Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Ludumoids

by Zanaku - Jam Entry

First ludum dare!

It's an asteroids-like, with a colour changing feature.

You can phase in and out of red, green, and blue, to interact with different subsets of coloured asteroids.

You get a multiplier to your score the more colours you have active at once, so you gotta balance keeping safe with racking up a bigger score!

Pretty straightforward! It's a score attack, see how long you last!

(I can only manage about 7500)

It saves your highscore between plays, as well as your chosen resolution.

You can actually add a custom resolution directly to the preferences file if something provided doesn't suit your fancy; it's stored for windows under %UserProfile%/.prefs/LudumoidsPreferences.xml, and ~/.prefs/LudumoidsPreferences.xml for Linux and OSX.


...Also the menu is playable and it is fantastic.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#326Fun(Jam)3.28
#497Theme(Jam)3.56
#524Innovation(Jam)3.00
#624Audio(Jam)2.24
#679Overall(Jam)3.00
#808Graphics(Jam)2.58
#2075Coolness26%

Comments

Quikding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:05pm

I didn't understand what the benefit was of phasing to the other colors? Just to avoid impact/damage?

Zanaku says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Quikding, yep! I'd have liked to add more tactics to the phasing, but I didn't quite know how, so I just left it as an "oh crumbs, less asteroids please" mechanic.

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Audio and graphics are kind of meh, but that's forgivable. The basic premise is good and the game is fun albeit frustrating when a damned white asteroid pops out of the edge of the screen when you're busy cleaning up red space debris and murders you horribly. I had good fun.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Cool game, nice twist fo highscore lovers.
Please add some music!!!

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Pretty interesting mechanic you got there! I would say you could've done more with it but this is already a lot more interesting than your regular asteroids. I also like how you made collisions more forgiving by making the spaceship wiggle a bit when it happens. It's kind of confusing to remember which keys triggers which phase but I guess that's something you can get used to.

dekkuran says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:37am

Nice use of the theme. I liked selecting the mode by shooting. But the switching mechanic was slightly redundant I think as it was very easy to dodge. Good work!

masterhyjinx says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:13am

I couldn't get the main menu resolution options to work. When I shot them they just floated away.

The concept reminds me of Ikaruga. I think three colors might be a bit hardcore if you upped the pace of the game. Maybe play with the idea of only having two? Kinda ruins the whole RGB thing.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:29pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]