Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Harpoon Raccoon

by mahu - Jam Entry

HOW TO PLAY:
Use WASD keys to move; MOUSE to aim and shoot;

In Harpoon Raccoon you have to defeat your neighbour Raccoon by trowing him into the abyss. Use your harpoon to drag him. Be careful, he'll try to hit you too!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#75Humor(Jam)3.75
#95Fun(Jam)3.73
#264Theme(Jam)3.81
#265Graphics(Jam)3.75
#274Overall(Jam)3.48
#350Innovation(Jam)3.27
#382Mood(Jam)3.20

Comments

Search says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:35am

Really funny game, the raccoon’s expression when he is caught is hilarious.

jfreax says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:55am

Nice game. Really good graphic and sound. Its very challenging.

It fits the theme perfectly. Very good. Well done.

ilikescifi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:56am

The name is awesome :)

43iscoding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:59am

Simple and nice! Would be fun to add some boosters here :D

revolter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:59am

Is the enemy's harpoon moving faster? Not fair )

christopf says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:01am

Funny game, it feels good to have another chance if you get caught. The responsiveness feels good too, maybe the harpoons could released more immediately, but it's working fine. Also the computer is quite a good opponent!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:06pm

What a funny game! Music creates right mood))

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Great look, great sounds and music, but it's a shame that it's so short!

My wife made a "Mum plays..." of this game: http://youtu.be/zlSHOfgjfUY

Akurn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Cool art style! Local versus could be a fun addition to this

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Great little game, I think this could be expanded to an interesting local multiplayer game. I like the graphics, and the sound is fantastic. Only negative is the lack of content, but it's a good base to work off of. Good work!

DealWithIt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:15pm

We really need local versus, cause AI is wild

andysolace says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Very good lol, music is great, artwork is great, game is very good fun :)

Infact, the only issue I had with it at all is the opponent can move off of the screen, away from the ravine, meaning you just have to wait while avoiding the harpoons until he wanders back on.

Needs multiplayer!! That would be great fun too! :D

Lars Faust says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Lovely entry.

From visuals to gameplay, it all feels very polished.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Nice work, the character expressions are funny and the art and sounds fit very well. Raccoon's laugh is great.

ThatsMyJam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Something went wrong with dropbox?? Will try again later

Kiwiboi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Great submission, love it! Interesting concept, nice graphics and audio, though you don't want to get reviewed on that? A cute pudge wars! Wanted to be the gray one!:(

prymidion says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:18am

This game lives up to its name, and for that, I appreciate it.

MjSpeCter says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:18am

The name is awesome, game is awesome! Love the humor and sounds! I love the challenge. Awesome idea! :D

billrizer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:20am

Haha - pretty original!

Great GFX - really wanted to play more - would have loved to have seen more levels!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:40am

Great graphics and sound, a simple solid concept well executed. Like others have said, this would be an awesome game for some local multipleyer.

SelfishGenome says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:48am

Ha, so satisfying to actually hit the raccoon thing, very addicting due to the difficulty, or I'm just bad..

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:34pm

We just loooved Harpoon Racoon before even being able to rate it. It's funny and very fast. It has a good name and cool music. Nice work!

SoulGame says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Fun & original, solid overall work.

hbocao says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:34pm

hahaa This was great! Love how simple and fun it is. Awesome entry!
PS. Port to mobile!

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Ahhaa))) really funny animals. This fucking racoon is so fast. He killed me a lot of times.

Gluklichman says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Got a lot of fun from this game. Nice music and art, simple but interesting gameplay. Well done)

uvwar says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:01am

Took me a bit to understand the mechanics, but once I did the game became almost trivial, as it just became a game of 'who fires first' making that person the loser. Instead of distance maybe try a 'button hold' timing for the distance of the harpoon?

MaxguN says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:06am

Very nice, that would me a fun multiplayer party game ;)

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:55pm

So fun!

Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Fun, simple and easy to understand game. Perfect for a GameJam. Congratulations.

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:59am

So simple and SO ADDICTING! Love the name. Love the victory and defeat animations. Wish there was a bigger animation for winning 3 rounds.

Blobby101 says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Really awesome! Found it really tricky at first, but once I figured out that clicking set the actual position the harpoon travels to, rather than just the direction then it got a bit simpler - that's probably just me being stupid!

Dunric says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Good.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]