Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

It's SnowMazing!!!

by Sharky - Jam Entry

A maze game where you play as frosty, and avoid the fire's that chase you. With it's own unique sense of humor.

Advance strategy: Hold 2 arrow keys at once preparing for the next turn in the maze, and then you'll have lil to no issues with getting stuck on the pixel perfect colisions

If you'd like to follow this and our other future games follow subscribe etc to....

http://www.twitch.tv/sharky111111 (Will start streaming soon in process of designing a custom computer to build, and once done the streaming should begin)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Nexus-Games/360516794090556?ref=hl

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXVvsFoWeVe5-GKQ5RBPoVA

https://twitter.com/SharkKurosaki

Should work on all 64 bit window's operating system's. Your computer will likely suggest that its a virus, but it's not. Read the comments and you'll see people who've played it before and commented. Enjoy:)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#443Humor(Jam)2.69
#500Audio(Jam)2.70
#719Graphics(Jam)2.78
#724Fun(Jam)2.75
#758Mood(Jam)2.67
#822Theme(Jam)3.14
#844Overall(Jam)2.78
#916Innovation(Jam)2.24

Comments

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:54am

Great job for your first game! I pressed Shift in the title screen and it crashed, and in-game it did not show the credits.

It seems a bit punishing if you do not choose the right path on the first turn. I like the humour and the playfulness.

Sharky says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:36am

Thanks for your input:) I fixed the error, it was caused by the easter egg I added in the last hour XD, So I cloned the credit room and renamed it and added the player into that room and linked the title screen to that new room, where the original room remains linked to the end of the game(because your player is already in it, doesn't need 2, but the one from the menu bugged out due to having no player in it, so added a player in, simple bug fix:) )

LexGear says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:03am

ahh... unfortunately the computer I'm playing on is not allowed to have third party programs "installed". (I'm at work). Game can't run independently? I don't know much about game maker.

Sharky says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:22am

It's window's install only I don't have the exports(that cost $100-300 each or $700 for all) Only have professional with window's and tizen export :S I need to get the master collection :S

Diventurer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:30am

I can't seem to start the game. It just asks me to open a file.

Also, why does it require a firewall exception?

cardanai says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:00am

Sorry, Crome says it's a virus, so I can't play it :(

Diventurer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:41am

@cardanai
Click on arrow right to file, and then a button saying something like 'Keep file'. Says it's a virus because it's only been downloaded a few times.

Sharky says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Actually it say's its a virus because its a exe file not registered with mircosoft(Which I've heard cost's a lot of money to register) and the fire wall blocks it for the same reason.

Vacso says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:16pm

This won't run? It just opens up a folder. Also, why does this need network access?

Sharky says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:37pm

What system you use? it should work on all 64 bit windows systems with the exception of windows 8. and no network access is needed.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:26pm

@Sharky
Ah, I'm on Windows 8, but in a couple of weeks or so I have opportunity to check on Windows 7.

Did you check out my game btw? Couldn't finish it though. :/

Stending says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:12pm

The game worked <3
That's fun Sharky, I love you

pcmaster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Flamable snowman!

Sharky says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:24pm

@diventurer It might work on 8 but I doubt it, try it it again I had a corupted file up that I replaced

@stending Glad you enjoyed it man:)

@pcmaster Not flamable, meltable!!!

Diventurer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Alright, managed to play now with fixed version. The game's not that much, but I like the idea that you need to find shortest path as quick as possible to avoid flames. Fun game over screen as well. :P

Sharky says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Well the shortest path doesn't matter too much but a direct path matters, the enemy's AI homes in on the quickest way to your character, They won't head you off, unless your back tracking(even if on a different path)

trykondev says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:38am

I just love maze games! Nice work

Sharky says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:54am

Glad you enjoyed :)

nuno says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:18pm

congrats on your first game. please reconsider not needing an "install wizard" next time :)

nokusu says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Nice work ! it's quite fun to go through the maze being chased by fire,

i just had a few technical issues, the arrow keys seemed to stop responding at random some times, and the game over screen seems to make the game crash for some reason :(

otherwise its a good game, the music is good too ^^

Tanner says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Great game. Really cool graphics. Well-done music. Runs a bit slow, but still playable and fun. Keep it up!

guldlock says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Great game! Very nice! :D

Sharky says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:00pm

@nuno I'm not sure that's posible other than embeding HMTL5 which I do not have the module for ATM, and then you'd have a loading screen.
@nokusu Thanks:) No clue whats wrong with the arrow's. I have a feeling I know whats wrong with the game over that causes it to crash. I think its a set of codes I need but not in that room and I deleted it from the game over room but the game maker itself has a glitch there to where even though I deleted it out of there its still there(That code makes you go to the next room, which there is no more rooms hence crash)

@Tanner Thanks I worked hard on the graphics:) Chibi did the music, and the lagging issue might be your computer? or maybe because of too many particles(the snowflakes that fall down)

@guldlock Thanks very much:) Glad you enjoyed:)

stevekratos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:15am

Good work...

Sharky says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:07pm

@stevekratos Thanks a lot:)

NPException says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Very solid game, imo! A decent difficulty and much fun to play. The only thing I would change is that there is no "safe zone" at the start of the second level.

Note: Thanks for the info on our game! I completely disabled FSAA for the Windows version now, so it should run now. If you don't mind, please give it another try: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=28802
If it still does not work, could you leave me a link to a screenshot of the error in my comments? Thanks in advance! :)

Sharky says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:09pm

@NPException Thank's, Honestly I had no idea that it'd turn out half as good as it did. My goal honestly was just "completing a game, no matter how crappy it was" Very happy that it didn't end up being crappy.

I sent you a screen shot

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:51pm

I want to play it but it requires administrator privileges, which is simply never going to happen. I've played a number of games made with Game Maker before, perhaps there is way to export your game as a self-contained executable instead of an installer? I thought that this was available in the free version.

Sharky says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:54pm

@Dietrich Epp it only requires those privileges to confirm your willing to take the risk on being a virus, but if your read up^ it clearly isn't

NPException says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Hi! Would you mind trying Banana TV again? I removed the use of Canvases (which are mentioned in the error you got) and hope that it should work for you now:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=28802

Sharky says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:11am

@NPException

Got it working now:)

rjhelms says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:56am

Nice job working in the snowman theme.

Sharky says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:44am

@rjhelms I did double theme XD

Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:33am

Really good for a first game/LD submission. The art was consistent and the palette was very cute and Christmasy.

It was quite difficult moving around corners and avoiding the flames. They moved faster than I could control my snowman, and I found myself melting very quickly, and getting Game Over screens, which then crashed with a Fatal Error bug. :( So that was unfortunate.

Sharky says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:27pm

@Taunia The advanced strategy of holding 2 arrow keys at once makes it more manageable on pixel perfect collisions on this game.

Game maker fixed the bug I that was causing that, and had to reexport it it and no error now.

Domicuc says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Nice little game! :) also check my project mate x)

Sharky says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:04pm

@Domicuc Thanks I will :)

lase says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Cool game. I liked the song, and that you went with both themes. The accelerated maze concept it cool, but more levels would be nice :)

Sharky says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:53am

@lase Thanks a lot :) Yeah was going to do more level's but time was too short because the lv's seen like they be easy to make till you realized that there's 40+ wall tiles at all are dependant on placement based on the direction they are facing, and creating a good maze at the same time(Hence why those 2 maze lvs are sort of punishing)

remicy says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:53am

I love the music! Game is fun, I'm very enjoy of it. more levels please! :D

Sharky says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:41am

@remicy Glad you enjoyed it. I'm debating continued development of this game or moving onto another at the moment so please show your support on our facebook page, and youtube channel if you want to see more:) if demand is high enough we'll continue development, if not we'll make another game that will hopefully exceed your expectations:)

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Nice, the music was quite lovely

Sharky says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:33pm

@Floating Thanks even though I didn't do it myself Chibinoize did.

01rafael says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Huh! Lol! My snowman was milted finally xD

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:21am

It's snowtacular!

Sharky says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:45am

@01rafael Lol poor snowman :p

@HotBoxGames No it's SnowMazing. quit renameing my game XD

aranscope says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Shame about how lots of people are having problems, maybe address this before the deadline next time

Sharky says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:41pm

@aranscope What problems?

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:17am

Holy crap this game does not mess around. Those fireballs were fast! Nice job!

Sharky says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 6:30am

@Teamquadratic Yeah I wanted a decent difficultly curve, but once your experienced at it you can go through flawlessly through both maze's. The maze's themself's were rushed on the design's and they suffer for that:(

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:32pm

nice work

Sharky says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 8:45pm

@Maxmetallica Thanks:) Rather happy about the rankings for my first game :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]