Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Neon Jellyfish Heart Attack

by slarrimer - Jam Entry

Neon Jellyfish Heart Attack is an altogether silly game about collecting hearts and running from jellyfish.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#482Graphics(Jam)3.32
#588Fun(Jam)2.94
#600Theme(Jam)3.45
#658Overall(Jam)3.03
#739Humor(Jam)2.10
#772Mood(Jam)2.65
#800Innovation(Jam)2.53

Comments

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Love the look of it! Why so tiny though?

seraphki says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:04am

I too love the look of it =D

Thingus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Interesting little game; love the art style, and the idea of herding stuff by being able to change places faster that it is worth further investigation.

StackAttack says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Neon on black looks good, but the game shows up really tiny - not sure why.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:04am

really love the mood!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:04am

A little stiff movement wise, but nice entry!

barryrowe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:05am

This is a fun game that ramps up in difficulty quickly. I wish it had some audio to enhance the pressure of the jellyfish onslaught. I love the aesthetic. Simple, pink arcade style.

zakchaos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:06am

the level wrap was a cool mechanic, and i loved using it to hide from squid, i respawned right in the middle of those devilish squid which caused inescapable death,

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:08am

I like the tiny look! AI path finding is a bit off. Nice entry though, it's like paceman

ryguydavis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:16am

I'm really in love with the pixel art. I think a different layout with more paths and perhaps some A* pathfinding would have improved this, but it was still pretty enjoyable. I got a score of 9, which started to get pretty darn hard.

SwiftIllusion says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:28am

I really liked the weird tactics you could develop with this because of how you could wrap around the screen but the enemies couldn't, made it feel more engaging like you also had some control over them because of how they always followed you. Had a real fun time with it, great job :).

SoulGame says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Pretty cool. I miss some audio but the mechanics are there. Congrats for finishing the work.

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:30am

i don't like jellyfish, so i begrudgingly like this game, but when i died i was forced to the center to respawn... where all the jellies were... causing me to die over and over...

Jyrkface says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:54am

I like the mechanic of leading the jellyfishes around. Good visual aesthetics too :)

ChezPain says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:58am

Pretty cool, I like the sort of control you can have over the jelly fish, blocking their movement with the platforms since they follow you and what not. Although if the jelly fish come into the center the game may as well be over.

Johnro says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:00am

Great game! I loved the sort of puzzle that developed, from running from a couple jellyfish to trying to find ways to trap enough jellyfish and run from the rest. Messing with their AI by wrapping across the screen was fun as well. :D

Boracho says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:58am

art style is awesome. Little weak on the theme, but it's still a fun game by itself. Sound would've been nice as well. Good effort.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:14am

Couldn't not try it with a name like that!
I liked how well the simple gameplay was executed. My only gripe is that hearts that spawn in the middle are a death sentence, since a new jellyfish will immediately spawn next to you.

Thalia says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:32am

Like this pink-black emo-combination of colors :)
I don't know why this games is associated with song by Anacondaz - Mario. Thank you, i like it!.)

klianc09 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Fun little game.
Although it doesn't work with a high-score attack mode, because as the screen gets full of jellyfish it becomes impossible to get somewhere untouched.

My best was 26.

Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:09am

Simple rules and straight to the point, like a good classic arcade-style game ought to be.

pht59x says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:13am

Tiny little pinky Pacman with the mouse.

panda says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:05am

I like the minimalistic style, and the gameplay's interesting - how I get to wrap around the edges but the enemies don't! It gets pretty difficult. It would be nice to have some indication of how far I went! Perhaps zoom it a bit, though?

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:34pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]