I really wouldn't last very long. And thanks in advance for the nightmares about humanoid rats!

Crosstales says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:55pm

I see I'm not the only one, but only 4 fps... I would have liked to play it though, sounded interesting :)

Renaldo says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Nice mechanics, nice story, fits the theme. It has some small flaws, but sure is a fun game.

SnoutUp says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:54pm

For me it ran at ~30 FPS, so all was quite fine, although controls did feel a bit "floaty" at times. Game was fun and nicely done! I think you should unmute by default, because some people will never discover that there are any sounds in the game...

StormAndy says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Great use of the single screen :) and good to see the bombs made a bit more of a thrill in end.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]