Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Train your Jedi !

by jarry - Compo Entry

You have to dodge the lasers and destroy all the training robots with their own laser.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#158Humor3.23
#193Fun3.52
#293Audio3.14
#305Graphics3.50
#305Overall3.45
#464Mood3.02
#528Theme3.62
#538Innovation3.15

Comments

sharp911 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:11am

I like the game. Looks great. The idea is great. I would say that I would prefer the controls to be asdw and that they moved the char in the direction he is facing, not just up/down/left/right.

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:27am

Loved this a lot

DevWouter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:28am

Like sharp911 I agree with the ASDW controls. I also liked the music in the background. The scaling of the difficulty was a bit too fast (remember most people will not attempt to be jedi-master as your your game :) )

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:29am

I agree with @sharp911, WASD is much better.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:31am

Very cool. Being able to use asdw in addition to the arrow keys would make it a lot easier for those of us playing on laptops.

LuisGuimaraes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:31am

I too would like to play on WASD. The core gameplay is quite nice though.

Gins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:33am

That was quite exciting. Starts out slow but soon I didn't know which way to face. Being a Jedi is harder than I thought. UNLESS you just sit in a corner, out of the bots' reach ;) But I tried a lot of times before I cheated like this. Cool game!

Jaloko says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:33am

The idea of this game is awesome. I would prefer the controls to be WASD as well.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:33am

The force was not with me. The difficulty goes up real quick.

Krimble says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:36am

Good game, only problem I had was the ability to walk off the side of the screen. Other than that the game was fun with nice visuals and good sound effects.

Wezley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:09am

Loved the music! xD Great game!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:11am

Interesting game :D love it

ehtd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:20am

the mouse was a weird control, but other than that, fun game

jarry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:32am

Thx for the comments ! i've updated a version with asdW controles

cmcoto says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:42am

Loved it! Had trouble at first with turning the Jedi, but got it eventually. My force is not strong...

Halleflux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:56am

Well made. Reminds me of a game the I played... wow, ages ago.
Well done.

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:16am

Nice graphics!

OpenGL says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:30am

A nice retro game!

karol says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:49am

Enjoyed it a lot. Suprisingly hard.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:49am

Wow, interesting twist on jedi theme! Simple but interesting mechanics! Great job!

Lynx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:32am

Super entertaining game for such simple mechanics! I like the humming soundtrack too, nice touch!

(Don't let Disney know you made this, lol)

hunterloftis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:34am

Du du du duuuuu du...

tppr2046 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:43am

Great idea!! I think I have no "Force" so that I lose so fast...:p

stjahns says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:01am

Ahhhhhh so many lazzers! Awesome. Dope music too :)

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:27am

Ohhh this gets hard, nice job!

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:15am

Heh. Fun idea. I went into it thinking 'oh this is easy' and It got really hard really quick. The mouse look was a little awkward. But it might have been too easy otherwise.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:20am

I might have just went into the bottom left corner and allowed them to kill themselves while I got water, but a really fun game!

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:42am

Very cool! I love the soundtrack haha and the gameplay is very nice too, the only thing, it was a bit complicated to play because I don't have a mouse but the game is very good :)

jarry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:43am

Haaaaa, you found the weak spot @daviosmash ! Thx for the reviews all

PAO says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:03am

I like it, great idea and fun gameplay!

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:18am

c̶r̶e̶d̶i̶t̶s̶ rating will do fine!

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:10am

Awesome work, controls could of used more play testing, but fantastic non the less.

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:27am

Cool idea! WASD for moevement would have been better, but it was fun overall!^^

dannyhodge says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Really liked this, very well timed for the Star Wars trailer as well :D

Anikki says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Simple and good.

K.Chplr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Fun game with good (simple) controls ! imho it could be a very good basis for a more polished multiplayer game.

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Nice little game. Starts out easy, but gets pretty hectic real quick.

TagliatL says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Haha, I love the music, I love the explanation and I love the concept, everything is awesome :D

Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Sweet! Nice audio. Founds the controls tricky at first, but it gets easier as you go.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Great game, loved every second of it.

drludos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Very nice game, easy and fun to play. I like it when several robots at firing at you at the same time!
Congratulations! :)

bazld says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:24pm

All-round excellent game! The mechanic is really satisfying, makes a change from regular shooters. 5/5 from me.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:01am

nice, great background music :)

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:48am

Great use of the theme. I love SW so I love this game in so many levels. Thanks!!!!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:46am

Liked the idea, well executed.

Indieindio says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:31am

nice !

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=46736 check out our game

Interface says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:39am

Mouse seemed a bit too laggy for quick turning around, but great entry!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:39am

Awesome little game! Although if you position yourself in the corner, you basically become impervious to the lasers and can easily win.

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:46am

Well, I suck at this. It gets hard real fast. I like it though. Great job!

Tortoise says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:54am

Really fun. I enjoyed the first few seconds but the difficulty went up really fast. Cool idea.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:40am

Solid, simple mechanic and a good challenge. Great job!

rabbit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:41am

Reflection angles dont make a lot of sense.

Projectiles are really small, making it extremely frustrating to hit anything.

Finished the game by standing in one spot and turning.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:51am

That was difficult. And excellent. Nice work!

RevoluGame says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:53am

May the force be with you

otaviogood says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:05am

This is one of the most fun games I have played so far.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:16am

Fun, but a little too easy, since you can just go to a corner and bounce all the bullets away without risk.

Vidsneeze says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:45am

Fun, and good movement controls. once you get 3 or 4 of those grey orbys going it gets pretty nasty to try and cover your back he he

VictorL says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:54am

I like this idea. the man's sing is interesting.
I broke the game, just stand at a corner. :/

woz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:46am

Nice idea. Controls are a bit strange at first, but overall it's pretty fun

BadPaul34 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Dude your game is awesome too! Minimalistic but efficient, that's what I like.
The only thing that bother me is the lack of feedback when hit by a laser ^^ But that's a detail
Great work !!

Crosstales says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Fun game but the controls are a bit weird :-)
But this aside, it was interesting!

Well done!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Very enjoyable. Good controls and nice graphics.

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Haha i love the music^^.

recursor says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Starts out easy but gets hard pretty quick. Great idea for a game.

drnick says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:57am

Quite interesting!
At first very hard it seemed, but then ancient strategy of standing in corner found I.

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:55am

Yay ! Jedi ! Fuck yeah :D Loved it! Fun. Good job.

spitfire87 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:12pm

LOL dat badass Yoda xD

Found it really hard the first run, but then discovered an easy way to beat em, just go as close as posible and aim is almost not required.

Anyways good job, it was funny and a very good entry for the compo. Well done!

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Haha, "You suck, that is why you fail" :D
Very nice idea
I've enjoyed playing very much!

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:11am

This was hilarious. I loved the "music" and the Yoda quotes at the end.

At first I thought it was too easy, then the remotes started activating quickly and I retreated to the corner. Wasn't enough to save me though...

Venturelli says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:16am

I liked it a lot! Could have used a "swing" move instead of the static saber, since the game is exploitable by simply running right up to the enemies. Also wanted to swing the lightsaber because WHOOOOOOM. Great entry! :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]